We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘THIS IS THE SPACE OPERA YOU’VE BEEN WAITING FOR’ Micah Dean Hicks

‘A KILLER STORY WITH REAL HEART AND SOUL’ Alastair Reynolds on Nophek Gloss

One man and his sentient starship are all that stand between the multiverse and its total destruction in the second book of Essa Hansen’s brilliant, mind-bending space opera trilogy.

Caiden has been on the run for ten years in order to keep his Graven ship out of the hands of his old adversary, Threi. But when a childhood friend he once thought dead reappears to take it, he is lured into a game of hunter and hunted with the one person whose powers rival Threi’s: his sister, Abriss.

Now, to have a fighting chance against the most influential siblings in the multiverse, Caiden is left with no choice. He must unlock the Azura’s true potential – which means finally confronting his own mysterious genetic origins.

‘A work of dazzling imagination, lyrically written and shot through with deep empathy. A triumph in every sense’ Gautam Bhatia, author of The Wall

‘A blistering crash through bubble universes, seas of the luminous dead and sleeping alien cities. Liquid-crystal starships, living machines, reality-cleaving swordplay and a dynasty whose words command your synapses and cells’ Micah Dean Hicks, author of Break the Bodies, Haunt the Bones

‘Unpredictable and strikingly unique, Azura Ghost is science fiction without any limits to its imagination. Genre-breaking brilliance!’ David Dalglish, USA Today bestselling author

The Graven series:
Nophek Gloss
Azura Ghost

Praise for the series:

Gripping and inventive, Nophek Gloss will delight even as it breaks your heart’ Megan E. O’Keefe, award-winning author of Velocity Weapon

‘A strong, rollercoaster of a debut’ Gareth L. Powell, author of The Embers of War

Bursting with strange characters and powerful SF action‘ Rob Boffard, author of Adrift

‘An exceptional debut – one of the best I’ve read in years. The sheer imagination in this book is staggering . . . Reads like a Becky Chambers novel crossed with Firefly’ Michael Mammay, author of Planetside

Reviews

Nophek Gloss is a sucker-punch to the senses, a delicious and delirious head-trip into an intricate, vivid and psychedelic cosmos of nested universes, exotic tech and gorgeously strange characters. Best of all, though, it's wrapped around a killer story with real heart and soul.
Alastair Reynolds, author of REVENGER
Intriguing metaphysical concepts, more fast-paced action, and a climactic revelation regarding Caiden's mysterious genetic heritage will have fans eager for the next book in the Graven series
BOOKLIST on AZURA GHOST
A strong, rollercoaster of a debut
Gareth L. Powell, author of THE EMBERS OF WAR
The Graven Trilogy kicks off with heart-rending loss, traumatic memories, fast-paced action, and stunning scientific concepts, with mercantile and political intrigues spanning manifold universes. Fans of Alastair Reynolds and Megan E. O'Keefe will want to try this
BOOKLIST
A far-flung kaleidoscope of stunning imagination, superb characters and truly alien aliens. This is space opera firing on all cylinders, and a must-read
Jeremy Szal, author of STORMBLOOD
Bursting with strange characters and powerful SF action
Rob Boffard, author of ADRIFT
A revenge plot leads mechanic Caiden across a multiverse populated by a colourful array of humanoid species in Hansen's wonderfully inventive debut . . . Space opera fans will be eager for the next instalment
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
Gripping and inventive, Nophek Gloss will delight even as it breaks your heart
Megan E. O'Keefe, award-winning author of VELOCITY WEAPON
A compelling sf story that will draw in and hold readers until the very last page ... Hansen's marvellous debut is a fast-paced, action-filled ride through the multiverse, introducing a complex found family of gender- and neurodiverse characters.
LIBRARY JOURNAL
An exceptional debut - one of the best I've read in years. The sheer imagination in this book is staggering . . . Reads like a Becky Chambers novel crossed with Firefly . . . With her first novel, Essa Hansen establishes herself as a force in the world of science fiction
Michael Mammay, author of PLANETSIDE