Tade Thompson - Rosewater - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356511368
    • Publication date:20 Sep 2018
Books in this series

Rosewater

Winner of the Nommo Award for Best Novel

By Tade Thompson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Rosewater is the start of a vibrant and compellingly told trilogy by one of science fiction's most engaging new voices - perfect for fans of N. K. Jemisin's The Fifth Season, Ann Leckie's Ancillary Justice and Jeff Vandermeer's Southern Reach trilogy. Winner of the inaugural Nommo Award for Best Novel, Africa's first award for speculative fiction

Winner of the inaugural Nommo Award for Best Novel
Africa's first award for speculative fiction
John W. Campbell Award finalist for Best Science Fiction Novel

Rosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless - people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumoured healing powers.
Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again - but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realisation about a horrifying future.

Biographical Notes

Tade Thompson is the author of Rosewater, a John W. Campbell Award finalist and winner of the 2017 NOMMO Award for Best Novel. His novella The Murders of Molly Southbourne has recently been optioned for screen adaptation. He also writes short stories, notably 'The Apologists' which was nominated for a British Science Fiction Association Award. Born in London to Yoruba parents, he lives and works on the south coast of England where he battles an addiction to books.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356511351
  • Publication date: 14 Nov 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orbit
Smart. Gripping. Fabulous! — Ann Leckie
A magnificent tour de force, skilfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas — Adrian Tchaikovsky, author of CHILDREN OF TIME
Mesmerising. There are echoes of Neuromancer and Arrival in here, but this astonishing debut is beholden to no-one — M. R. Carey, author of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS
A fiercely weird, breathtaking biopunk tale of alien invasion, Rosewater is ambitious and smart and very, very cool — Tasha Suri, author of EMPIRE OF SAND
Perfect for fans of William Gibson's NEUROMANCER, this twisty, captivating page-turner explores the fragility of the mind and how memory constructs identity — BookPage
In addition to providing a gritty and intricately plotted science fiction mystery, Thompson's opening of the Wormwood Trilogy considers what it means to be human — Booklist
As strange, vivid and intricate as the alien biosphere at its heart, Rosewater is a fabulous book and Tade Thompson is a writer of enormous heart and talent. Just brilliant — Dave Hutchinson
A strange and unsettling story of psychics, conspiracy, and alien invasion unlike anything I've read before. Masterfully constructed, brimming with ideas and slowly unfolding mystery, Rosewater hurt my brain in the best of ways — Fonda Lee, author of JADE CITY
You've never been anywhere like Rosewater. And you've never seen an alien invasion like this. Tade Thompson will take you someplace incredible, full of unforgettable characters and deep insight. Rosewater cements his place as one of our our boldest and most exciting new writers — Sam J. Miller
Rosewater asks you uncomfortable questions about what is right, what is wrong, what you'll tolerate, and what is human — Mike Brooks

Amanda Brown

Amanda Brown entered Stanford Law School in 1993 with the ambition to start the Blonde Legal Defense Fund. Class time was the perfect opportunity to study the law school species, which became LEGALLY BLONDE. Her blonde is an ash undertone with highlights.

Chris Bunch

Chris Bunch is a Vietnam veteran and served as a patrol commander and combat correspondent for Stars and Stripes. He has written for the underground press, outlaw motorcycle magazines and Rolling Stone.

David Baddiel

David Baddiel co-created three of the most popular comedy programmes in BBC TV history and his stand-up comedy act is always a sell-out nationwide.

David Brin

David Brin is the acclaimed Hugo and Nebula award-winning author of ten novels and two collections of short stories. He has a doctorate in astrophysics, and has been a consultant to NASA and a graduate-level physics professor. He lives in California.

David Wellington

David Wellington was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, where George Romero shot his classic zombie films. He attended Syracuse University and received an MFA in creative writing from Penn State. He now lives in New York City with his wife Elisabeth and dog Mary Shelley. Visit him at www.davidwellington.net

Dianna Love

Dianna Love is the New York Times bestselling co-author of Phantom in the Night, Whispered Lies, and Silent Truth, as well as the Belador Code series, including Blood Trinity and Alterant, with Sherrilyn Kenyon. She is a national speaker who started writing while working over a hundred feet in the air, creating marketing projects for Fortune 500 companies. When not plotting out her latest action-adventure, she travels the country on a motorcycle to meet fans and research new locations. She and her husband live near Atlanta, Georgia.

Dick Wolf

Dick Wolf, an award-winning writer, director, producer, and creator, is the architect of one of the most successful brands in the history of television - Law & Order, the longest running scripted show in television history. He has won numerous awards, including two Emmys, a Grammy, and an Edgar.

