Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Wine Girl

Wine Girl

‘James writes powerfully . . . . you’ll raise a glass to her extraordinary resiliance
Sunday Times

A sommelier’s tale of making it in the toxic world of fine dining

Aged thirteen, Victoria James started her first job in a diner in New Jersey.

Aged nineteen, Victoria was serving sugary Cosmopolitans in a restaurant off Broadway.

Aged twenty-one, Victoria was named the US’s youngest sommelier, working in Michelin-starred restaurants, serving the finest wines to pair with spectacular foods.

The groping patrons she learned to handle, but behind the scenes, the world of high dining was a mess of fractious relationships and unacknowledged abuse. It would take hitting rock-bottom for Victoria to find her way back to the industry she adores.

Wine Girl is the memoir of a young woman breaking free from her traumatic childhood. It’s the story of overcoming the notoriously corrosive restaurant industry, and of the restorative power of a glass of wine with friends.
Read More

Genre: Biography & True Stories / Memoirs

On Sale: 2nd April 2020

Price: £16.99

ISBN-13: 9780349726274

Reviews

Wine Girl is funny, bracing, disturbing, and above all necessary. Victoria reveals the best and darkest in who we are and how we dine. I couldn't put it down
Bianca Bosker, New York Times bestselling author of Cork Dork
Sommelier Victoria James's deeply personal book is by turns harrowing and inspiring . . . From Wine Girl I learned as much about the resilience of the human spirit as I had about the wonders of wine. And turned the last page with a profound feeling of gratitude to Victoria for sharing her story and becoming a model for women everywhere
Dana Cowin, former editor-in-chief of Food and Wine
In this gritty, eloquent memoir, James, who became America's youngest sommelier at twenty-one, talks about overcoming sexual assault and sexism as she built a career in the restaurant business . . . James grippingly discusses working at several high-end restaurants and wading through ugly swamps of unwanted advances and crude comments before finding a happy home at Michelin-starred Cote, where she is the beverage director. This is a captivating story of resilience from a sommelier who hustled hard to conquer her profession
Publishers Weekly
An inspiring, captivating story of resilience
Kirkus Reviews
Wine Girl is funny, bracing, disturbing, and above all necessary. Victoria reveals the best and darkest in who we are and how we dine. I couldn't put it down
Bianca Bosker, New York Times bestselling author of Cork Dork
This affecting, informative memoir is crucial reading for wine lovers, food lovers, and anyone thinking about making their way in the rough-and-tumble world of big-time restaurants
Adam Platt, New York Magazine restaurant critic
Don't read this book without wine to hand. I glugged at the gossipy bits, sipped at the sad parts . . . In Wine Girl James spills all on Manhattan's fine-dining world . . . you'll raise a glass to her extraordinary resilience
Laura Pullman, Sunday Times
Just the light-yet-escapist read you're in the mood for, this memoir by sommelier Victoria James unpicks the institutional misogyny of the fine dining restaurant scene that's perfect for fans of Sweet Bitter and also reminds you of the nourishing joy of good food, good people and good wine
Stylist