Anita Shreve - The Stars are Fire - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408702987
    • Publication date:02 May 2017
  • Paperback £13.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408702994
    • Publication date:02 May 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405538527
    • Publication date:02 May 2017

The Stars are Fire

By Anita Shreve

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Anita Shreve's brilliant new novel - for fans of Anne Tyler and Maggie O'Farrell.

The brilliantly gripping new novel from the New York Times best-selling author of The Pilot's Wife (an Oprah's Book Club selection).

Hot breath on Grace's face. Claire is screaming, and Grace is on her feet. As she lifts her daughter, a wall of fire fills the window. Perhaps a quarter of a mile back, if even that. Where's Gene? Didn't he come home?

1947. Fires are racing along the coast of Maine after a summer-long drought, ravaging thousands of acres, causing unprecedented confusion and fear.

Five months pregnant, Grace Holland is left alone to protect her two toddlers when her difficult and unpredictable husband Gene joins the volunteers fighting to bring the fire under control. Along with her best friend, Rosie, and Rosie's two young children, the women watch in horror as their houses go up in flames, then walk into the ocean as a last resort. They spend the night frantically trying to save their children. When dawn comes, they have miraculously survived, but their lives are forever changed: homeless, penniless, and left to face an uncertain future.

As Grace awaits news of her husband's fate, she is thrust into a new world in which she must make a life on her own, beginning with absolutely nothing; she must find work, a home, a way to provide for her children. In the midst of devastating loss, Grace discovers glorious new freedoms - joys and triumphs she could never have expected her narrow life with Gene could contain - and her spirit soars. And then the unthinkable happens, and Grace's bravery is tested as never before.

Biographical Notes

Anita Shreve is the acclaimed author of seventeen novels, including Rescue, A Change in Altitude, Testimony, andThe Pilot's Wife, which was a selection of Oprah's Book Club. She lives in Massachusetts.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780748122431
  • Publication date: 18 Apr 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Little, Brown
Anita Shreve...writes with such care and knowing that it's impossible not to be consumed by her storytelling, her beautiful sentences always exceeding the sum of their words . . . Shreve is a literary talent for all, and this novel - up there with her award-winning The Weight of Water - is flaming good — The Times
Long before Liane Moriarty was spinning her Big Little Lies, Shreve was spicing up domestic doings in beachfront settings with terrible husbands and third-act twists. She still is, as effectively as ever, this time with a narrative literally lit from within — New York Times
Shreve's account of the fires is terrifying, and her portrait of a bad marriage almost equally so. Her recreation of post-war, pre feminist American society is a model of elegant restraint, deep feeling, skillful characterisation, and a richly evocative sense of place — Sydney Morning Herald
Like her sensational best-selling 1998 novel The Pilot's Wife, about a widow who discovers her pilot husband had a second family, The Stars Are Fire explores what happens in the secret spaces between married people...Masterful... lingers long after the last page is turned, like the smoke from a wildfire — USA Today
Delicate, poignant storytelling — Good Housekeeping
An elegant portrait of a gutsy woman bent on survival — Woman & Home
Precise, evocative prose brings the story's vivid characters to life...original and gripping — People
A compulsive read, this novel pulled me into an ordinary woman's life and made me care too much about her to put it down — Glasgow Herald
Hachette Books

White American Youth

Christian Picciolini
Authors:
Christian Picciolini
FaithWords

A Voice Becoming

Beth Bruno
Authors:
Beth Bruno

A VOICE BECOMING guides moms in crafting a yearlong journey to lift their daughters' eyes out of the era of teendom, with delayed responsibilities and an obsession with bodies, boys, and besties, and instead cast a vision for who they were created to be. What if you as a mother concentrated on your daughter for one year? Who might she become? A VOICE BECOMING is for moms who want to usher their daughters into womanhood but know they need more than tips, techniques, and programs. This is for moms who to desire to chart a course for their daughters that helps them know the story of God they are entering and the global sisterhood of women they are joining. A VOICE BECOMING is written by a fellow sojourner, still in the middle of the journey, processing her own story as she casts a vision for her daughter to discover hers. Sometimes road maps are too restrictive and a friend is needed who has made the journey already. Beth Bruno seeks to activate moms by infusing them with hope and vision. Readers will join Beth in a yearlong journey of teaching their daughters that women lead, women love, women fight, women sacrifice, and women create. Moms learn how to use film and books, tangible experiences, volunteering, interviewing other women, traveling, and more in a creative and life-altering way to help solidify these important concepts in the mind and life of their young teen.

