Keith Stuart - A Boy Made of Blocks - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751563290
    • Publication date:29 Dec 2016

A Boy Made of Blocks

The most uplifting novel of 2017

By Keith Stuart

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A beautiful, funny and most of all uplifting story of family and love, perfect for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes.

*YOU CAN NOW PRE-ORDER DAYS OF WONDER, THE MAGICAL AND MOVING NEW NOVEL FROM KEITH STUART*

THE RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB 2017 BESTSELLER AND NUMBER ONE AMAZON BESTSELLER

'The publishing sensation of the year: a compelling, uplifting and heart-rending debut novel'
Mail on Sunday

A Boy Made of Blocks is a funny, heartwarming story of family and love inspired by the author's own experiences with his son, the perfect latest obsession for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls and Jojo Moyes.

A father who rediscovers love

Alex loves his wife Jody, but has forgotten how to show it. He loves his son Sam, but doesn't understand him. He needs a reason to grab his future with both hands.

A son who shows him how to live

Meet eight-year-old Sam: beautiful, surprising - and different. To him the world is a frightening mystery. But as his imagination comes to life, his family will be changed . . . for good.

*Keith Stuart's magical and moving second novel Days of Wonder is available to pre-order now.*

'One of those wonderful books that makes you laugh and cry at the same time'
Good Housekeeping

'Funny, expertly plotted and written with enormous heart. Readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project will love A Boy Made of Blocks - I did'
Graeme Simsion

'Very funny, incredibly poignant and full of insight. Awesome.'
Jenny Colgan

'Heartwarming'
The Unmumsy Mum

'A wonderful, warm, insightful novel about family, friendship and love'
Daily Mail

'A great plot, with a rare sense of honesty'
Guardian

'A truly beautiful story'
Heat

'A heartwarming and wise story'
Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of The Last Act of Love

Biographical Notes

Keith Stuart is an author and journalist. His heartwarming debut novel, A Boy Made of Blocks, was a Richard and Judy Book Club pick and a major bestseller, and was inspired by Keith's real-life relationship with his autistic son. Keith has written for publications including Empire and Edge, and is games editor of the Guardian. He lives with his wife and two sons in Frome, Somerset.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780751563269
  • Publication date: 01 Sep 2016
  • Page count:

The publishing sensation of the year: a compelling, uplifting and heart-rending debut novel

— Mail on Sunday
A Boy Made of Blocks is constructed around not just a great plot, but a rare sense of honesty and insight. — John Harris, Guardian
Funny, expertly plotted and written with enormous heart. Readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project will love A Boy Made of Blocks - I did — Graeme Simsion
A heart-warming and wise story . . . I shed a few tears but was left with a warm glow — Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of The Last Act of Love
Heartwarming, funny and special. I devoured this cracking book. — The Unmumsy Mum
Very funny, incredibly poignant and full of insight. Awesome. — Jenny Colgan
One of those wonderful books that makes you laugh and cry at the same time — Good Housekeeping
A Boy Made of Blocks is one of those unique and exquisite stories that grab you from the very first line. Searingly honest and poignant . . . tremendously moving. A truly beautiful story. — Heat
Even the hardest of hearts will be warmed by this poignant tale based on the author's life with his autistic son — Mail on Sunday
This is a wonderful, warm, insightful novel about family, friendship and love that tugs at your heart. — Daily Mail
Stuart scatters his rose petals with enough thorns to ensure his often very funny debut will get under the skin . . . a tear-jerker — Claire Allfree, Metro
Be prepared to shed tears (Book of the Week) — Sun
A Boy Made of Blocks is a wonderful read and I imagine that this will be one of many outstanding novels by Keith Stuart. — Huffington Post
This debut is sad, funny and full of heart-melting moments that make tears inevitable. — Daily Express
[A] warm, humorous and touching story about fatherhood and family — Sunday Mirror
This book is incredible. Keith Stuart is a very clever man. — Stuart Heritage
Fans of Nick Hornby with love this funny and moving tale. — Closer
A heartwarming read — Sunday Express
Warm and real, honest and heart-breaking, joyous and life-affirming. It has the lot. — Vanessa Greene
Keith Stuart is a master at balancing humour alongside the serious. He has a light touch but also moves us deeply, and his characters are wonderfully real. Clever and full of insight. — Virginia Macgregor
The characters are well-developed and vulnerable, learning to navigate and make sense of a world filled with obstacles. Stuart's debut novel is a charming and timely tale of learning to connect in the digital age. — Kirkus
An engaging and satisfying read on modern parenting — Your Weekend (New Zealand)
It was refreshing to read a story where the characters flail around, panic, cry, swear, yet ultimately are determined to build little blocks of happiness with those whom they love. — Cath Weeks, The Big Issue
Touching and funny — Autism Eye
An escape, majestic and beautiful, into a world where imagination is the only limit. — Forbes
Heartbreakingly realistic — Phoebe Morgan, author of The Doll House