Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Light Within Us

The Light Within Us

From the multi-award-winning author of The Apothecary’s Daughter comes a beautifully evocative, multi-generational family drama set at the turn of the century and perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Riley and Elizabeth Jane Howard’s Cazalet Chronicles.

1891. Spindrift House, Cornwall.

Talented painter Edith Fairchild is poised to begin a life of newlywed bliss and artistic creation in the inspiring setting of Spindrift House, freshly inherited by her charming husband, Benedict, and overlooking the stunning harbour of Port Isaac. But when her honeymoon turns sour, her dreams are all but dashed and after a moment of madness and desire she finds herself pregnant with another man’s child.

Edith swears never to tell her secret and devotes herself to her art. Joined at Spindrift House by her friends – Clarissa, Dora and the secret father of her child, Pascal – together they turn the house into a budding artists’ community. But despite their dreams of an idyllic way of life creating beauty by the sea, it becomes clear that all is not perfect within their tight-knit community, and that the weight of their secrets could threaten to tear apart their paradise forever . . .

The trilogy follows talented painter Edith Fairchild, passionate in love and determined in her pursuit of artistic excellence, as she matures from an idealistic bride to the matriarch of a community.

Praise for Charlotte Betts:

‘Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying’ Katie Fford

‘A highly-recommended novel of love, tragedy and the power of art’ Daily Mail

‘I was captivated by this moving, heart-warming and beautifully woven story – gripping, atmospheric, eloquently told and full of rich detail’ Kate Furnivall
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 5th March 2020

Price: £14.99

ISBN-13: 9780349422985