Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Witch's Kind

The Witch's Kind

From the author of A Secret History of Witches comes a new standalone novel set in the same world: an absorbing tale of love, sacrifice, family ties, and magic, set in the US in the aftermath of World War II. Perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches, Outlander and Nora Roberts.

Barrie Anne Blythe and her Aunt Charlotte have always known that the other residents of their small coastal community find them peculiar – two women living alone on the outskirts of town. It is the price of concealing their strange and dangerous family secret.

But two events threaten to upend their lives for ever. The first is the arrival of a mysterious abandoned baby with a hint of power like their own. The second is the sudden reappearance of Barrie Anne’s long-lost husband – who is not quite the man she thought she married.

Together, Barrie Anne and Charlotte must decide how far they are willing to go to protect themselves – and the child they think of as their own – from suspicious neighbours, the government and even their own family . . .


Praise for Louisa Morgan:

‘A deeply satisfying and magical work of great craft’ Carol Goodman, author of Incubus

‘Deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters’
Jordanna Max Brodsky

‘Completely engrossing and hard to put down’ Bibliosanctum

‘Enthralling . . . Deeply moving and richly conceived’ Kay Kenyon

‘I loved it. A beautiful generational tale, reminiscent of Practical Magic . . . Grounded and real, painful and hopeful at the same time’ Laure Eve

‘Epic in scope and heartbreakingly tender . . . Recommended for fans of Nora Roberts’ Booklist
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 19th March 2019

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780356512556

Reviews

The tiny touches of magic realism, fantasy, and science fiction are intriguing elements, but the strength of Morgan's powerful story is her depiction of this time and place and the everyday struggles of determined women. A great choice for readers who enjoy novels by Alice Hoffman and Barbara Kingsolver
BOOKLIST
I'm still feeling a little bowled over by how much I liked this book . . . Completely engrossing and hard to put down
BIBLIOSANCTUM
A compelling, relationship-driven family drama with speculative elements and plenty of mystery, this is a page turner that you won't be able to put down . . . I can hardly wait for Louisa Morgan's next book, and I'll be the first person in line to read it!
BOOKS, BONES & BUFFY
Magic infuses the story . . . it sings with sensory detail . . . a lush, loving look at everyday lives of women
B&N SCI-FI AND FANTASY BLOG