Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Burned and Broken

Burned and Broken

A gripping mystery about a woman trying to find out the truth behind the death of her best friend and introducing a brilliant detective duo – perfect for fans of Peter James, Angela Marsons and James Oswald.

A DEAD GIRL
A vulnerable young woman, fresh out of the care system, is trying to discover the truth behind the sudden death of her best friend.

A MURDERED POLICE OFFICER
The charred body of a policeman – currently the subject of an internal investigation – is found in the burnt-out-shell of his car on the Southend seafront.

A CRIME WORTH KILLING FOR?
To DS Frank Pearson and DC Catherine Russell of the Essex Police Major Investigation Team, the two events seem unconnected. But as they dig deeper into their colleague’s murder, dark secrets begin to emerge.

Can Pearson and Russell solve both cases, before more lives are destroyed?

A twisty, gripping novel that introduces a brilliant new detective duo. If you like Peter James, Angela Marsons and James Oswald, then you’ll love this crime debut.

TRULY EVIL, the gripping second book in the series is out now.

****

Praise for Burned and Broken:

Immensely impressiveThe Times

‘The investigation into a copper’s dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debutSunday Times

Emotional, intelligent, sensual and with such a strong voice, Burned and Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success’ Harry Illingworth (Goldsboro Books)

I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book and I would recommend it to anybody. I can’t wait to read more investigations led by DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell’ Amanda Oughton (Ginger Book Geek)

‘The story is easy to follow without being too simple, and the novel really manages to evoke a sense of atmosphere and reality within its pages. I didn’t find myself becoming distracted whilst reading at all, and raced through it in hours. I will certainly be reading any future novels, particularly in this series which I wholeheartedly enjoyed’ Laura Naz (Snazzy Books)
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 2nd June 2016

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780751562064

Reviews

A very strong debut by someone whom I believe is going to become a household name. You heard it here first! A great story-line, with very real characters . . . Mark has created a new police partnership, with his main characters DS Frank Pearson and DC Catherine Russell: one from the dark ages of the Met, the other from the wrong side of the tracks. The partnership works really well, as you begin to empathise with the other main characters, plus Donna and Malc, a couple that you aren't likely to forget in a hurry! Read it for yourself, and then tell me that I'm wrong! It does exactly as it says on the cover, 'Burned and Broken'
Sainsburys Entertainment, 5 stars
Auspicious debut . . . finely drawn, overlapping story
Geoffrey Wansell, Daily Mail
Emotional, intelligent, sensual & with such a strong voice, Burned & Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success
Harry Illingworth (@Harryillers), Goldsboro Books
The investigation into a copper's dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debut
The Sunday Times
Immensely impressive.
The Times
A feast of intrigue.
CHOICE magazine

Pearson and Russell