Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Halfway

Halfway

A dark and compulsive psychological thriller perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn.

If everyone is lying, who can you trust?

The Halfway Inn is closed to customers, side-lined by a bypass and hidden deep in inhospitable countryside. One winter’s night, two women end up knocking on the door, seeking refuge as a blizzard takes hold.

But why is the landlord less than pleased to see them? And what is his elderly father trying so hard to tell them?

At the local police station PC Lissa Lloyd is holding the fort while the rest of her team share in the rare excitement of a brutal murder at an isolated farmhouse. A dangerous fugitive is on the run – but how can Lissa make a name for herself if she’s stuck at her desk? When a call comes in saying the local district nurse is missing, she jumps at the chance to investigate her disappearance.

The strangers at Halfway wait out the storm, but soon realise they might have been safer on the road. It seems not all the travellers will make it home for Christmas . . .


‘The perfect thriller for a long, cold November evening’ Buzz

Claustrophobic and infused with menace. B. E. Jones creates a sinister world of secrets, twists and revelationsAlison Bruce

‘A fast-paced, tension-filled, twisty read‘ Reader review

SO twisty . . . very well written’ Reader review

A really gripping read . . . couldn’t put it down‘ Reader review

Totally hooked!‘ Reader review

Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 1st November 2018

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472127914

Reviews

Praise for B. E. Jones:
A fantastic read
My Weekly
A dark murder mystery with an intriguing twist . . . If you enjoyed Sarah Pinborough's latest novel, Behind Her Eyes, then give this a try
Sci-Fi Bulletin
The perfect thriller for a long, cold November evening
Buzz
I got completely sucked in by this . . . If Rebecca had written Rebecca what you'd get is Where She Went. An irresistible voice, a unique predicament and a cast of characters that plays acid jazz on your heartstrings. Hard to take and impossible to look away
Catriona McPherson
Claustrophobic and infused with menace. B. E. Jones creates a sinister world of secrets, twists and revelations
Alison Bruce