Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor - Welcome to Night Vale: A Novel - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780356504858
    • Publication date:20 Oct 2015
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405534048
    • Publication date:20 Oct 2015

Welcome to Night Vale: A Novel

By Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

From the creators of the wildly popular Welcome to Night Vale podcast comes this New York Times bestselling mystery of appearances and disappearances. The Telegraph calls Night Vale a 'cultural phenomenon' and Time Out says it's 'as hilarious as it is macabre'. For fans of Stephen King, Serial, Twin Peaks and of course the number one iTunes podcast itself. Now in paperback

WELCOME TO NIGHT VALE . . . a friendly desert community where the sun is hot, the moon is beautiful, and mysterious lights pass overhead while its citizens pretend to sleep. It's a town like your town, with a city hall, a bowling alley, a diner, and a radio station reporting all the news that's allowed to be heard. It might be more like your town than you'd like to admit.

In this ordinary town where ghosts, aliens and government conspiracies are parts of everyday life, the lives of two women, with two mysteries, are about to converge.

From the creators of the wildly popular Welcome to Night Vale podcast comes an original mystery of appearances and disappearances about the ways we all struggle to find ourselves, no matter where we live.

Biographical Notes

Joseph Fink created and co-writes the Welcome to Night Vale podcast, novel and touring live show. In his mid-twenties he started Commonplace Books, producing two collections of short works which he edited at his office job when his boss wasn't looking. He is from California but doesn't live there anymore.

Jeffrey Cranor co-writes the hit podcast, novel and touring live show Welcome to Night Vale. He has also written more than one hundred short plays with the New York Neo-Futurists, co-wrote and co-performed a two-man show about time travel with Joseph, and collaborated with choreographer (also wife) Jillian Sweeney to create three full-length dance pieces. Jeffrey lives in New York State.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356504865
  • Publication date: 19 Jan 2017
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Orbit
Orbit

Mostly Void, Partially Stars: Welcome to Night Vale Episodes, Volume 1

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

'Incredible' BUZZFEED 'Addictive' GUARDIAN 'Hilarious' TIME OUT An international #1 iTunes bestselling podcast, with over 100 million downloads and hundreds of thousands of followers on social media... Night Vale is the town where every conspiracy theory you know is true. Yours to take home in print for the first time, Mostly Void, Partially Stars collects the first full season of Welcome to Night Vale scripts, with exclusive bonus material including: · Behind-the-scenes commentary from the New York Times bestselling authors · Never-before-seen illustrations accompanying each episode · Guest essays by Night Vale performers and notable fans, including Cecil Baldwin (Cecil) and Dylan Marron (Carlos) · The script to Night Vale's sell-out legendary first live show, 'Condos'Mostly Void, Partially Stars is an unmissable read, whether you're a long-time fan or discovering Night Vale for the very first time. (Don't miss The Great Glowing Coils of the Universe, featuring the second year of podcast scripts, or Welcome to Night Vale: A Novel.)

Orbit

Great Glowing Coils of the Universe: Welcome to Night Vale Episodes, Volume 2

Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor
Authors:
Joseph Fink, Jeffrey Cranor

Alexander McCall Smith

Alexander McCall Smith is the author of over eighty books on a wide array of subjects, including the award-winning The No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency series. He is also the author of the Isabel Dalhousie novels and the world's longest-running serial novel, 44 Scotland Street. His books have been translated into forty-six languages. Alexander McCall Smith is Professor Emeritus of Medical Law at the University of Edinburgh and holds honorary doctorates from thirteen universities.

Alison Littlewood

Alison Littlewood is the author of A Cold Season, which was selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club, where it was described as "perfect reading for a dark winter's night". Her second novel, Path of Needles - a dark blend of fairy tales and crime fiction - was recently short-listed for a British Fantasy Award. Her third, The Unquiet House, is a ghost story set in the Yorkshire countryside.Alison's short stories have been picked for The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror and The Best Horror of the Year anthologies, as well as The Best British Fantasy 2013 and The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 10. Other publication credits include the anthologies Zombie Apocalypse! Endgame, Resurrection Engines, Terror Tales of the Cotswolds, Where Are We Going? and Never Again. Alison recently won the Shirley Jackson Award for Short Fiction for her story 'The Dog's Home,' published in The Spectral Book of Horror Stories.

Amanda Quick

Amanda Quick is a pseudonym for Jayne Ann Krentz, the author of forty NEW YORK TIMES bestsellers under various pen names; more than twenty-five million copies of her books are in print. She lives in the Pacific Northwest. Visit her at www.krentz-quick.com

C. J. Daugherty

International bestselling author C. J. Daugherty is a former newspaper reporter and crime writer. Her Night School series has been translated into 21 languages, and has been the number 1 best selling young adult book in Germany, Poland, France, and Israel, topping charts in countries around the world.

