Michael Cobley - Seeds Of Earth - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748125630
    • Publication date:07 Oct 2010
Books in this series

Seeds Of Earth

Book One of Humanity's Fire

By Michael Cobley

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A multi-layered, 21st century take on the classic tropes of space opera by a bold new voice in British science fiction.

The first intelligent species to encounter mankind attacked without warning. Merciless. Relentless. Unstoppable. With little hope of halting the invasion, Earth's last roll of the dice was to dispatch three colony ships, seeds of Earth, to different parts of the galaxy. The human race would live on . . . somewhere.

150 years later, the planet Darien hosts a thriving human settlement, which enjoys a peaceful relationship with an indigenous race, the scholarly Uvovo. But there are secrets buried on Darien's forest moon. Secrets that go back to an apocalyptic battle fought between ancient races at the dawn of galactic civilisation. Unknown to its colonists Darien is about to become the focus of an intergalactic power struggle, where the true stakes are beyond their comprehension. And what choices will the Uvovo make when their true nature is revealed and the skies grow dark with the enemy?

Biographical Notes

Michael Cobley was born in the city of Leicester, has lived in Perth (Australia) and Glasgow but now resides in North Ayrshire. His previous works have included the Shadowkings trilogy (a dark and grim fantasy epic), Iron Mosaic (a collection of short stories) and Seeds of Earth, Orphaned Worlds and The Ascendant Stars, comprising the Humanity's Fire trilogy. Ancestral Machines is a stand-alone novel set in the universe of Humanity's Fire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781841496313
  • Publication date: 21 Jan 2010
  • Page count: 656
  • Imprint: Orbit
Orbit

The Corporation Wars: Emergence

Ken MacLeod
Authors:
Ken MacLeod

The enemy is out in the open. The Reaction has seized control of a resource-rich moon. Now it's enslaving conscious robots - and luring the Corporations into lucrative deals.Taransay is out in the jungle. Her friends are inside a smart boulder on the slope of an active volcano. The planet is super-habitable - for its own life, not hers. But soon, the alien infestation growing on her robot body is the least of her problems.Carlos is out of patience. With the Reaction arming for conquest, the Corporations trading with the enemy and the Direction planning to stamp out the rebel robots and their allies for good, he has to fight fire with fire.Seba is out of time. Deep inside the enemy stronghold, the free robots have to spark a new revolt before the whole world falls in on them.As battle looms, the robots must become their own last hope.

Orbit US

Extinction End

Nicholas Sansbury Smith
Authors:
Nicholas Sansbury Smith
Orbit US

Extinction Evolution

Nicholas Sansbury Smith
Authors:
Nicholas Sansbury Smith
Orbit

Strange Dogs

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey

An action-packed novella from New York Times bestselling science fiction author James S. A. Corey, set in the world of his Hugo-nominated Expanse series - now a major TV seriesLike many before them, Cara and her family ventured through the gates as scientists and researchers, driven to carve out a new life and uncover the endless possibilities of the unexplored alien worlds now within reach.But soon the soldiers followed and under this new order Cara makes a discovery that will change everything.

Orbit

Forgotten Worlds

D. Nolan Clark
Authors:
D. Nolan Clark
Hachette Audio

Spandex and the City

Jenny T. Colgan
Authors:
Jenny T. Colgan
Hachette Audio

New York 2140

Kim Stanley Robinson
Authors:
Kim Stanley Robinson

'Robinson is one of the world's finest working novelists, in any genre. New York 2140 is a towering novel about a genuinely grave threat to civilisation' GuardianThe waters rose, submerging New York City.But the residents adapted and it remained the bustling, vibrant metropolis it had always been. Though changed forever.Every street became a canal. Every skyscraper an island.Through the eyes of the varied inhabitants of one building Kim Stanley Robinson shows us how one of our great cities will change with the rising tides.And how we too will change.'Like all great sci-fi, New York 2140 is as much inward-looking as it is forward- . . . Robinson's work has a strong, intelligent social conscience' GQ'Only sci-fi can drown Manhattan and make you want to live there' Bloomberg Business Week

