Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Grey Bastards

The Grey Bastards

***The number one ebook bestseller***

‘AN ADDICTIVELY READABLE – AND UNDENIABLY COOL – FANTASY MASTERWORK’ Kirkus

‘FILTHY, CHARISMATIC AND FRANKLY EXCELLENT’ Mark Lawrence

BRING ON THE ORCS . . .

Jackal is proud to be a Grey Bastard, member of a sworn brotherhood of half-orcs. Unloved and unwanted in civilized society, the Bastards eke out a hard life in the desolate no-man’s-land called the Lots, protecting frail and noble human civilization from invading bands of vicious full-blooded orcs.

But as Jackal is soon to learn, his pride may be misplaced. Because a dark secret lies at the heart of the Bastards’ existence – one that reveals a horrifying truth behind humanity’s tenuous peace with the orcs, and exposes a grave danger on the horizon.

On the heels of the ultimate betrayal, Jackal must scramble to stop a devastating invasion – even as he wonders where his true loyalties lie.

A standout adventure fantasy debut that’s down, dirty and damn good fun – perfect for fans of Joe Abercombie, Mark Lawrence, Markus Heitz’s Dwarves series and Stan Nicholl’s Orcs series.

‘A gritty adventure with a fantastic, foul-mouthed voice . . . Fans of Abercrombie’s The First Law . . . will like this a lot’ Django Wexler

‘A bloody good tale of battle, betrayal and war pigs’ Brian McClellan

‘Jonathan French has to be lauded for his plot ingenuity, bawdry charm and vicious characters. The Grey Bastards has instantaneously catapulted him into my must-read list’ Fantasy Book Critic

‘I’d like to raise a tankard to The Grey Bastards’ brilliance’ Fantasy Faction
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 19th June 2018

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780356511634

Reviews

Terrific and highly original . . . This is excellent fantasy fare on all levels
Publishers Weekly
The ugly secrets, betrayals, and twists in this book keep the pages turning as Jackal and his friends discover and fight back against the dark magics and conspiracies involved
Booklist
French is one of a new and exciting stock of writers like Ed McDonald and Nicholas Eames who have invigorated the fantasy genre by doing the impossible: combining the crushing weight of grimdark with a vibrant humour that breathes life into the pages. The Grey Bastards is a huge success
The Fantasy Hive
A filthy, charismatic and frankly excellent read
Mark Lawrence
A funny thing happens when reading The Grey Bastards. You're rolling along, smiling at the novelties on display, but then, almost without warning, you find yourself truly in the world French has created, and it all becomes wonderfully familiar and convincing. The world-building creates exactly the kind of seamless transition that makes fantasy literature compelling, informative, and just plain fun
R.A. Salvatore, New York Times bestselling author
The Grey Bastards is a book that I just absolutely fell in love with . . . Because of this author's unique vision and his incredible talent, this one left a mark on me. I want more
Bookworm Blues
A gritty adventure with a fantastic, foul-mouthed voice and filthy, lovable characters in a wonderfully original world of half-orcs on giant hogs. Fans of Abercrombie's First Law or the soldierly banter of Erikson's Malazan Book of the Fallen will like this a lot
Django Wexler
French flips the fantasy script as the monsters become the good guys, fueling an action-packed, sneakily smart adventure. Half-orc and all badass, Jackal is a hero you won't soon forget
Scott Sigler, New York Times bestselling author of Alive and Infected
An addictively readable - and undeniably cool - fantasy masterwork
Kirkus
Saddle up the war boar and set off on a wild, gory thrill-ride that ends in an awesome climax and begs for a sequel
Daily Mail
Jonathan French has to be lauded for his plot ingenuity, bawdry charm and vicious characters. The Grey Bastards has instantaneously catapulted him into my must-read list
Fantasy Book Critic
It's a wild ride on the hog, filled with brutality, battle, and bravery. It's coarse and crass and also loveable, and after this, I have high hopes for what French might do in the future
Biblitropic
The Grey Bastards dragged me in immediately. A bloody good tale of battles, intrigue, betrayal, duty and frickin' war pigs
Brian McClellan
French has composed a stunning opening chapter to his trilogy that is well worthy of the hype that has been garnering. If you have been living under a rock and haven't heard about this book yet then I'd definitely recommend putting it on your radar
Fantasy Book Review
I f*cking loved this book. The Grey Bastards went down like a shot of good top-shelf tequila: warm and smooth, but with one hell of a spicy kick
Bibliosanctum
I'd like to raise a tankard to The Grey Bastards' brilliance
Fantasy Faction
This is a filthy book, but it is a damn good one
Pornokitsch