We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The joyful and escapist new novel from New York Times bestselling author Debbie Macomber.

It’s been nearly six years since Julia Jones had her heart broken. After her husband fell in love with another woman, Julia did all she could to save her marriage and keep her family together, but now, recalling the words of her beloved father, she realises it’s time to move on: It’s better this way.

Desperate for a fresh start, Julia sells the family home and moves into a condominium complex, and she’s delighted to discover that her new abode comes with a gorgeous new neighbour – Heath Johnson. Heath is a welcome change from the men Julia usually dates, and as a divorcé himself he understands the difficulties of a fractured family all too well.

As a relationship between Julia and Heath blossoms, Julia dares to dream that her life might finally be back on track, until a dramatic revelation involving their families threatens their newfound happiness. Will Julia, Heath and their families find a way through – and will it be together?

Perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Phillipa Ashley and Jenny Colgan, It’s Better This Way is the perfect uplifting love story about fresh starts and finding a second chance for your happy ever after.

Reviews

Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy
Candis
If there's a star in the romance and women's fiction firmament, chances are high it's Debbie Macomber
Publisher's Weekly
No one tugs at readers' heartstrings quite as effectively as Macomber
Chicago Tribune
The reigning queen of women's fiction
The Sacramento Bee
Warm-hearted fiction . . . Debbie Macomber knows how to write an absorbing novel
People’s Friend
It's impossible not to cheer for Macomber's characters . . . When it comes to creating a special place and memorable, honorable characters, nobody does it better than Macomber
BookPage