N. K. Jemisin - The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748115907
    • Publication date:04 Feb 2010
Books in this series

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

By N. K. Jemisin

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

In this brilliantly original debut fantasy, a young woman becomes entangled in a power struggle of mythic proportions.

Yeine Darr is an outcast from the barbarian north. But when her mother dies under mysterious circumstances, she is summoned to the majestic city of Sky - a palace above the clouds where gods' and mortals' lives are intertwined.

There, to her shock, Yeine is named one of the potential heirs to the king. But the throne of the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is not easily won, and Yeine is thrust into a vicious power struggle with a pair of cousins she never knew she had. As she fights for her life, she draws ever closer to the secrets of her mother's death and her family's bloody history.

But it's not just mortals who have secrets worth hiding and Yeine will learn how perilous the world can be when love and hate - and gods and mortals - are bound inseparably.

Biographical Notes

N. K. Jemisin is a Brooklyn author who won the Hugo Award for Best Novel for The Fifth Season, which was also a New York Times Notable Book of 2015. She previously won the Locus Award for her first novel, The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, and her short fiction and novels have been nominated multiple times for Hugo, World Fantasy, and Nebula awards, and shortlisted for the Crawford and the James Tiptree, Jr. awards. She is a science fiction and fantasy reviewer for the New York Times, and you can find her online at nkjemisin.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781841498171
  • Publication date: 04 Feb 2010
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Orbit
Jemisin's first novel has a wistful, lyrical tone, and the intrigue - both romantic and political - is skillfully handled. Book one in the Inheritance Trilogy is sensitive, restrained high fantasy — Guardian
A story that manages to be both fantastically grand and very personal. Definitely recommended — Waterstones Books Quarterly
"A bold and strong new voice in fantasy fiction" Tricia Sullivan, Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author
Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume Two

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker

World Fantasy Award-winning fantasy author K. J. Parker delivers his most ambitious work yet - the story of a war on a grand scale, told through the eyes of soldiers, politicians, victims and heroes.A soldier with a gift for archery. A woman who kills without care. Two brothers, both unbeatable generals, now fighting for opposing armies. No one in the vast and once glorious United Empire remains untouched by the rift between East and West, and the war has been fought for as long as anyone can remember. Some still survive who know how it was started, but no one knows how it will end. Except, perhaps, the Two of Swords.

Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume One

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker
Orbit

Raising Fire

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett

Ben Garston has broken the Lore. Now it's time to face the music. Life isn't treating Ben Garston very well. He's lost everything he once held dear, including the love of his life. Still, he did at least escape being dragged into hell by a malevolent spirit bent on total destruction. So there is that. Now Ben just wants to drink, and forget, and drink some more. But he can't. Not yet. Because someone is stirring up trouble. Someone who wants to unravel the powerful magic that was spun all those centuries ago, and watch the realm of mythology come crashing into the modern world. Only Ben can stop them. The world will burn if he fails - and that's the last thing he needs on his conscience.

Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington
Hachette Audio

The Stone Sky

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Hachette Audio

Age of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Orbit

Strange Practice

Vivian Shaw
Authors:
Vivian Shaw

Orbit

Besieged

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne

Orbit

YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE

Angus Watson
Authors:
Angus Watson
Orbit

The Black Elfstone: Book One of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks
Piatkus

Blood Vow

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Orbit

The Shadow of What Was Lost

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington

'A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' GuardianAS DESTINY CALLS, A JOURNEY BEGINSIt has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers. As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden powers of the Augurs, he sets in motion a chain of events that will change everything. To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is . . . And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated, begins to stir.'Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters' Boingboing.net'Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding' Fantasy Faction'Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series' Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog

Orbit

Chasing Embers

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett

Behind every myth there is a spark of truth . . .There's nothing special about Ben Garston. Or so he'd have you believe. He won't tell you, for instance, that he's also known as Red Ben. Or that the world of myth and legend is more real than you think. Because it's his job to keep all that a secret. But now a centuries-old rivalry has resurfaced, and the delicate balance between his world and ours is about to be shattered. Something is hiding in the heart of the city - and it's about to be unleashed. 'A thrilling fusion of myth and modernity, Chasing Embers will have you cheering for dragons over humans and loving every minute of it' - Kevin Hearne

Orbit

The Obelisk Gate

N. K. Jemisin
Authors:
N. K. Jemisin
Robinson

The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 29

Gardner Dozois
Authors:
Gardner Dozois
Piatkus

The Beast

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Piatkus

Blood Kiss

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Orbit

Angel of Storms

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan
Corsair

Radiance

Catherynne M. Valente
Authors:
Catherynne M. Valente

Severin Unck is the headstrong young daughter of a world famous film director. She has inherited her father's love of the big screen but not his exuberant gothic style of filmmaking. Instead, Severin makes documentaries, artful and passionate and even rather brave - for she is a realist in a fantastic alternate universe, in which Hollywood occupies the moon, Mars is rife with lawless saloons, and the solar system contains all manner of creatures, cults and colonies. For Severin's latest project she leads her crew to the watery planet of Venus to investigate the disappearance of a diving colony there. But something goes wrong during the course of their investigations; and her crew limp home without her.All that remains of Severin are fragments. Can these snippets of scenes and shots, voices and memories, pages and recordings be collected and pieced together to tell the story of her life - and shed light on the mystery of her vanishing? Clever, dreamy, strange and beautifully written - Radiance is a novel about how stories give form to worlds.

Orbit

Veiled

Benedict Jacka
Authors:
Benedict Jacka