Helen Lowe - The Gathering Of The Lost - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748123254
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2012
Books in this series

The Gathering Of The Lost

The Wall of Night: Book Two

By Helen Lowe

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

The second instalment in this incredibly addictive fantasy series - perfect for readers of Robin Hobb, George R. R. Martin and Elizabeth Moon. Epic fantasy from a David Gemmell Award-winning author.

SHE WILL NOT STAND ALONE.

Five years after the assault on her stronghold home, Malian of Night remains missing, believed dead amidst the wilds of Jaransor. But not all accept her death and now her enemies are on the hunt. Suspicion falls on heralds Tarathan and Jehane, who find themselves caught in a web of intrigue and murder amidst the Ijiri Festival of Masks. They flee bearing word of a death on the Wall - and a call to duty and honour that Malian must answer or be forsworn.

Biographical Notes

Helen Lowe is a fantasy author living in Christchurch, New Zealand. In 2012 she won the David Gemmell 'Morningstar' Award for her debut fantasy THE HEIR OF NIGHT.

This success was closely followed by THE GATHERING OF THE LOST, and Helen is currently writing DAUGHTER OF BLOOD, the third novel in the 'Wall of Night' sequence.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356500034
  • Publication date: 21 Feb 2013
  • Page count: 608
  • Imprint: Orbit
Orbit

Brief Cases

Jim Butcher
Authors:
Jim Butcher
Hachette Audio

The Skaar Invasion: Book Two of the Fall of Shannara

Terry Brooks
Authors:
Terry Brooks

Following The Black Elfstone comes the second book in the triumphant four-part conclusion to the Shannara series, from one of the all-time masters of fantasy.Tensions in the Four Lands are high. The mysterious force that laid waste to Paranor has revealed a more human face. While some gain a new understanding of the invaders and what they are after, others continue their existing quests even as the peril rises. For what looked to be a formidable invading force proves only the forerunner of a much vaster army - one that is now marching against the Four Lands in all its fury.'Terry's place is at the head of the fantasy world' Phillip Pullman'I can't even begin to count how many of Terry Brooks's books I've read (and re-read) over the years' Patrick Rothfuss'I would not be writing epic fantasy today if not for Shannara' Peter V. Brett'A master of the craft . . . required reading' Brent Weeks

Orbit

The Defiant Heir

Melissa Caruso
Authors:
Melissa Caruso

'Charming, intelligent, fast-moving, beautifully atmospheric' Genevieve Cogman on The Tethered MageAcross the border, the Witch Lords of Vaskandar are preparing for war. But before an invasion can begin, they must call a rare gathering of all seventeen lords to decide a course of action. Lady Amalia Cornaro knows that this Conclave might be her only chance to stifle the growing flames of war, and she is ready to make any sacrifice if it means saving Raverra from destruction.Amalia and Zaira must go behind enemy lines, using every ounce of wit and cunning they have, to sway Vaskandar from war. Or else it will all come down to swords and fire.'A beautifully written political fantasy drama full of courtly intrigue, powerful enemies and phenomenal magic potential. I raced through this exquisite debut in three days and adored it' Fantasy Book Review on The Tethered Mage

Piatkus

The Thief

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward
Orbit

Blood of Assassins

RJ Barker
Authors:
RJ Barker
Hachette Audio

Of Gods and Men

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan
Piatkus

Blood Fury

J. R. Ward
Authors:
J. R. Ward

In this sexy paranormal romance novel set in the world of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1 New York Times bestselling author J. R. Ward tells the story of two couples - both fighting to find love in the midst of the war with the Lessening Society.A vampire aristocrat, Peyton is well aware of his duty to his bloodline: mate with an appropriate female of his class and carry on his family's traditions. And he thought he'd found his perfect match - until she fell in love with someone else. Yet when his split-second decision in a battle with the enemy endangers the life of another trainee, Peyton has to face the idea that his future, and his heart, actually lie with another.Novo, as a female in the Black Dagger Brotherhood's training program, feels like she has to prove herself to everybody - and she has no interest in being distracted by falling in love. But when Peyton proves to be so much more than a rich playboy, she is forced to confront the tragedy that has broken her soul and closed her off from love.As the two grapple with Novo's past and Peyton's present, another couple must contend with an erotic connection that is unparalleled - and potentially scandalous. Saxton, who has had his heart broken, discovers in himself a deep-seated attraction to Ruhn, a new member of the household. But will the other male explore the connection? Or will he close his mind and his heart to what could be true love . . . and cost Saxton everything?

