Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Good, the Bad and the Smug

The Good, the Bad and the Smug

‘This is a must-read for those who grew up in awe of The Phantom Tollbooth…Holt achieves near-perfection in his new comic fantasy.’ – Publishers Weekly, starred review

‘Exceedingly clever and funny.’ RT Book Reviews

New Evil.
Same as the Old Evil, but with better PR.

Mordak isn’t bad, as far as goblin kings go, but when someone, or something, starts pumping gold into the human kingdoms it puts his rule into serious jeopardy. Suddenly he’s locked in an arms race with a species whose arms he once considered merely part of a calorie-controlled diet.

Helped by an elf with a background in journalism and a masters degree in being really pleased with herself, Mordak sets out to discover what on earth (if indeed, that’s where he is) is going on. He knows that the truth is out there. If only he could remember where he put it.

A witty fantasy novel of good, evil and everything inbetween, from one of Britain’s best-loved comic writers – perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett or Douglas Adams.

Books by Tom Holt:

Walled Orchard Series
Goatsong
The Walled Orchard

J.W. Wells & Co. Series
The Portable Door
In Your Dreams
Earth, Air, Fire and Custard
You Don’t Have to Be Evil to Work Here, But It Helps
The Better Mousetrap
May Contain Traces of Magic
Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Sausages

YouSpace Series
Doughnut
When It’s A Jar
The Outsorcerer’s Apprentice
The Good, the Bad and the Smug

Novels
Expecting Someone Taller
Who’s Afraid of Beowulf
Flying Dutch
Ye Gods!
Overtime
Here Comes the Sun
Grailblazers
Faust Among Equals
Odds and Gods
Djinn Rummy
My Hero
Paint your Dragon
Open Sesame
Wish you Were Here
Alexander at World’s End
Only Human
Snow White and the Seven Samurai
Olympiad
Valhalla
Nothing But Blue Skies
Falling Sideways
Little People
Song for Nero
Meadowland
Barking
Blonde Bombshell
The Management Style of the Supreme Beings
An Orc on the Wild Side
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 30th July 2015

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780356502557

Reviews

Witty and eccentric
Time Out
Wacky humour bubbles through the polished narrative . . . Holt doesn't skimp on the flashes of brilliance
SFX
Gratifying clever and very amusing
Mail on Sunday
Uniquely twisted . . . cracking gag
Guardian