We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Six Motives for Murder

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9780349431994

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 9th May 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Yorkshire, 1969. Nell Lewis is four months into her new role as governor of HMP Brackerley when the prison takes on a catering contract for Brackerley village’s wedding of the year.

Almost all the female inmates are delighted to be involved in the celebrations, though Linda is desperate to avoid the event in case she is spotted, photographed, and once more appears on the front pages of the gutter press.

During the wedding reception, one of the inmates discovers the father of the bride, Mr Chapin, stabbed to death behind the marquee.

The murder shocks the close-knit village and police enlist Nell’s help to solve the mystery. There are multiple suspects at the wedding, all with strong motives for wanting Mr Chapin dead, but the prison workforce was closest to the scene of the crime . . .

The second historical mystery in the Brackerley Prison series from bestselling author Frances Brody. This is the perfect locked room page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie and Jacqueline Winspear.

What readers are saying about Frances Brody:


‘Witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive’ Ann Cleeves

‘A splendid heroine’ Ann Granger

‘Have just read the most fun book in ages. Writing is witty, funny, perfect yet not dismissive of murders at its heart’ @StairwellBooks

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Praise for Frances Brody:
Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine
Ann Granger
Delightful
People's Friend
Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish
Barry Turner, Daily Mail
With a competent, dynamic and likeable heroine, and an environment packed with stories great and small, it's hard to see how this series would fail
Morning Star
Has a charm, and mystery, all of its own
The Times
Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive
Ann Cleeves
Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers
Daily Mail

Brackerley Prison Mysteries