Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Bench

The Bench

***RICHARD AND JUDY and INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLING AUTHOR***

A tragic love story spanning three decades,
The Bench is Saskia Sarginson’s most accomplished and heart-rending novel to date. For fans of One Day and A Star is Born.

‘We should have a plaque too,’ he says. ‘What would it say?’

I tilt my head. ‘For Cat and Sam, who found each other and lost each other and found each other again,’ I suggest.

It begins at the end.

It begins on a bench, on a heath, where a woman waits for a man.

Ten years ago, they made a pact:

On this bench, on this day, they will end a love affair that’s spanned three decades, or start again.

They should never should have met. They should never have fallen in love.

But they did, until a lie separated them for a lifetime.

Can they fix the mistake, forgive the lie, erase the years in-between?

Can what was lost ever truly be found?


Praise for Saskia Sarginson:

‘An intense and brooding read, with a brilliantly
claustrophobic sense of place’ Sunday Mirror on How it Ends

‘An engrossing read with endearing characters thrust into traumatic circumstances. It stayed with me long after the last page’ Lisa Ballantyne on How It Ends

‘Outstandingly good. Part thriller, part love story, I guarantee you will not be able to put it down’ Sun on The Twins

‘Atmospheric, readable, beautifully evoked’ Sunday Mirror on Without You

‘Stunning in its insight and beautifully written’ Judy Finnigan on The Twins

‘This enthralling read will keep you up long into the night’ Ruth Ware on The Other Me

Inspirational and compelling’ Candis Review on How it Ends

‘A stunning writer with deep insight into people, their thoughts and behaviour’ NZ Women’s Weekly
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 19th March 2020

Price: £14.99

ISBN-13: 9780349420004