Weinstein Books

Waco

David Thibodeau
Authors:
David Thibodeau

To commemorate the 25th anniversary of the siege at Waco, and a tie-in to the upcoming Spike TV mini-series, an updated reissue of the critically acclaimed A PLACE CALLED WACO by Branch Davidian survivor, David Thibodeau now titled Waco: A Survivor's Story.For the first time ever, a survivor of the Waco massacre tells the inside story of Branch Davidians, David Koresh, and what really happened. When he first met the man who called himself David Koresh, David Thibodeau, who had never been religious in the slightest, was drumming for a rock band that was going nowhere fast. Intrigued and frustrated with a stalled music career, Thibodeau gradually became a follower and moved to the Branch Davidian compound in Waco, Texas. He remained there until April 19, 1993, when the compound was stormed and burnt to the ground. In this book, Thibodeau explores why so many people came to believe that Koresh was truly divinely inspired. We meet the men, women and children of Mt. Carmel. We get inside the day-to-day life of the community. Thibodeau is brutally honest about himself, Koresh and the other members and the result is a revelatory look at life inside a cult. But Waco is just as brutally honest when it comes to dissecting the actions of the United States government. Thibodeau marshals an array of evidence, some of it never previously revealed, and proves conclusively that it was our own government that caused the Waco tragedy, including the fires. The result is a memoir that reads like a thriller, with each page taking us closer to the eventual inferno.

Virago

The Vagina Monologues

Eve Ensler
Authors:
Eve Ensler

2018 marks the twentieth anniversary of V-Day, the radical grassroots movement to end violence against women and girls, inspired by Eve Ensler's international sensation The Vagina Monologues. This special edition features six never-before-published monologues, a new foreword by National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson, a new introduction by the author, and a new afterword by One Billion Rising director Monique Wilson on the stage phenomenon's global impact.A landmark work in women's empowerment, as relevant as ever after a year marked by unprecedented social and political protest in the face of unapologetic racism and misogyny, The Vagina Monologues honours women's sexuality in all its complexity, mystery and power. Witty and irreverent, compassionate and wise, this award-winning masterpiece gives voice to real women's deepest fantasies, fears, anger and pleasure, and calls for a world where all women are safe, equal, free and alive in their bodies.'This play changed the world. Seeing it changed my soul. Performing in it changed my life'Kerry Washington

Corsair

Notes on a Foreign Country

Suzy Hansen
Authors:
Suzy Hansen
FaithWords

Blessed in the Darkness Journal

Joel Osteen
Authors:
Joel Osteen
Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington
Moon Travel

Moon Yosemite, Sequoia & Kings Canyon, 7th Edition

Ann Marie Brown
Authors:
Ann Marie Brown
Westview Press

Recognizing Race and Ethnicity (Second Edition)

Kathleen J. Fitzgerald
Authors:
Kathleen J. Fitzgerald
Westview Press

Women and Politics (Fourth Edition)

Lynne E. Ford
Authors:
Lynne E. Ford
Corsair

The Maid's Courage

Rosie Goodwin
Authors:
Rosie Goodwin
Orbit

Babylon's Ashes

James S. A. Corey
Authors:
James S. A. Corey
Constable

Homeward Bound

Peter Ames Carlin
Authors:
Peter Ames Carlin
Orbit

Romeo and/or Juliet

Ryan North
Authors:
Ryan North
Basic Books

The Half Has Never Been Told

Edward E. Baptist
Authors:
Edward E. Baptist
Robinson

Quick and Delicious Vegetarian Meals

Judy Ridgway
Authors:
Judy Ridgway
Moon Travel

Moon Arizona & the Grand Canyon (Thirteenth Edition)

Tim Hull
Authors:
Tim Hull
Rick Steves

Moon Minneapolis & St. Paul

Tricia Cornell
Authors:
Tricia Cornell

Join author and longtime resident Tricia Cornell for an unforgettable experience. With her unique perspective and advice you can trust, Moon Minneapolis & St. Paul has everything you need to know to have a more personal and memorable experience.From the beautiful trails surrounding the Twin Cities' two doezen lakes to their thriving culture and nightlife, Moon Minneapolis & St. Paul shows you what you need to know to plan the perfect trip for you. Enjoy diverse cuisine, with options like fresh mozzarella bars and bánh mì sandwiches, or enjoy the thriving nightlife and theatre scene in downtown Minneapolis. Along with trip ideas like The Best of the Twin Cities' and itineraries outside the cities to places like the Mall of Maerica or the Minnesota Zoo, Lomax includes suggestions for the best places to boat, fish, ski, or golf in the greater twin cities area.With expertly crafted maps and gorgeous photos, this full-colour guidebook gives you the tools you need to have an immersive and unique experience. Find the Moon guide that best suits your trip! Exploring the area? Check out em

Moon Travel

Moon Nashville (Second Edition)

Margaret Littman
Authors:
Margaret Littman

Moon Nashville gives you the tools to make your own choices, with: Insider tips on the best spots to eat, drink, sleep, shop, and explore, marked with a Moon symbol, including the Best Place to See Elvis the Most Theatrical Dining Experience the Most Inventive Brewery the Best Live Radio Show the Best Place to Browse for Tunes and the Most Histric Hotel 6 easy-to-use, full-colour neighbourhood maps Excursions to Land Between the Lakes, Lynchburg, and Bell Buckle The firsthand experience and unique perspective of author Margaret Littman

Da Capo Lifelong Books

Body of Truth

Harriet Brown
Authors:
Harriet Brown