Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

How to be Happy

How to be Happy

‘So likeable, smart and wise. A bittersweet read about love, life and friendship that makes you stop and think long after you’ve finished reading the last page.’ – bestselling author Tasmina Perry

E
ntertaining, funny and full of wisdom, I loved this book.’ – bestselling author Katie Fforde

‘I read this recently and loved it SO much. I cried buckets, but it’s ultimately a really positive, uplifting book about making every day count.’ – bestselling author Clare Mackintosh


———————————-

The smallest things can make the biggest difference.

Annie has been sad for so long that she’s forgotten how to be any other way. Until she meets Polly.

Polly is everything that Annie is not. She’s colourful, joyful, happy. Because if recent events have taught Polly anything, it’s that your time is too short to waste a single day.

Polly has one hundred days to help Annie find happiness. Annie’s convinced it’s impossible, but so is saying no to Polly. And on an unforgettable journey, Annie begins to realise that maybe, just maybe, there’s still colour to be found in the world.

But then it becomes clear that Polly’s about to need her new friend more than ever…and Annie will have to decide once and for all whether letting others in is a risk worth taking.

If you liked Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine or The Keeper of Lost Things, you’ll love How to Be Happy

**********************

‘A joyful, wise read’ – Rosie Blake

‘It’s a gorgeous book – funny, touching, sweet, sad and profound.’ – Daisy Buchanan


‘You’ll laugh and cry . . . heartwarming‘ – Best

‘Uplifting’ Independent

‘Will make you laugh while it tugs at your heart strings’The People
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Romance

On Sale: 8th March 2018

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780751568530

Reviews

Entertaining, funny and full of wisdom, I loved this book
Katie Fforde
Inspiration in a bottle. Author Woods uses her novel- inspired by a social-media hashtag-to explore the exhilaration of new friendship, the power of loss, and the evergreen tendrils of hope
Booklist
Filled with beautiful life lessons of love, loss, friendship, and forgiveness...a perfect feel-good read. A warm, funny, thoughtful novel packed with heart and charged with emotion.
Lori Nelson Spielman, #1 international bestselling author of The Life List
'You'll laugh and cry . . . heartwarming'
Best
A life-affirming, feelgood novel; it made me laugh, cry and buy bright clothes!
Adele Parks
Heartfelt and charming
Kirkus Reviews
Warm, funny, sweet and smart
Emylia Hall
A joyful, wise read
Rosie Blake
A very heartwarming moving and often funny book that will surely make you see life & all it throws at us, in a different way... a beautiful read.
Alice Peterson
Simply irresistible... Woods is a great option for fans of Graeme Simsion, Gabrielle Zevin and Marian Keyes
Library Journal
I read this recently and loved it SO much. I cried buckets, but it's ultimately a really positive, uplifting book about making every day count.
Clare Mackintosh
A special book that will make you laugh through your tears with its heartfelt take on happiness and friendship.
Amy E . Reichert, author of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake
Delightful page-turning awaits readers, even with Polly's inevitable finale. Polly is a wonderful character with a positively infectious attitude-memorable and magnetic, with a healthy dose of gallows humor. Joy shines through the tears, as this novel is a life lesson that should not be ignored.
Publishers Weekly
It's a gorgeous book - funny, touching, sweet, sad and profound.
Daisy Buchanan
So likeable, smart and wise. A bittersweet read about love, life and friendship that makes you stop and think long after you've finished reading the last page.
Tasmina Perry
'Will make you laugh while it tugs at your heart strings'
The People
A magical friendship...will make you laugh as it tugs shamelessly at the heart strings
Sunday Mirror
'Uplifting'
Independent