Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Rosewater

Rosewater

***Winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2019***
Winner of the inaugural Nommo Award for Best Novel, Africa’s first award for speculative fiction
Shortlisted for the Kitschie Award for Best Novel 2019
John W. Campbell Award finalist for Best Science Fiction Novel

‘A magnificent tour de force’ Adrian Tchaikovsky

‘Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!’ Ann Leckie

‘Mesmerising’ M. R. Carey

‘An astonishing book. I wish I’d written it’ Lauren Beukes

Rosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless – people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumoured healing powers.

Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn’t care to again – but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realisation about a horrifying future.

Rosewater is the start of a vibrant and compellingly told trilogy by one of science fiction’s most engaging new voices – perfect for fans of N. K. Jemisin’s The Fifth Season, Ann Leckie’s Ancillary Justice and Jeff Vandermeer’s Southern Reach trilogy.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 14th November 2017

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780356511351

Reviews

Rosewater asks you uncomfortable questions about what is right, what is wrong, what you'll tolerate, and what is human
Mike Brooks
You've never been anywhere like Rosewater. And you've never seen an alien invasion like this. Tade Thompson will take you someplace incredible, full of unforgettable characters and deep insight. Rosewater cements his place as one of our our boldest and most exciting new writers
Sam J. Miller
In addition to providing a gritty and intricately plotted science fiction mystery, Thompson's opening of the Wormwood Trilogy considers what it means to be human
Booklist
Breathtakingly smart prose
SEATTLE REVIEW OF BOOKS
Hugely satisfying . . . a darkly beautiful gem
SFX
Hard-edged and utterly compelling
i newspaper
A magnificent tour de force, skilfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas
Adrian Tchaikovsky, author of CHILDREN OF TIME
As strange, vivid and intricate as the alien biosphere at its heart, Rosewater is a fabulous book and Tade Thompson is a writer of enormous heart and talent. Just brilliant
Dave Hutchinson
This series is going to be addictive. See you on the other side
STYLIST (featured as a top ten pick for September)
A strange and unsettling story of psychics, conspiracy, and alien invasion unlike anything I've read before. Masterfully constructed, brimming with ideas and slowly unfolding mystery, Rosewater hurt my brain in the best of ways
Fonda Lee, author of JADE CITY
Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!
Ann Leckie
An astonishing book. I wish I'd written it
Lauren Beukes
Mesmerising. There are echoes of Neuromancer and Arrival in here, but this astonishing debut is beholden to no-one
M. R. Carey, author of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS
A fiercely weird, breathtaking biopunk tale of alien invasion, Rosewater is ambitious and smart and very, very cool
Tasha Suri, author of EMPIRE OF SAND
Perfect for fans of William Gibson's NEUROMANCER, this twisty, captivating page-turner explores the fragility of the mind and how memory constructs identity
BookPage

The Wormwood Trilogy