We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Patron Saint of Second Chances

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780751582901

Price: £16.99

ON SALE: 17th March 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

THE FEEL GOOD NOVEL OF THE YEAR

‘I loved this funny, heartwarming read’ Libby Page

The Patron Saint of Plumbing is not answering Nino Speranza’s prayers.

Without expensive repairs to the pipes, the water board will cut off Speranza’s crumbling Italian village. All 212 inhabitants will be forced to leave.

In a desperate bid to find the money to save his hometown, he starts a rumour that Italian heart-throb Dante Rinaldi is coming to town to film his next movie.

Soon, the place is teeming with fans and everyone wants to be involved: Speranza’s assistant has a screenplay and the butcher will invest – if Speranza can find roles for each of his fifteen enormous sons. Even the priest is on board.
It seems the only way to give their beloved town a second chance is to actually make a movie. What could possibly go wrong?

Funny, charming and utterly heartwarming, this is the feel-good novel of the year; a celebration of the underdog, of family and of what really matters in life.

*
A rare treasure: both hilariously funny and beautifully written.’ Julia Claiborne Johnson, author of Better Luck Next Time and Be Frank With Me

‘The most charming, original and hilarious novel I have read in ages. This novel is something special. Everyone with a sense of humour must pick this up immediately.’ Elyssa Friedland, author of Last Summer at The Golden Hotel

‘A glorious romp of a book with a cast of characters to fall in love with. Gorgeous, hilarious and brimming with joy. Christine Simon’s writing is just a delight.’ Helen Paris, author of Lost Property

‘Simon’s warm-hearted, original gem of a novel is the feel-good read we all need.’ Amy Poeppel, author of Musical Chairs

‘A charming, fast-paced and warm-hearted farce. Upbeat, escapist and a lot of fun.’ Caroline Hulse, author of The Adults

Reviews

The Patron Saint of Second Chances is a rare treasure: both hilariously funny and beautifully written. I was sad to say goodbye to these delightful, large-hearted characters when I turned the final page. Sequel, please.
Julia Claiborne Johnson, author of Better Luck Next Time and Be Frank With Me
A glorious romp of a book with a cast of characters to fall in love with. Gorgeous, hilarious and brimming with joy. Christine Simon's writing is just a delight.
Helen Paris, author of Lost Property
'The Patron Saint of Second Chances is the most charming, original and hilarious novel I have read in ages. I laughed out loud on almost every page. Simon is the master of creating lovable, quirky and relatable characters that feel like your best friends. All I want for Christmas is to meet Signor Speranza and have my vacuum cleaner repaired at his shop. And I'm desperate to be in the movie, with or without Dante Rinaldi. This novel is something special. Everyone with a sense of humor must pick this up immediately.'
Elyssa Friedland, author of Last Summer at The Golden Hotel
[A] sparkling, hilarious debut... Simon's wit pervades every page, with colorful portrayals of Speranza and the town's quirky inhabitants. This triumphant farce is a gem.
Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Full of slapstick humor (including a rescue from a wild goat) and a large cast of quirky characters, Simon's debut is brimming with heart... Fans of Fredrik Backman, Phaedra Patrick, and other chroniclers of small-town humour will savour this.
Booklist (starred review)