Elizabeth Moon

Elizabeth Moon served in the US Marine Corps, reaching the rank of 1st Lieutenant during active duty. She has also earned degrees in history and biology, run for public office and been a columnist on her local newspaper. She lives near Austin, Texas, with her husband and their son. Twenty-six of her books are in print, and she won the Nebula Award with her science fiction novel Speed of Dark (also shortlisted for the Clarke Award), and was a finalist for the Hugo in 1997.

Emma Donoghue

Born in Dublin in 1969, Emma Donoghue is an award-winning writer, living in Canada with her family. Her novels are Room, The Sealed Letter, Landing, Life Mask, Slammerkin, Hood and Stir-fry; short-story collections Astray, Three and a Half Deaths (UK ebook), Touchy Subjects, The Woman Who Gave Birth to Rabbits, and Kissing the Witch; and literary history including Inseparable, We Are Michael Field, and Passions Between Women as well as two anthologies that span the seventeenth to the twentieth centuries. Frog Music, her new novel, comes out in Spring 2014.

Janina Scarlet

Dr. Janina Scarlet is a Licensed Clinical Psychologist at the Center for Stress and Anxiety Management and a scientist at Alliant International University. She is experienced in using ACT to treat anxiety, depression, and trauma. In addition, she has contributed chapters to Posttraumatic Stress Disorder, Star Wars Psychology, Star Trek Psychology, The Walking Dead Psychology and Game of Thrones Psychology.

Jeff Somers

Jeff Somers was born in Jersey City, New Jersey. As a child he imagined he would be a brain surgeon, until a spirit-crushing experience convinced him that in order to be a brain surgeon he would have to actually attend school, work hard, and master basic mathematics. After a severe head trauma, he chose instead to write stories and learn the high art of cocktail mixing, and spent the next twenty years in a pleasant haze of fiction and booze. Since 1995, he has published his own magazine, The Inner Swine.Jeff Somers lives in Hoboken, NJ, with his lovely wife Danette and their plump, imperious cat Pierre. Jeff insists the cat would be delicious.

Jeffrey Cranor

Jeffrey Cranor co-writes the hit podcast, novel and touring live show Welcome to Night Vale. He has also written more than one hundred short plays with the New York Neo-Futurists, co-wrote and co-performed a two-man show about time travel with Joseph, and collaborated with choreographer (also wife) Jillian Sweeney to create three full-length dance pieces. Jeffrey lives in New York State.

John Clute

John Clute is an award-winning SF and fantasy critic and in 1994 received the Pilgrim award for distinguished contributions to the study of science fiction. He is the co-editor of the acclaimed Encyclopedias of Science Fiction and Fantasy.

Joseph Fink

Joseph Fink created and co-writes the Welcome to Night Vale podcast, novel and touring live show. In his mid-twenties he started Commonplace Books, producing two collections of short works which he edited at his office job when his boss wasn't looking. He is from California but doesn't live there anymore.

Julian Lees

Julian Lees was born and raised in Hong Kong, attended boarding school in England and currently lives in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, with his wife and children. The great-grandson of a high-ranking Cossack general who served under the last Tsar of Russia, Julian is a writer who draws from his family's rich history.His novels are set in a world where East meets West, a cross-cultural world which he captures bewitchingly and dramatically in his fiction.

Keith R. A. DeCandido

Keith R.A. DeCandido was born and raised in New York City to a family of librarians. He has writtenover two dozen novels, as well as short stories, nonfiction,eBooks, and comic books. Most of these are invarious media universes, among them Star Trek,World of Warcraft, Marvel Comics, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Serenity, Resident Evil and Doctor Who. His original novel Dragon Precinctwas published in 2004. In what he laughingly calls hisspare time, Keith follows the New York Yankees and practices kenshikai karate. He still lives in New York City with his girlfriend and two insane cats.

L. E. Modesitt Jr.

Although best known for his Fantasy novels, L.E. Modesitt, Jr. is author of a number of acclaimed SF novels, including THE PARAFAITH WAR and ADIAMANTE.

Lawrence James

Lawrence James was born in Bath and was educated at the University of York and Merton College, Oxford. After a distinguished teaching career he has emerged as one of the outstanding narrative historians of his generation.

Marianne de Pierres

Marianne de Pierres is the author of the multi award-nominated Parrish Plessis and Sentients of Orion science fiction series. The Parrish Plessis series has been translated into eight languages and adapted into a D20 Role Playing Game. 2011 will see the release of her new young adult dark fantasy duology. She is also the author of a humorous crime series, written under the pseudonym Marianne Delacourt. Marianne is an active supporter of genre fiction and has mentored many writers. She lives in Brisbane, Australia, with her husband, three sons and three galahs. Visit her websites www.mariannedepierres.com and www.tarasharp.com

Mary Larkin

Mary Larkin was born in Belfast and spent 40 happy years there before moving to the North East of England.