Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Seven Days of Us

Seven Days of Us

‘One of the best books of the year’ Hello!

The joyful, sharply observed and life-affirming Christmas story for fans of One Day. Also a Radio 2 Bookclub pick.

It’s Christmas, and the Birch family is gathering for the first time in years.

Olivia, the eldest daughter, has returned from treating an epidemic abroad and must go into quarantine for seven days. Her mother has decided it’s the perfect opportunity to spend some ‘special time’ together. Her youngest sister wholeheartedly disagrees. Her father isn’t allowed an opinion.

When no one can leave the house, seven days for the Birches feels like an eternity.

Especially when they’re all harbouring secrets. One of whom is about to come knocking at their door…

‘LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous!’ Marian Keyes

‘I loved this comic drama…the plot is genius…and the results are hilarious and touching’ Daily Mail

One of the best family dramas you’ll ever read’ Best

‘Sharply observed by Hornak’s satirical eye, this has “Working Title film deal” written all over it’ Glamour

‘Francesca Hornak is hilariously funny with characters that jump off the page, grab you, and just won’t let go’ Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister

‘Expertly captures the joys and the tensions of spending any time with those who know you best. It thoroughly deserves to be this year’s big Christmas hit’ The i

Absorbing, insightful and immensely enjoyable’ Laura Barnett, bestselling author of The Versions of Us

‘Compassionate, witty and wise’ Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins

‘I LOVED Seven Days of Us. The story swallowed me up. It has all the makings of your classic rom-com, with characters that are both remarkable yet wonderfully relatable’ The Unmumsy Mum

‘Gripping, powerfully emotional and life-affirming. I read it in one sitting!’ Maeve Haran, bestselling author of Having it All

‘Touching, funny, emotionally intelligent, Seven Days of Us is pure pleasure from beginning to end. It’s stylishly written and totally engrossing. I really, really loved it’ Adele Geras

‘It’s a cliché to say this book is a rollercoaster but the sun came up and the sun went down, people cried for help, and the bath overflowed, and I couldn’t move, captivated by this extraordinary page-turner…It has more twists and turns than Hampton Court Maze and yet Francesca Hornak guides one through it all with a confident hand until one puts it down, exhausted but exhilarated by such a rollicking good read. Terrific’ Virginia Ironside

‘An engrossing and funny study of a middle-class British family in crisis. I loved it!’ Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks

‘Witty and deeply heartfelt’ Bestselling author Emily Giffin

‘Hornak’s wry, masterful portrayal of a family in crisis is filled with flawed and funny characters who will capture – and break – your heart’ Fiona Davis, bestselling author of The Dollhouse

‘Hornak’s first novel is a farcical gem, perfect for fans of Matthew Norman and Emma Straub. Alternately tender and razor-sharp, Seven Days of Us will resonate with anyone who regresses the minute they step inside their childhood home’ Booklist starred review

‘A superb drama – smart and touching’ Sunday Mirror

Read it if you like Marian Keyes’ Rachel’s Holiday…it’s one of the best family dramas you’ll ever read’ Best Magazine
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 18th October 2018

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780349415611

Reviews

This book is heartwarming and gloriously funny, anyone who spends the Christmas period with their family will be able to relate hugely to this novel. Thank god it's happening to the characters and not to you!
Doncaster Free Press
Touching, funny, emotionally intelligent, Seven Days of Us is pure pleasure from beginning to end. It's stylishly written and totally engrossing. I really, really loved it
Adele Geras
Seven Days of Us expertly captures the joys and the tensions of spending any time with those who know you best. It thoroughly deserves to be this year's big Christmas hit
The i
One of the best books of the year
Hello!
Absorbing, insightful and immensely enjoyable
Laura Barnett, bestselling author of The Versions of Us
It's a cliché to say this book is a rollercoaster but the sun came up and the sun went down, people cried for help, and the bath overflowed, and I couldn't move, captivated by this extraordinary page-turner. The plot is compulsive and doesn't let up till the very last chapter. It has more twists and turns than Hampton Court Maze and yet Francesca Hornak guides one through it all with a confident hand until one puts it down, exhausted but exhilarated by such a rollicking good read. Terrific
Virginia Ironside
An engrossing and funny study of a middle-class British family in crisis. I loved it!
Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks
Compassionate, witty and wise
Saskia Sarginson, bestelling author of <i>The Twins</i>
LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous!
Marian Keyes
A humorous and heartwarming page-turner
Belfast Telegraph
Hornak's first novel is a farcical gem, perfect for fans of Matthew Norman and Emma Straub. Alternately tender and razor-sharp, Seven Days of Us will resonate with anyone who regresses the minute they step inside their childhood home
Booklist starred review
An emotional but ultimately uplifting holiday story
Kirkus Review
'Witty and deeply heartfelt'
Bestselling author Emily Griffin
Gripping, powerfully emotional and life-affirming. I read it in one sitting!
Bestselling author Maeve Haran
I loved this comic drama . . . the plot is genius . . . and the results are hilarious and touching
Daily Mail
With its wry observations on class, family, and veddy-British traditions, Francesca Hornak's absorbing debut sparkles with glints of Nancy Mitford and Julian Fellowes
Stephanie Clifford, <i>New York Times </i> bestselling author of <i>Everybody Rise</i>
Sharply observed by Hornak's satirical eye, this has 'Working Title film deal' written all over it
Glamour
Warm hearted, witty and wise, Seven Days Of Us is hugely entertaining
Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins