Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

After the Last Dance

After the Last Dance

‘Deeply satisfying and impossible to put down’ Santa Montefiore

‘Fascinating . . . a gripping story of love and war’ Rachel Hore

‘An absorbing, unconventional love story’ Woman & Home

‘Highly absorbing and atmospheric’ Stylist

After the Last Dance is an extraordinary and vivid story of two women, separated by time but connected by fate, that will make you believe in the redemptive power of unexpected love. Perfect for readers of Rachel Hore, Kathryn Hughes and Tasmina Perry.

Kings Cross station, 1943. Rose arrives in London hoping to swap the drudgery of wartime for romance, glamour and jiving with GIs at Rainbow Corner, the famous dance hall in Piccadilly Circus. As the bombs fall, Rose loses her heart to a pilot but will lose so much more before the war has done its worst.

Las Vegas, present day. A beautiful woman in a wedding dress walks into a seedy bar and asks the first man she sees to marry her. When Leo slips the ring onto Jane’s finger, he has no idea that his new wife will stop at nothing to get what she wants.

So when Jane meets Rose, now a formidable older lady, there’s no love lost between them. But with time running out, can Rose and Jane come together to make peace with the tragic secrets that have always haunted their lives?

* SARRA’S NEXT NOVEL, THE HOUSE OF SECRETS, IS AVAILABLE IN EBOOK NOW. PRE-ORDER THE PAPERBACK – OUT AUGUST 10TH. *
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 10th March 2016

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780751561159

Reviews

A wonderfully absorbing story that you utterly lose yourself in. I read it in two nights and only wish it had been longer
Pippa Wright, author of The Foster Husband
I finished After the Last Dance with a massive smile on my face (post tears, that is). It's thrilling. I just loved Rose - old and young - and Jane was the perfect spiky lead that you know you shouldn't like but do anyway.
Julie Mayhew, author of The Big Lie
After The Last Dance is an absolute beauty of a book. Stylish, atmospheric and utterly compelling, I couldn't put it down
Alexandra Brown, author of The Great Christmas Knit Off
I absolutely devoured After the Last Dance . . . Sarra has pulled off the almost impossible task of having two equally powerful strands with characters you're rooting for all the way . . . It works best of all as a love story. Two love stories really. And in that, it's just brilliant. For me, it had echoes of Me Before You
Tamar Cohen, author of The Mistress's Revenge
I was totally swept up in the world of Rainbow Corner - I didn't want to leave it - and equally was completely absorbed by Leo and Jane's story. Such a fantastic book, I feel very lucky to have read it
Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky
Evocative, poignant, beautiful. Long live Rainbow Corner
Maggie Harcourt, author of The Last Summer of Us
After the Last Dance has fascinating settings, a compelling storyline with a skilful interplay of light and shadow, and vividly-realised characters that you immediately take to your heart. Sarra Manning's beautifully assured writing pulls you in from the very first page.
Margaret Leroy, author of The English Girl
Full of glamour, danger and more than a few swoon-some moments
Fabulous
Glorious, vivid and deeply seductive, with an ending that will make you weep for what once was
Lucy Robinson, author of The Greatest Love Story of All Time
A deeply satisfying read on every level. It's spirited, unpredictable, evocative and engrossing. Impossible to put down. I loved it!
Santa Montefiore
What a fascinating book. Such a gripping and unusual story of love and war - everyone needs a Rainbow Corner!
Rachel Hore, author of A Week in Paris
Highly absorbing and atmospheric
Stylist
An absorbing, unconventional love story
Woman & Home
A lavishly detailed sweeping romance, which expertly captures a country at war
Sunday Mirror