Sharee Miller - Don't Touch My Hair! - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Don't Touch My Hair!

By Sharee Miller

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

An entertaining picture book that teaches the importance of asking for permission first as a young girl attempts to escape the curious hands that want to touch her hair.

It seems that wherever Aria goes, someone wants to touch her hair. In the street, strangers reach for her fluffy curls; and even under the sea, in the jungle, and in space, she's chased by a mermaid, monkeys, and poked by aliens... until, finally, Aria has had enough!

This humorous picture book speaks to a national conversation on strangers touching black hair (from Solange's song "Don't Touch My Hair", to Phoebe Robinson's You Can't Touch My Hair), and sparks an important conversation on personal boundaries for children as Aria explains that her hair should not be touched without asking for permission first. Commercial, imaginative, and fun, Don't Touch My Hair! can be used to teach young readers about personal boundaries and asking for permission--and that it's all right to be told "no" as well.

Author-illustrator Sharee Miller takes the tradition of appreciation of black hair to a fresh, commercial level, as she doesn't seek to convince or remind young readers that their curls are beautiful--she simply acknowledges black beauty while telling a fun, imaginative story.

Biographical Notes

Sharee Miller has a BFA in communication design from Pratt Institute. She lives in Brooklyn, where she enjoys spending time with her two cats and illustrating fun stories. Sharee is the author and illustrator of Princess Hair. She invites you to visit her website at shareemiller.com and her Instagram @coilyandcute.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780316562584
  • Publication date: 06 Dec 2018
  • Page count: 40
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Young Readers US
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rise

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Don't Worry Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr
ATOM

The Boy and Girl Who Broke The World

Amy Reed
Authors:
Amy Reed
Running Press Kids

Super Jake & the King of Chaos

Naomi Milliner
Authors:
Naomi Milliner
Little, Brown Young Readers US

How to Be a Supervillain: Bad Guys Finish First

Michael Fry
Authors:
Michael Fry
ATOM

Home Girl

Alex Wheatle
Authors:
Alex Wheatle

'Alex Wheatle is the real deal; he writes with heart and authenticity, books that make you laugh and worry and cry and hold your breath. It's a pity there's only one of him' Kit de Waal'I love Alex and all he stands for in the world of literature' Kerry Hudson'Alex Wheatle is an inspirer. He is a vital writer. He is a prince among men. Long may he reign' Lemn Sissay'An author with great talent and great heart' David Almond'A major voice in British children's literature' S F Said'Alex is a one of our foremost literary activists, giving voice to the black working class experience with unsurpassed clarity and compassion. For this alone he should be universally considered a national treasure' Stephen Kelman'A writer who knows unseen places, unheard people and untold stories because he has lived a life that might have remained hidden if he hadn't found within him the urge and talent to write' Yasmin Alibhai-Brown 'This isn't my home. Haven't had a proper home since...This is just somewhere I'll be resting my bones for a week and maybe a bit. This time next year you'll forget who I am. I haven't got a diddly where I'll be by then. But I'm used to it'New from the winner of the Guardian Children's Book Award: Home Girl is the story of Naomi, a teenage girl growing up fast in the care system. It is a wholly modern story which sheds a much needed light on what can be an unsettling life - and the consequences that can follow when children are treated like pawns on a family chessboard. Home Girl is fast-paced and funny, tender, tragic and full of courage - just like Naomi. It is award-winning author Alex Wheatle's most moving and personal novel to date.

Running Press Kids

Secret Agents Jack and Max Stalwart: Book 3

Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson
Contributors:
Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson
Running Press Kids

Secret Agents Jack and Max Stalwart: Book 4

Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson
Contributors:
Elizabeth Singer Hunt, Brian Williamson
ATOM

Internment

Samira Ahmed
Authors:
Samira Ahmed
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Cars and Trucks Book

Todd Parr
Authors:
Todd Parr
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Survival Tails

Katrina Charman
Authors:
Katrina Charman

Sled dog Samson wants nothing more than to be part of Ernest Shackleton's historic voyage to Antarctica. He wants to feel the snow under his paws and the wind on his face as he races across the ice fields, and most of all he wants to help his humans find eternal glory as they chart the last unexplored continent. His fellow sled dog, Bummer, just wants to get through the voyage in one piece. Why would he want to face down a dangerous, icy wasteland when he could stay inside his kennel, warm and safe?Treacherous seas and dangerous ice packs are not the only threat they'll face on their voyage, however. Not every dog on Shackleton's team is willing to put the expedition before themselves. Amundsen, a wolf dog with a grudge against Samson, will stop at nothing to ensure he's the best dog on the expedition...even if it means sabotaging Samson and his friends.When their ship, the Endurance, becomes trapped in the sea ice, leaving the dogs and men with no way home, their journey becomes not about personal glory, but about survival. Samson, Bummer, and the other dogs will have to put aside their differences and band together to rescue their humans...and themselves.With engaging nonfiction back matter that delves into the fascinating true story behind the book, Survival Tails: Endurance in Antarctica is sure to keep readers entertained as the second entry in this series of action-packed animal adventures.

