We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Light Within Us

The Light Within Us

‘Moving, heart-warming and beautifully woven’ Kate Furnivall

From the award-winning author of The Apothecary’s Daughter comes a beautifully evocative, family drama, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Riley and Elizabeth Jane Howard’s Cazalet Chronicles.
______________

1891. Spindrift House, Cornwall.

Talented painter Edith Fairchild is poised to begin a life of newlywed bliss and artistic creation in the inspiring setting of Spindrift House, freshly inherited by her charming husband, Benedict, and overlooking the stunning harbour of Port Isaac. But when her honeymoon turns sour, her dreams are all but dashed and after a moment of madness and desire she finds herself pregnant with another man’s child.

Edith swears never to tell her secret and devotes herself to her art. Joined at Spindrift House by her friends – Clarissa, Dora and the secret father of her child, Pascal – together they turn the house into a budding artists’ community. But despite their dreams of an idyllic way of life creating beauty by the sea, it becomes clear that all is not perfect within their tight-knit community, and that the weight of their secrets could threaten to tear apart their paradise forever…

Why do readers love Charlotte Betts?

‘Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying’ Katie Fforde

‘A highly-recommended novel of love, tragedy and the power of art’ Daily Mail

‘I was captivated by this moving, heart-warming and beautifully woven story – gripping, atmospheric, eloquently told and full of rich detail’ Kate Furnivall
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 5th March 2020

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9780349422985

Reviews

What an engrossing read! The small group of artistic friends who take up residence at Spindrift House in Cornwall are intriguing and fascinating people
Discovering Diamonds
The descriptions are atmospheric and rich in detail - a work of art in words to complement the artistic theme of the story
Karen’s Book Bag
I thoroughly enjoyed this sweeping historical novel set in Cornwall . . . Beautifully written, engaging and heartwarming the perfect read for the summer!
Book Club Mumma
I can't even begin to explain how much I loved this book. I really wasn't expecting to get so invested in these character's lives... but WOW. I thought this would just be a simple love story, but it is SO MUCH MORE than that.
Rainy Reads
Charlotte Betts writes wonderfully immersive historical novels. The Light Within Us is the latest in a long line of evocative, enthralling and enjoyable tales sure to hold readers spellbound. Written with flair, style and confidence, The Light Within Us ... touches the heart and lifts the spirit
Bookish Jottings
A poignant, compelling and extensively researched novel that left me wanting the next book in the series . . . I cannot wait to find out what happens next to these characters
Sarah’s Vignettes
A delightful historical saga which is so beautifully woven together that from the very start I was enchanted
Jaffa Reads Too
I became so invested in these characters that I found myself crying throughout (both happy and sad tears!). I'm really excited to read the next two books and for me there's no way I could give The Light Within Us less than a five-star rating.
The Little Library x
The Light Within Us is a book that captivated me from start to finish. Rich in detail, full of passion this is a delightful and fascinating read. I really can't wait to get my hands on the next book in the trilogy
Book Literati
Charlotte's writing is captivating. I cannot wait for the second book
Steph Loves

The Spindrift Trilogy