Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor - Welcome to Night Vale: A Novel - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356504858
    • Publication date:20 Oct 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405534048
    • Publication date:20 Oct 2015

Welcome to Night Vale: A Novel

By Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

From the creators of the wildly popular Welcome to Night Vale podcast comes this New York Times bestselling mystery of appearances and disappearances. The Telegraph calls Night Vale a 'cultural phenomenon' and Time Out says it's 'as hilarious as it is macabre'. For fans of Stephen King, Serial, Twin Peaks and of course the number one iTunes podcast itself. Now in paperback

WELCOME TO NIGHT VALE . . . a friendly desert community where the sun is hot, the moon is beautiful, and mysterious lights pass overhead while its citizens pretend to sleep. It's a town like your town, with a city hall, a bowling alley, a diner, and a radio station reporting all the news that's allowed to be heard. It might be more like your town than you'd like to admit.

In this ordinary town where ghosts, aliens and government conspiracies are parts of everyday life, the lives of two women, with two mysteries, are about to converge.

From the creators of the wildly popular Welcome to Night Vale podcast comes an original mystery of appearances and disappearances about the ways we all struggle to find ourselves, no matter where we live.

Biographical Notes

Joseph Fink created and co-writes the Welcome to Night Vale podcast, novel and touring live show. In his mid-twenties he started Commonplace Books, producing two collections of short works which he edited at his office job when his boss wasn't looking. He is from California but doesn't live there anymore.

Jeffrey Cranor co-writes the hit podcast, novel and touring live show Welcome to Night Vale. He has also written more than one hundred short plays with the New York Neo-Futurists, co-wrote and co-performed a two-man show about time travel with Joseph, and collaborated with choreographer (also wife) Jillian Sweeney to create three full-length dance pieces. Jeffrey lives in New York State.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356504865
  • Publication date: 19 Jan 2017
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Orbit
Orbit

It Devours!

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

From the authors of the New York Times bestselling novel Welcome to Night Vale and the #1 podcast of the same name, comes a mystery exploring the intersections of faith and science, the growing relationship between two young people who want desperately to trust each other, and the terrifying, toothy power of the Smiling God.Nilanjana Sikdar is an outsider to the town of Night Vale. Working for Carlos, the town's top scientist, she relies on fact and logic as her guiding principles. But all of that is put into question when Carlos gives her a special assignment investigating a mysterious rumbling in the desert wasteland outside of town. This investigation leads her to the Joyous Congregation of the Smiling God, and to Darryl, one of its most committed members. Caught between her beliefs in the ultimate power of science and her growing attraction to Darryl, she begins to suspect the Congregation is planning a ritual that could threaten the lives of everyone in town. Nilanjana and Darryl must search for common ground between their very different world views as they are faced with the Congregation's darkest and most terrible secret.

Orbit

Mostly Void, Partially Stars: Welcome to Night Vale Episodes, Volume 1

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

'Incredible' BUZZFEED 'Addictive' GUARDIAN 'Hilarious' TIME OUT An international #1 iTunes bestselling podcast, with over 100 million downloads and hundreds of thousands of followers on social media... Night Vale is the town where every conspiracy theory you know is true. Yours to take home in print for the first time, Mostly Void, Partially Stars collects the first full season of Welcome to Night Vale scripts, with exclusive bonus material including: · Behind-the-scenes commentary from the New York Times bestselling authors · Never-before-seen illustrations accompanying each episode · Guest essays by Night Vale performers and notable fans, including Cecil Baldwin (Cecil) and Dylan Marron (Carlos) · The script to Night Vale's sell-out legendary first live show, 'Condos'Mostly Void, Partially Stars is an unmissable read, whether you're a long-time fan or discovering Night Vale for the very first time. (Don't miss The Great Glowing Coils of the Universe, featuring the second year of podcast scripts, or Welcome to Night Vale: A Novel.)

Orbit

Great Glowing Coils of the Universe: Welcome to Night Vale Episodes, Volume 2

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

'Hypnotic' NEW YORK TIMES 'Incredible' BUZZFEED 'Brilliant' BOING BOING Downloaded over 100 million times in podcast form, Welcome to Night Vale is now yours to take home in print for the first time. Collecting such fan favourite episodes as 'A Blinking Light Up on the Mountain' and 'First Date', this volume contains the full second season of scripts for the #1 international bestselling podcast, with bonus material including: · Beautiful illustrations by series artist Jessica Hayworth to accompany each episode · Behind-the-scenes commentary from the New York Times bestselling authors · Guest essays by Night Vale performers and notable fans such as Cecil Baldwin (Cecil), Mara Wilson (The Faceless Old Woman), Hal Lublin (Steve Carlsberg) among others · The full script to Night Vale's sell-out live show, 'The Debate' The Great Glowing Coils of the Universe is an absolute must-have whether you're a fan of the podcast or discovering the wonderful world of Night Vale for the first time. (Don't miss Mostly Void, Partially Stars, featuring the very first year of podcast scripts, or Welcome to Night Vale: A Novel.)

Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson grew up in Lincoln, Nebraska. He lives in Provo, Utah, with his wife, Emily, and their children.

C. J. Daugherty

International bestselling author C. J. Daugherty is a former newspaper reporter and crime writer. Her Night School series has been translated into 21 languages, and has been the number 1 best selling young adult book in Germany, Poland, France, and Israel, topping charts in countries around the world.

Caleb Carr

Caleb Carr is a military historian and a bestselling novelist, contributing editor to MHQ: The Quarterly Journal of Military History and contributor to the World Policy Journal.

Chris Bunch

Chris Bunch is a Vietnam veteran and served as a patrol commander and combat correspondent for Stars and Stripes. He has written for the underground press, outlaw motorcycle magazines and Rolling Stone.

Christobel Kent

Christobel Kent was born in London and educated at Cambridge. She has lived variously in Essex, London and Italy. Her childhood included several years spent on a Thames sailing barge in Maldon, Essex with her father, stepmother, three siblings and four step-siblings. She now lives in both Cambridge and Florence with her husband and five children.

Clive Barker

Clive Barker was born in Liverpool in 1952. He now writes, directs and produces films in Los Angeles.

David Brin

David Brin is the acclaimed Hugo and Nebula award-winning author of ten novels and two collections of short stories. He has a doctorate in astrophysics, and has been a consultant to NASA and a graduate-level physics professor. He lives in California.

David Gemmell

David Gemmell's first novel, Legend, was published in 1984 and he is now widely acclaimed as Britain's king of heroic fantasy.

Dianna Love

Dianna Love is the New York Times bestselling co-author of Phantom in the Night, Whispered Lies, and Silent Truth, as well as the Belador Code series, including Blood Trinity and Alterant, with Sherrilyn Kenyon. She is a national speaker who started writing while working over a hundred feet in the air, creating marketing projects for Fortune 500 companies. When not plotting out her latest action-adventure, she travels the country on a motorcycle to meet fans and research new locations. She and her husband live near Atlanta, Georgia.

Duncan Falconer

A former member of the elite Special Boat Service & 14 Int., N. Ireland's top-secret SAS detachment, he left after more than a decade of operational service & went into the private security 'circuit'. His SBS exploits were documented in his 1st book, the bestselling First Into Action.

Ian Graham

Ian Graham lives in the north of England. The Path of the Hawk is a prequel to his first novel, Monument. His website can be found at iansgraham.net.

J. V. Jones

J. V. Jones worked initially for a record label in her native Liverpool, later moving to San Diego, California, where she ran an export business and was marketing director for an interactive software company.

Jane Gardam

Jane Gardam has been awarded the Heywood Hill Literary Prize for a lifetime's contribution to the enjoyment of literature; has twice won a Whitbread Award and has been shortlisted for the Booker Prize.

Justin Somper

Justin Somper is the worldwide bestselling author of the Vampirates sequence, which has been published in twenty-five languages in thirty-five countries. When he isn't writing, he works with other authors as a publicist and trainer. He lives in London with his partner and two energetic dogs. Justin invites you to visit him online at alliesandassassins.com, on Facebook at facebook.com/JustinSomperAuthor, and on Twitter @JustinSomper.

Karen Miller

Karen Miller was born in Vancouver, Canada, and came to Australia when she was two. Apart from a two year stint in the UK after graduating she's lived around Sydney ever since. She has held a variety of interesting jobs and fell in love with speculative fiction at primary school.

Kat Richardson

Kat Richardson lives on a sailboat in Seattle with her husband, a crotchety old cat, and two ferrets. She rides a motorcycle, shoots target pistol, and does not own a TV. Visit her at www.katrichardson.com

Katee Robert

Katee Robert learned to tell stories at her grandpa's knee. Her favorites then were the rather epic adventures of The Three Bears, but at age twelve she discovered romance novels and never looked back.Though she dabbled in writing, life got in the way - as it often does - and she spent a few years traveling, living in both Philadelphia and Germany. In between traveling and raising her two wee ones, she had the crazy idea that she'd like to write a book and try to get published.Her first novel was an epic fantasy that, God willing, will never see the light of day. From there, she dabbled in YA and horror, before finally finding speculative romance. Because, really, who wouldn't want to write entire books about the smoking-hot relationships between two people?She now spends her time - when not lost in Far Reach worlds - playing imaginary games with her wee ones, writing, ogling men, and planning for the inevitable zombie apocalypse.