Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Three Mothers

Three Mothers

Interweaving the intimate lives of three women over three generations, Sonia Lambert takes the reader on a fascinating journey . . .

Fleeing Nazi occupation in Austria, Helene escapes to London, where she meets and marries Charles, a British Intelligence officer. When she is summoned to join him at a posting in India, she is miserably seasick on the crossing, but also pines desperately for the baby she’s been forced to leave behind.

Twenty five years on, Helene’s daughter, Vera, discovers she is expecting a child, and starts to suspect a downside to the swinging 60s . . . As motherhood takes her into uncharted waters she begins to question everything, especially her relationship with her radical, free-thinking husband.

Vera’s daughter Susie, now a grown woman, has never been able to understand the animosity that exists between her mother and grandmother. With the terrible news that Vera has been diagnosed with a serious illness, Susie becomes determined to unravel their tangled family history before it is too late. As she delves into the past, she makes some surprising discoveries about the people she thought she knew best . . .

An evocative and unforgettable time-slip novel, this deeply satisfying debut is perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Susanna Kearsley

‘An elegant three-generation weeper’ – Publishers Weekly

‘A wonderfully evocative talent’ – Choice magazine
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 8th January 2015

Price: £6.99

ISBN-13: 9780349409108