Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Odd Child Out

Odd Child Out

‘A hugely satisfying and thrilling read’ Shari Lapena

‘A brilliant, edge-of-the-seat thriller written with humanity, warmth and grace. I loved it!’ Saskia Sarginson

Two best friends. One terrible event.

Abdi Mahal and Noah Sadler have been inseparable since they met. They’ve stuck together, even when their peers have excluded them. But when a horrifying incident leaves Noah in a coma and fighting for his life, Abdi is too traumatised to say anything about what happened.

DI Jim Clemo, freshly returned to work after an enforced leave of absence, is tasked to investigate. And against a backdrop of a city where racial tensions are running high, he must determine what really happened to drive two teenage boys into a situation so desperate.

Everything rests on one of the boys talking.

But one can’t talk.

And one won’t.

The international bestselling author of WHAT SHE KNEW and THE PERFECT GIRL returns with a whip-smart DI Jim Clemo crime thriller about buried secrets and how the truth will always hurt. For fans of THE CHILD, THEN SHE WAS GONE and CLOSE TO HOME.

Praise for Gilly Macmillan:

‘Amazing, gripping, beautifully written’ Liane Moriarty

‘Deserves to stay on the bestseller list’ Daily Mail

‘Electrifyingly good. An absolute firecracker of a thriller’ Sunday Mirror

‘A nail-biting, sleep-depriving, brilliant read’ Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins

‘Literary suspense at its finest’ Mary Kubica

‘Deceptively clever’ Rosamund Lupton

‘Utterly gripping’ Tim Weaver
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 5th April 2018

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780349412924

Reviews

A hugely satisfying and thrilling read. Highly recommended!
Shari Lapena, bestselling author of The Couple Next Door
A gripping look at grief, friendship, and class divides. Macmillan excels at getting into the minds of terrified, brokenhearted parents... this mix of police procedural and thriller will satisfy fans of the author's previous work as well as those looking for something after Tana French
Booklist starred review
[An] engrossing novel. The action builds to a shattering conclusion
Publisher's Weekly
With characters who are sympathetic and believable, Macmillan's latest will keep readers in suspense to the very end. Highly recommended
Library Journal starred review