Carina Rozenfeld

French author Carina Rozenfeld has won more than 20 literary awards and written dozens of hugely popular French YA fantasy novels. A former journalist for French youth press, she has also written for French television. The Secret Fire is her first novel in English.

Christine Feehan

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Christine Feehan has received numerous honours including being a nominee for the Romance Writers of America RITA and receiving a Career Achievement Award from ROMANTIC TIMES. Visit her at www.christinefeehan.com

Darynda Jones

Darynda Jones's writing has won her several awards, including a 2009 Golden Heart in the Paranormal Category for First Grave On The Right and the 2012 RITA awards for Best New Book. She lives in New Mexico, with her husband of more than 25 years and two sons.

Glenda Larke

Glenda Larke was born in Western Australia. She trained as a teacher and taught English in Australia, Vienna, Tunisia and Malaysia. She published Havenstar, a fantasy novel, with the now defunct Virgin Worlds in the UK, to enthusiastic reviews. She currently combines her passion for writing fantasy with an equal passion for birdwatching and rainforest conservation. Glenda has two children and lives in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, with her husband.

Ian Irvine

Ian Irvine has worked in many countries in the Asia-Pacific region. An expert in marine pollution, he has developed some of Australia's national environmental guidelines. Ian is married and lives in the mountains of northern New South Wales.

Isuna Hasekura

Isuna Hasekura's debut novel, SPICE AND WOLF, earned the Silver Prize in the 2005 Dengeki Novel Prize with the series going on to total seventeen novels and both manga and anime adaptations.

Jane Gardam

Jane Gardam has been awarded the Heywood Hill Literary Prize for a lifetime's contribution to the enjoyment of literature; has twice won a Whitbread Award and has been shortlisted for the Booker Prize.

Jayne Castle

Jayne Ann Krentz, who also writes historical and futuristic fiction under the pseudonyms Amanda Quick and Jayne Castle respectively, has more than fifty NEW YORK TIMES bestsellers under various pen names; more than twenty-five million copies of her books are in print. She lives in the Pacific Northwest

John Kenney

John Kenney has worked as a copywriter in New York City for seventeen years. He has also been a contributor to The New Yorker magazine since 1999. Some of his work appears in a collection of The New Yorker's humor writing, Disquiet, Please! He lives in Brooklyn, New York. Visit ByJohnKenney.com.

Jordanna Max Brodsky

Jordanna Max Brodsky hails from Virginia, where she spent four years at a science and technology high school pretending it was a theater conservatory. She holds a degree in History and Literature from Harvard University. When she's not wandering the forests of Maine, she lives in Manhattan with her husband. She often sees goddesses in Central Park and wishes she were one.

Katee Robert

Katee Robert learned to tell stories at her grandpa's knee. Her favorites then were the rather epic adventures of The Three Bears, but at age twelve she discovered romance novels and never looked back.Though she dabbled in writing, life got in the way - as it often does - and she spent a few years traveling, living in both Philadelphia and Germany. In between traveling and raising her two wee ones, she had the crazy idea that she'd like to write a book and try to get published.Her first novel was an epic fantasy that, God willing, will never see the light of day. From there, she dabbled in YA and horror, before finally finding speculative romance. Because, really, who wouldn't want to write entire books about the smoking-hot relationships between two people?She now spends her time - when not lost in Far Reach worlds - playing imaginary games with her wee ones, writing, ogling men, and planning for the inevitable zombie apocalypse.

Keri Arthur

Keri Arthur is an award-winning author of thrilling paranormal romances. She's a dessert and function cook by trade. She has one daughter, and lives in Australia. Visit her at www.keriarthur.com

Maria Lewis

Maria Lewis has been working as a professional journalist for the past 10 years. Making the switch from writing about murders to movie stars was not a difficult decision. A former reporter at The Daily Telegraph, she also wrote about all things film and entertainment related as the Showbusiness Reporter for The Daily Mail. Her work has appeared in the New York Post, Empire magazine, Huffington Post, The Sunday Mail, Junkee and BuzzFeed, to name but a few.She appears on 2SER 107.3 FM's weekly Drive segment Gaggle Of Geeks every Wednesday, talking the latest comic book and pop culture news and every Tuesday Breakfast for TV Talk. As a proud member of the Graffiti With Punctuation crew - a collective of Australia's leading film bloggers - she makes up half of the Pod Save Our Screen podcast.Based in Sydney, she lives in a house with too many movie posters and just the right amount of humans. Maria can often be found spending much money on comics, watching horror movies at stupid hours, inhaling books on modern feminist theory (aka anything Caitlin Moran touches) and holding on to the one belief she has had since she was five: that unicorns exist. She is most likely Mark Wahlberg's future wife. Most likely.

Nigel Cawthorne

Nigel Cawthorne is the author of a number of successful popular history books. His writing has appeared in over 150 newspapers, magazines and partworks - from the Sun to the Financial Times, and from Flatbush Life to The New York Tribune. He lives in London.