We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

So Let Them Burn

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9780349125442

Price: £9.99

Select a format:

ebook

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Clever and utterly fresh. So Let Them Burn takes the fantasy genre and soars into brilliant new heights’ Chloe Gong, author of These Violent Delights

‘With fierce protagonists and compelling conflicts, So Let Them Burn is a YA fantasy to root for!’ Namina Forna, author of The Gilded Ones trilogy

A complex, thought-provoking, thoroughly enjoyable read’ Irish Times

Whip-smart and immersive, this Jamaican-inspired fantasy follows a gods-blessed heroine who’s forced to choose between saving her sister or protecting her homeland – perfect for fans of The Priory of the Orange Tree and Fourth Wing.

Faron Vincent can channel the power of the gods. Five years ago, she used her divine magic to liberate her island from its enemies, the dragon-riding Langley Empire. But now, at seventeen, Faron is all powered up with no wars to fight. She’s a legend to her people and a nuisance to her neighbours.

When she’s forced to attend an international peace summit, Faron expects that she will perform tricks like a trained pet and then go home. She doesn’t expect her older sister, Elara, forming an unprecedented bond with an enemy dragon – or the gods claiming the only way to break that bond is to kill her sister.

As Faron’s desperation to find another solution takes her down a dark path, and Elara discovers the shocking secrets at the heart of the Langley Empire, both must make difficult choices that will shape each other’s lives, as well as the fate of their world.

‘By turns hopeful and devastating, So Let Them Burn is a masterful debut with a blazing heart. I was captivated from beginning to end by Cole’s sharp, clever prose and by her protagonists – two remarkable sisters with an unforgettable bond’ Chelsea Abdullah, author of The Stardust Thief

Reviews

Kamilah Cole blazes onto the scene with this absorbing and utterly magical debut, a novel as searing and illuminating as dragonfire (IYKYK). A triumph of epic fantasy, you'll be consumed by the world Cole has created and the fierce sisterhood at its center until the very last page
Jenny Hollander, author of EVERYONE WHO CAN FORGIVE ME IS DEAD
Dragons and gods, magic and power, So Let Them Burn is a thrilling epic about family, strength, and the real costs of war. Masterfully told, this exceptional debut is destined to be an instant classic for all adventure-filled fantasy fans. Truly DAZZLING, I am OBSESSED.
Aiden Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of Cemetery Boys
Cole's astute prose brings the world and its characters, who are predominantly Black, to life in refreshing and complex ways as it highlights themes of family, patriotism, war, identity, and sacrifice. An engaging new voice and a Caribbean-inspired fantasy to savor
Kirkus
Beautifully imagined and gorgeously written, SO LET THEM BURN is a thrilling epic fantasy that explores themes of colonialism, sacrifice, and love in a lush world of scheming gods and ancient dragons, brutal war and breathtaking magic. At the book's heart is the relationship between sisters Faron and Elara-two brave, complex young women whose fierce love for each other could plunge their entire world into chaos. An impressive, captivating debut, sure to win over readers' hearts just as completely as it did mine.
Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of FURYBORN
Kamilah Cole's So Let Them Burn set my soul on fire in the best way possible! Cole weaves an enthralling tale by way of an authentic and complex sibling relationship that swallowed me whole from the first page. So Let Them Burn is a blazing debut from an impeccable storyteller.
Terry J. Benton-Walker, bestselling author of Blood Debts
Morally ambiguous and absolutely magical Black girls take the fate of their world into their own hands in this action-packed, cleverly crafted fantasy that will leave readers clamoring to know what happens next.
Booklist
Kamilah Cole has crafted a captivating story of sisterhood, defying fate, and the brutal effects of colonialism. With deft prose and stellar worldbuilding, this is an excellent new addition to YA fantasy.
Tara Sim, author of The City of Dusk
Clever and utterly fresh. So Let Them Burn takes the fantasy genre and soars into brilliant new heights, subverting expectations and hitting every mark. Kamilah Cole is a wordsmith through and through
Chloe Gong, #1 New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights
SO LET THEM BURN is an intricate, immersive, and utterly exhilarating fantasy that snatched me up from the first page and did not set me down again until the last. Completely magical--I loved it.
Sarah Underwood, author of Lies we Sing to the Sea
A riveting adventure, a deft exploration of colonialism, and a deeply moving tale of a fierce and complex sisterly bond. So Let Them Burn will keep you up all night reading, and then linger with you for long after the final page.
“A riveting adventure, a deft exploration of colonialism, and a deeply moving tale of a fierce and complex sisterly bond. So Let Them Burn will keep you up all night reading, and then linger with you for long after the final page.” —Ava Reid, award-winning and internationally bestselling author of The Wolf and the Woodsman, Juniper & Thorn, and A Study in Drowning
[A] sparkling debut . . . Told through compelling dual perspectives, this YA novel explores identity, queer love and the nuances of sibling dynamics. Both action-packed and full of heart, it's the kind of immersive story you can get really lost in.
Diva magazine
Both action-packed and full of heart, it's the kind of immersive story you can get really lost in
Diva magazine
By turns hopeful and devastating, So Let Them Burn is a masterful debut with a blazing heart. I was captivated from beginning to end by Cole's sharp, clever prose and by her protagonists - two remarkable sisters with an unforgettable bond
Chelsea Abdullah, author of The Stardust Thief
A complex, thought-provoking, thoroughly enjoyable read
Irish Times
Via the sisters' expertly balanced dual POVs, each imbued with a lushly wrought, moving, and action-packed narrative, Cole delivers a raucously enjoyable debut that provides an insightful look into the ways in which violence and colonization can affect a populace long after a war has ended
Publishers Weekly
Gods, dragons, and mechanoids all war against each other in a deeply imaginative and fantastical twist on colonization and island history. With fierce protagonists and compelling conflicts, So Let Them Burn is a YA fantasy to root for!
Namina Forna, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Ones trilogy
So Let Them Burn elevates the game, asking hard questions about the power and agency of a chosen one whose destiny has been seemingly fulfilled. By the time you see the claws, they're already around your throat
Margaret Owen, New York Times bestselling author of Little Thieves and The Merciful Crow
What happens after the chosen one wins the war? So Let Them Burn explores the aftermath of victory, contending with the responsibility and impossible pressure of power. Kamilah Cole's sweeping, heart-pounding debut is a book about bonds: between warrior and country, rider and dragon, chosen one and the gods, and, perhaps most importantly, the complicated yet impenetrable bond between sisters. With characters who will grip you by the throat, a skillful commentary on colonialism, and an immersive world filled with dragons, danger, and deception, So Let Them Burn is a remarkable addition to the fantasy canon, establishing Cole as a powerful new voice in the genre.
Adrienne Tooley, author of Sweet & Bitter Magic and The Third Daughter
Tender, witty, and with a plot that will keep you glued to the page, So Let Them Burn is a beautiful exploration of what happens after becoming the chosen one - and how even when the legend ends, the story doesn't.
Hannah F. Whitten, author of The Wilderwood Duology
A spellbinding debut set in a rich, immersive world, So Let Them Burn is ultimately about love - romantic, platonic, and familial. At the same time, though, it's a story with teeth. Cole weaves a powerful narrative full of captivating lore, meddling gods, and young women willing to do whatever it takes. A heart-pounding delight.
M.K. Lobb, author of Seven Faceless Saints