Hachette Audio

After the Crown

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers
Orbit

The Tourist

Robert Dickinson
Authors:
Robert Dickinson
Orbit

Feedback

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant
Orbit

Impact

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard
Hachette Audio

The Lazarus War: Origins

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer

Following Artefact and Legion, Origins is the third and final book of the Lazarus War, an action-drenched space adventure series from one of the most exciting new voices in science fiction.For someone who has died and come back as many times as Conrad Harris, the nickname Lazarus is well-deserved. His elite military team are specialists in death - running suicide missions in simulant bodies to combat the alien race known as the Krell. But now the Krell Empire has wreaked such devastation that military command is desperate for a new strategy against the alien foe.Harris and his team are being sent on a mission that could finally turn the tide of the war. Intelligence has been uncovered that indicates the location of the UAS Endeavour, a ship that went missing years ago deep in Krell territory. The ship could hold secrets to harnessing an ancient alien technology - possibly the most powerful weapon in the known universe. But if this power falls into the wrong hands, the consequences for humanity are unimaginable . . .Praise for The Lazarus War novels:'A gripping read that moves at warp speed' Jack Campbell, author of the Lost Fleet novels'Hyper-speed entertainment from a new master of science fiction' William C. Dietz, author of the Legion novels and HALO tie-in novels'An adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF' Stephen Deas, author of Elite: Wanted, Empires: Infiltrationand Extraction'Gripping, gritty and unsentimental - Sawyer shows us how perilous future war can be' Michael Cobley, author of the Humanity's Fire series'A fun, gripping adventure story, with a mystery at its core' Gary Gibson, author of Stealing Light'Starships sporting particle beam weapons, railguns the size of skyscrapers . . . This, dear readers, is the good stuff' Neal Asher, author of the Agent Cormac novels

Orbit

Behind the Throne

K. B. Wagers
Authors:
K. B. Wagers
Orbit

The Lazarus War: Legion

Jamie Sawyer
Authors:
Jamie Sawyer

Following Artefact, Legion is the second book of the Lazarus War, an explosive new space adventure series from one of the brightest new stars in science fiction - perfect for fans of The Edge of Tomorrow, Alien and James S. A. Corey's Expanse series. Conrad Harris is the legend known as Lazarus, and he has died hundreds of times. Using simulant bodies, he runs suicide missions in the depths of space. But he always comes back.As commanding officer of the Lazarus Legion, Harris and his elite Simulant Operations team are humanity's last line of defence against the hostile alien race known as the Krell.Having survived their ordeal on Helios, they're now leading a large-scale mission to the perilous, unexplored region of the Damascus Rift. There, another Artefact has been discovered. It is the product of an ancient alien life form - and a possible weapon to be used against the Krell.This Artefact could finally help humanity win the war. But what Harris and the Lazarus Legion will discover there is from their worst nightmares . . .Discover the Lazarus War - the thrilling new space opera series of elite space marines and galactic empires, from one of the most exciting new voices in science fiction.'A gripping read that moves at warp speed' Jack Campbell, author of the Lost Fleet novels, on The Lazarus War: Artefact'A hostile race of alien biomechs somewhat in the mould of H. R. Giger aliens . . . terrorism, subterfuge and traitors . . . starships sporting particle beam weapons, railguns the size of skyscrapers, laser batteries, missiles . . . And then there are the uber-human super-soldiers clad in powered armour and wielding plasma weapons . . . Is that enough for you? . . . This, dear readers, is the good stuff. Recommended' Neal Asher, author of the Agent Cormac novels, on The Lazarus War: Artefact'A highly promising science fiction debut - a fun, gripping adventure story, with a mystery at its core that kept me turning the pages' Gary Gibson on The Lazarus War: Artefact'An adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF packed with cinematic action sequences and tightly drawn characters' Stephen Deas on The Lazarus War: Artefact

Orbit

Zero-G

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard

'Never lets up, from the nerve-jangling beginning to the explosive end' James Douglas on Tracer Outer Earth is a giant space station, orbiting the dead remains of our planet. It is humanity's last refuge. Riley Hale may be the newest member of the station's law enforcement team, but she feels less in control than ever. When a doctor bent on revenge blackmails her, Riley has no choice but to give in to his demands and break a dangerous prisoner out of jail. But this is not just any prisoner - it's someone capable of bringing the entire space station to its knees. With time running out, Riley must break her own beliefs - and every law she's sworn to protect - if she has any hope of saving Outer Earth from destruction. Experience the excitement of Outer Earth in Zero-G - an action-packed thriller set in space from Rob Boffard. The Outer Earth novels:TRACERZERO-GIMPACT

Orbit

Ancestral Machines

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley
Orbit

Ancestral Machines

Michael Cobley
Authors:
Michael Cobley

The Warcage is a feat of unprecedented stellar engineering: two hundred worlds harnessed to an artificial sun. Built to travel through space as a monument to peace between alien species, its voracious rulers have turned it into a nightmarish wasteland, capturing new planets for slaves and resources, then discarding the old.Now, when a verdant agri-world is pulled out of its orbit and a deal goes bad, it is up to the captain of a smuggling ship to journey into the Warcage and rescue his crew.

Orbit

The Vital Abyss

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Orbit

Please Do Not Taunt the Octopus

Mira Grant
Authors:
Mira Grant

A new Newsflesh novella from the New York Times bestselling author that brought you Feed, Mira Grant.As Dr. Abbey knows, there are difficulties in running an underground virology lab in a post-Rising America.And unwanted guests must be dealt with.Newsflesh Short FictionApocalypse Scenario #683: The BoxCountdownSan Diego 2014: The Last Stand of the California BrowncoatsHow Green This Land, How Blue This SeaThe Day the Dead Came to Show and TellPlease Do Not Taunt the OctopusFor more from Mira Grant, check out:NewsfleshFeedDeadlineBlackoutParasitologyParasiteSymbiontChimera

Orbit

Tracer

Rob Boffard
Authors:
Rob Boffard