Orbit

The Two of Swords: Volume Three

K. J. Parker
Authors:
K. J. Parker

World Fantasy Award-winning fantasy author K. J. Parker delivers his most ambitious work yet - the story of a war on a grand scale, told through the eyes of soldiers, politicians, victims and heroes.A soldier with a gift for archery. A woman who kills without care. Two brothers, both unbeatable generals, now fighting for opposing armies. No one in the vast and once glorious United Empire remains untouched by the rift between East and West, and the war has been fought for as long as anyone can remember. Some still survive who know how it was started, but no one knows how it will end. Except, perhaps, the Two of Swords.

Orbit

A War in Crimson Embers

Alex Marshall
Authors:
Alex Marshall

FIVE VILLAINS. ONE MISSION. A WAR AGAINST DEVILS. Warrior queen and pariah Cold Zosia wakes in the ashes of a burning city. Her vengeance has brought her to this - her heroic reputation in tatters, her friends scattered far and wide and her world under threat by unknown forces. General Ji-Hyeon is trapped in the Gates between worlds, while her lover Sullen grapples with a mission from a dead goddess. The barbarian warrior Maroto is held captive by a demonic army that threatens to spill into the Crimson Empire at any moment. The once-legendary Zosia must rally her comrades and old enemies one last time, for a battle that will be greater than any tale ever told of her deeds before. If anyone lives to tell it.

Piatkus

Year One

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts

With one drop of blood, the old world is gone for ever. And in its place, something extraordinary begins...They call it The Doom - a deadly pandemic that starts on a cold New Year's Eve in the Scottish countryside. There's something mysterious about the virus and the way it spreads. As billions fall sick and die, some survivors find themselves invested with strange, unexpected abilities. Lana, a New York chef, has the power to move things and people with her will. Fred can summon light in the darkness. Jonah, a paramedic, sees snatches of the future in those he touches. Katie gives birth to twins, and suspects that she has brought fresh magic into the world, along with new life. But The Doom affects people differently. Along with the light, a dark and terrifying magic will also rise. As the remaining authorities round up the immune and the 'Uncannies' for testing, Lana, Katie and others flee New York in search of a safe haven. The old world is over, and Year One has begun.

Orbit

Blood and Tempest

Jon Skovron
Authors:
Jon Skovron
Hachette Audio

Mageborn

Stephen Aryan
Authors:
Stephen Aryan
Orbit

Malice of Crows

Lila Bowen
Authors:
Lila Bowen
Hachette Audio

A Plague of Giants

Kevin Hearne
Authors:
Kevin Hearne
Orbit

Successor's Promise

Trudi Canavan
Authors:
Trudi Canavan
Orbit

Raising Fire

James Bennett
Authors:
James Bennett
Orbit

An Echo of Things to Come

James Islington
Authors:
James Islington
Little, Brown Young Readers US

How To Be A Supervillain

Michael Fry
Authors:
Michael Fry

Victor Spoil comes from a long line of famous supervillains and he's fully expected to join their ranks one day. But to his family's utter disappointment, Victor doesn't have a single bad-guy bone in his body. He won't run with scissors, he always finishes his peas, and he can't stand to be messy. Hopeless!As a last-ditch effort before they give up and let him be a--gasp!--civilian, Victor's exasperated parents send him to apprentice under a disgraced supervillain called The Stain. This matchup starts off as a complete disaster, but Victor and The Stain eventually find that they have a lot to learn from each other. The stakes get high when Victor is forced to choose between his mentor and his family morals (or lack thereof)...what will the world's nicest bad guy do?In this rollicking middle-grade adventure, Michael Fry's witty text and hysterical artwork combines superhero action with classic fish-out-of-water humor.

Orbit

The Fatal Gate

Ian Irvine
Authors:
Ian Irvine

The cruel Merdrun, the greatest warriors in the void, have invaded Santhenar but their portal failed, leaving them stranded. They're desperately trying to regain contact with the summon stone so they can reopen the portal and begin the slaughter of humanity. Llian, hurled through another portal, sees the summon stone wake and knows the allies have but one chance to destroy the Merdrun - though it will involve an alchemical quest that has always ended in ruin, a mad invasion in untested sky ships with untrained pilots and the most unequal battle in all the Histories.

Piatkus

Born of Vengeance

Sherrilyn Kenyon
Authors:
Sherrilyn Kenyon