Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Happiness for Humans

Happiness for Humans

‘Loved this book. Funny, quirky, unexpected’ Jojo Moyes
‘Very clever and great fun’ Kate Eberlen
‘Bridget Jones’ diary for the digital age’ Daily Record

Happiness for Humans is a joyful, romantic and very funny story, perfect for readers who loved The Rosie Project and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

Do you believe in soulmates?

Aiden does. So when his colleague, Jen, is dumped unceremoniously by her dreadful boyfriend, Aiden decides to take matters – and Jen’s life – into his own hands.

Scouring the internet for a suitable partner for Jen, Aiden finds Tom. He’d be perfect for Jen apart from one minor detail: Tom lives in New York.

Luckily for Jen and Tom, Aiden’s not just an interfering colleague. In fact, Aiden isn’t exactly human – he’s a very complicated artificial intelligence.

As Jen and Tom’s romance grows, Aiden begins to take more and more risks to make sure that they can be together. But what will happen if they realise how they met…and that somebody else is pulling the strings?

‘This is Jane Austen’s Emma for the digital age’ – Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks

‘So funny, clever and timely. I loved it’ – Martha Kearney

‘This clever novel will appeal to David Nicholls fans. It’s witty and great fun’ – Daily Mail

‘This funny, madcap romp for the digital-age, featuring believably flawed characters (not all human), deserves to be a hit… like David Nicholls’ One Day or Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project, it should appeal to male and female readers.’ – Sunday Times

‘The most charming book I’ve read in ages’ – Image magazine

‘You’ll love this quirky, brilliantly funny love story… If you use Siri, Alexa or Google Assistant, prepare to have your heart warmed – and be a little bit scared!’ – Fabulous magazine


‘This screwball comedy is touching and hilarious’ – Sunday Mirror

‘One of the most uplifting and romantic novels I’ve read in a long time’ – Sarra Manning, Red magazine

‘Funny and clever’ – Good Housekeeping

Humans meets The Rosie Project . . . A real smiler of a book – Nina Pottell, Prima
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 1st April 2018

Price: £12.99

ISBN-13: 9780751566697

Reviews

It's refreshing to read such a positive, funny and warm story about the potential of artificial intelligence. These computer programs don't want to destroy humanity, they want to watch soppy films and help people fall in love. This is Jane Austen's Emma for the digital era.
Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks
This screwball comedy is touching and hilarious
Sunday Mirror
an absolute joy to read... Hilarious and exceedingly relatable
Carrie Hope Fletcher
A sweet romantic comedy that asks what it really means to be happy (and also takes a gentle look at the scary idea of technology taking over our lives)
Stylist
One of the most unique love stories ever written, this novel blends the ethereal concepts of true love and fate with a thoughtful examination of the risks and worries of artificial intelligence.
RT Book Reviews
Humans meets The Rosie Project . . . A real smiler of a book
Nina Pottell, Prima
One of the most uplifting and romantic novels I've read in a long time
Sarra Manning, Red magazine
An original and thought-provoking little gem
Sunday Sport
I am by no means alone in thinking that this funny, madcap romp for the digital-age, featuring believably flawed characters (not all human), deserves to be a hit. Rights have been sold in 26 territories and Working Title and Fox 2000 have a Film option on what could be Sleepless in Seattle meets The Lobster. One of the factors in its favour is that, like David Nicholls' One Day or Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project, it should appeal to male and female readers.
Sunday Times
reads a bit like a Richard Curtis screenplay adapted from the works of Arthur C Clarke... Clever but unpretentious, this book is both a light-hearted confection that will leave you with a warm glow and a chilling vision of things to come
Jake Kerridge, Sunday Express
So funny, clever and timely. I loved it.
Martha Kearney
This clever novel will appeal to David Nicholls fans. It's witty and great fun
Daily Mail
A smart, warm fiction and the ultimate curl-up read... the most charming book I've read in ages
Image
A sort of Shakespearean comedy of errors but instead of the gods there are rogue AIs seeking to meddle in the affairs of humans. Great fun.
The Bookseller
Very clever and great fun
Kate Eberlen, bestselling author of Miss You
Fun, romantic, original, with a clever and sinister twist
Fanny Blake, Woman and Home
You'll love this quirky, brilliantly funny love story... If you use Siri, Alexa or Google Assistant, prepare to have your heart warmed - and be a little bit scared!
Fabulous
A frothy rom-com in literary form...a broad and madcap love story...charming
Kirkus Reviews
Loved this book. Funny, quirky, unexpected
Jojo Moyes
Bridget Jones' diary for the digital age
Daily Record