We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Portrait of a Scotsman

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780349424149

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 7th September 2021

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Romance / Historical Romance

Evie Dunmore has done it again! A must-read for historical romance lovers‘ Chanel Cleeton

Dunmore creates pure magic with this charming, romantic novel‘ Jennifer Probst

Going toe-to-toe with a brooding Scotsman is rather bold for a respectable suffragist, but when he happens to be one’s unexpected husband, what else is an unwilling bride to do?

London banking heiress Hattie Greenfield wanted just three things in life:

1. Acclaim as an artist
2. A noble cause
3. Marriage to a young lord who puts the gentle in gentleman

Why then does this Oxford scholar find herself at the altar with the darkly attractive financier Lucian Blackstone? Trust Hattie to take an invigorating little adventure too far. Now she’s stuck with a churlish Scot who just might be the end of her ambitions . . .

When the daughter of his business rival all but falls into his lap, Lucian sees opportunity. As a self-made man, he has vast wealth but holds little power, and Hattie might be the key to finally setting his political plans in motion. Driven by an old desire for revenge, he has no room for his new wife’s apprehensions or romantic notions, bewitching as he finds her.

But a sudden journey to Scotland paints everything in a different light. Hattie slowly sees the real Lucian and realizes she could win everything – as long as she is prepared to lose her heart.

Why readers love Evie Dunmore . . .

Evie Dunmore is a phenomenon!‘ Anna Campbell

Swoonworthy romance‘ Eva Leigh

Dazzles and reminds us all why we fell in love with historical romance‘ Julia London

Simply superb! Evie Dunmore will wow you‘ Gaelen Foley

Evie Dunmore is a marvellous, fresh new voice in romance who is sure to go far‘ Anna Campbell

A swoonworthy romance fuelled by electric chemistry‘ Chanel Cleeton

Reviews

Portrait of a Scotsman, like all of Evie Dunmore's excellent books, sits squarely at the unique intersection of history, romance, and women's rights... a spot where I could happily stay forever
Jodi Picoult, #1 <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author
Remarkably sexy and surprisingly complex . . . A novel that crackles with tension and pulls on every heartstring: perfection
Emily Henry, <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author
Portrait of a Scotsman is a captivating mix of history, romance, and politics that transports readers back in time. ?Evie Dunmore's gorgeous prose, electric chemistry, witty dialogue, poignant plot, and compelling characters light up the page in this delightful novel. A stunning read!
Chanel Cleeton, <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author
Dunmore is in a league of her own with these romances! Vivid, magical and with a steam factor that'll make you get up and open a window in your house. An absolute triumph and a joy to read
Roshani Chokshi, <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author
Intelligent and achingly poignant. Dunmore is a genre-defying storyteller
Lauren Layne, <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author
Portrait of a Scotsman crackles with passion, both in the bedroom and when it comes to righting social ills. This is why Evie Dunmore is my favourite historical romance author!
Stephanie Marie Thornton, <i>USA Today</i> bestselling author
Fans of Outlander and Poldark, listen up! Dunmore's Scotsman has it all: a talented heroine who's true to herself, a hero who respects her, and whip-smart social commentary that illuminates a lesser known chapter of English history - all wrapped up in the sexiest possible package
Kerri Maher, author of <i>The Girl in White Gloves</i>

A League of Extraordinary Women