We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

What We Did

CWA Gold Dagger for Best Crime Novel, 2019

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9780751568783

Price: £12.99

ON SALE: 17th May 2018

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

He stole her childhood. She’ll take his future

What would you do if you accidentally encountered the man who once abused you?

And how would you get away with it?

Bridget’s life is small and safe: she loves her husband and her son, and she works hard to keep her own business afloat. Until one day, her former violin teacher Anthony Carmichael walks into her shop with the teenager he’s clearly grooming.

Carmichael begins to stalk Bridget, trying to terrify her into silence. But Bridget is older and stronger now and suddenly, she snaps and fights back.

Now Bridget must find a way to deal with the aftermath of her actions…

The gripping, compelling and timely new thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Loving Husband, The Crooked House and The Day She Disappeared. Perfect for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Lie With Me.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

A stirring, eloquent thriller with a nail biting finish
Observer
Gripping from the start and impossible to put down, this psychological thriller will enthral and appal you in equal measure
HEAT magazine
In a tense but unhurried thriller, Kent manages to champion victims without celebrating victimhood
Morning Star
A taut thriller that demonstrates revenge always comes at a cost
Mail on Sunday
Kent's writing has always possessed literary elegance, and that is fully in evidence here
Guardian
Psychological thriller that has you in a vice-like grip from the start. Bridget's already living under the relentless stress of her childhood abuse - but when her abuser turns up out of the blue, there's the more traditional suspense of a rash act and its consequences - the latter never trivialising the former. Masterful
Times and Sunday Times Crime Club
the writing is underpinned by intelligent understanding of the complicated legacy of childhood abuse. Kent asks us difficult questions about the true nature of forgiveness and retribution in a fast-paced and moving story.
Daily Mail
Unsettling, intense and brilliantly chilling
Paula Daly
What We Did is so good - proper thrilling, with proper emotion, no girls dead in the gutter, and Ladies Rule
Louisa Young