ATOM

All The Lonely People

David Owen
Authors:
David Owen

'I loved it . . . There's nothing out there like All The Lonely People - it's uniquely brilliant, bold and not afraid to shout about what's wrong with the world, while still showing how subtle changes and hope can save lives. Original, shocking, eye-opening and thoroughly enjoyable' Simon P Clark, author of ErenEveryone tells Kat that her online personality - confident, funny, opinionated - isn't her true self. Kat knows otherwise. The internet is her only way to cope with a bad day, chat with friends who get all her references, make someone laugh. But when she becomes the target of an alt-right trolling campaign, she feels she has no option but to Escape, Delete, Disappear. With her social media shut down, her website erased, her entire online identity void, Kat feels she has cut away her very core: without her virtual self, who is she? She brought it on herself. Or so Wesley keeps telling himself as he dismantles Kat's world. It's different, seeing one of his victims in real life and not inside a computer screen - but he's in too far to back out now. As soon as Kat disappears from the online world, her physical body begins to fade and while everybody else forgets that she exists, Wesley realises he is the only one left who remembers her. Overcome by remorse for what he has done, Wesley resolves to stop her disappearing completely. It might just be the only way to save himself.All the Lonely People is a timely story about online culture - both good and bad - that explores the experience of loneliness in a connected world, and the power of kindness and empathy over hatred.

Running Press Kids

Love

Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Contributors:
Stacy McAnulty, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Little, Brown Young Readers US

10 Little Kisses

Taylor Garland
Authors:
Taylor Garland
Little, Brown Young Readers US

How She Died, How I Lived

Mary Crockett
Authors:
Mary Crockett
Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Invisible String

Patrice Karst, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff
Contributors:
Patrice Karst, Joanne Lew-Vriethoff

With over a quarter of a million copies sold, this accessible, bestselling picture book phenomenon about the unbreakable connections between loved ones has healed a generation of readers--children and adults alike--and has been updated with new illustrations and an afterword from the author. Now available in paperback for the first time!Parents, educators, therapists, and social workers alike have declared The Invisible String the perfect tool for coping with all kinds of separation anxiety, loss, and grief. In this relatable and reassuring contemporary classic, a mother tells her two children that they're all connected by an invisible string. "That's impossible!" the children insist, but still they want to know more: "What kind of string?" The answer is the simple truth that binds us all: An Invisible String made of love. Even though you can't see it with your eyes, you can feel it deep in your heart, and know that you are always connected to the ones you love. Does everybody have an Invisible String? How far does it reach? Does it ever go away? This heartwarming picture book for all ages explores questions about the intangible yet unbreakable connections between us, and opens up deeper conversations about love.Recommended and adopted by parenting blogs, bereavement support groups, hospice centers, foster care and social service agencies, military library services, church groups, and educators, The Invisible String offers a very simple approach to overcoming loneliness, separation, or loss with an imaginative twist that children easily understand and embrace, and delivers a particularly compelling message in today's uncertain times. This special paperback edition includes includes vibrant new illustrations and an introduction from the author."This book is a beautiful way to begin to try, as parents, to instill in children the impenetrable power of the heart, the energy of love, and the flow that can be felt from the grace in every moment." --Tony Robbins

Little, Brown Young Readers US

An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason

Virginia Boecker
Authors:
Virginia Boecker
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Pearl

Molly Idle
Authors:
Molly Idle
Little, Brown Young Readers US

Rule

Ellen Goodlett
Authors:
Ellen Goodlett

Three Dark Crowns meets Pretty Little Liars in this sensational and striking new fantasy from debut author Ellen Goodlett, for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Kristin Cashore.Three girls. Three deadly secrets. Only one can wear the crown.The king is dying, his heir has just been murdered, and rebellion brews in the east. But the kingdom of Kolonya and the outer Reaches has one last option before it descends into leaderless chaos.Or rather, three unexpected options.Zofi has spent her entire life trekking through the outer Reaches with her band of Travelers. She would do anything to protect the band, her family. But no one can ever find out how far she's already gone.Akeylah was raised in the Eastern Reach, surrounded by whispers of rebellion and abused by her father. Desperate to escape, she makes a decision that threatens the whole kingdom.Ren grew up in Kolonya, serving as a lady's maid and scheming her way out of the servants' chambers. But one such plot could get her hung for treason if anyone ever discovers what she's done.When the king summons the girls, they arrive expecting arrest or even execution. Instead they learn the truth: they are his illegitimate daughters, and one must become his new heir. But someone in Kolonya knows their secrets, and that someone will stop at nothing to keep the sisters from their destiny... to rule.Magic, mystery, and blackmail abound in the first book of this sensational and striking fantasy duology.

Little, Brown Young Readers US

The Year Of The Rat

Grace Lin
Authors:
Grace Lin