Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Scarlet Lion

The Scarlet Lion

William Marshal’s prowess and loyalty as a knight in the English royal household has been rewarded by marriage to Isabelle de Clare, heiress to great estates in England, Normandy and Ireland.

But their contentment and security is shattered when King Richard dies and is succeeded by his brother John, who takes the Marshals’ sons hostage and seizes their lands. Now William must face the conflict between remaining loyal or rebelling against these injustices – and the struggle threatens to tear his marriage apart. Fiercely intelligent and courageous, Isabelle too must come to terms with what the future holds . . .

The Scarlet Lion is the final novel in an unforgettable standalone trilogy about William Marshal, Earl of Pembroke, Regent of England – and one of the country’s greatest forgotten heroes.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 6th August 2009

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9780748113057


Elizabeth Chadwick is a consummate historical novelist. All the political facts are here: King John and the Magna Carta, the wars with France, battles between English factions and Irish rebels. Where she fills in the gaps, she does so with total authority and plausibility. But what she does so well here is to tell us a moving story of a marriage.
Historical Novels Review
Chadwick proves again why she is considered the best author of medieval fiction writing today
Lancashire Evening Post
Chadwick's historical fiction gets better and better. The medieval world becomes a vibrant place where historical figures live and breathe the events that shaped the modern world. A perfect addition to the Christmas wish list
Nottingham EVENING Post