Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Search Results for:

Showing 1-15 of 19380 results

How We Change (and 10 Reasons Why We Don't)

How We Change (and 10 Reasons Why We Don't)

A paradigm-shifting, instant classic in the making that challenges our assumptions about change by encouraging us to understand and embrace our resistance to it.

We all have something we want to change about ourselves. But whether it’s quitting smoking, losing weight, or breaking some common bad habit or negative behaviour pattern, we feel a sense of failure when we don’t succeed. This often sets off a cascade of negative feelings and discouragement, making it even harder to change. The voice in our head tells us: Why bother?

Successful change depends far more on understanding why we don’t change, psychotherapist and sociologist Ross Ellenhorn insists. His decades-long career as a pioneer in helping people overcome extreme psychiatric experiences and problematic substance use issues – especially those whom the behavioural healthcare system has failed – especially those whom the mental healthcare system has failed – has lead him to develop an effective, long-term method to achieve transformation, from the simplest shifts to the most profound.

In How We Change, Ellenhorn looks to the evolutionary imperatives driving us. We are wired to double down on the familiar because of what he calls the Fear of Hope – the act of protecting ourselves from further disappointment. He identifies the ’10 Reasons Not to Change’ to help us see why we behave the way we do, making it clear that there is nothing broken inside us – it’s how we’re built. By addressing this little known reality, he gives us hope and helps us work toward the change we seek.

Ellenhorn speaks to the core of our insecurities and fears about ourselves, with a humour and kindness. By turning our judgements about self-destructive behaviours into curious questions about them, he teaches us to think about our actions to discover what we truly want – even if we’re going about getting it in the wrong way. How We Change is a brilliant approach that will forever alter our perspective and help us achieve the transformation we truly seek.
Say Yes to the Duke

Say Yes to the Duke

‘Nothing gets me to a bookstore faster than Eloisa James’ Julia Quinn

The fifth book in New York Times bestselling Eloisa James’s new series, the Wildes of Lindow Castle, p
erfect for fans of Julia Quinn’s Bridgertons and Eloisa’s Desperate Duchesses

Miss Viola Astley is so painfully shy that she’s horrified by the mere idea of dancing with a stranger; her upcoming London debut feels like a nightmare.

So she’s overjoyed to meet handsome, quiet vicar with no interest in polite society – but just when she catches his attention, her reputation is compromised by a duke.

Devin Lucas Augustus Elstan, Duke of Wynter, will stop at nothing to marry Viola, including marrying a woman whom he believes to be in love with another man.

A vicar, no less.

Devin knows he’s no saint, but he’s used to conquest, and he’s determined to win Viola’s heart.

Viola has already said Yes to his proposal, but now he wants her unruly heart . . . and he won’t accept No for an answer.

The Wildes of Lindow Castle series:
Wilde in Love
Too Wilde to Wed
Born to Be Wilde
Say No to the Duke
Say Yes to the Duke

Praise for Eloisa James:

‘Eloisa James is extraordinary Lisa Kleypas

‘Smart heroines, sensual heroes, witty repartee and a penchant for delicious romance
have made James a fan favorite . . . readers will be hooked from beginning to end’ RT Book Reviews

Romance writing does not get much better than thisPeople

Eloisa James writes with a captivating blend of charm, style, and grace that never fails to leave the reader sighing and smiling and falling in love’ Julia Quinn

Charming, romantic and unexpectedly funny’ Kirkus
Maker's Curse

Maker's Curse

‘EPIC, VIVID AND BELIEVABLE’ Guardian on Thief’s Magic

‘IT’S EASY TO SEE WHY TRUDI CANAVAN’S NOVELS SO OFTEN MAKE THE BESTSELLER LISTS’ SFX

International No. 1 bestselling author Trudi Canavan returns with the final novel in the Millennium’s Rule series – her most powerful and thrilling adventure yet.

Rielle is now the Maker, restorer of worlds. She has lost count of the number of worlds she has been sent to save.

Tyen has cast off his old identity. No longer a spy, he now attempts to teach new sorcerers and find ways to counteract the war machines that are spreading throughout the worlds.

But when an old enemy brings news of something worse than magically dead worlds and dangerous sorcerers – a threat unlike anything the worlds have faced before – Rielle and Tyen must reunite if they are to have any chance of saving humanity.

Praise for Millennium’s Rule:

‘Her easy, flowing style makes for effortless reading . . . Delightful worldbuilding . . . Vivid and enjoyable’ SFX

‘A must for fans of Canavan’s previous work and for fantasy fans in general’ Press Association

‘Rielle’s story entrances . . . leaving readers eager for the next two volumes’ Publishers Weekly

‘The world-building is tremendous. The magical system is sophisticated and fascinating’ Striking Keys
Sunnyside Plaza

Sunnyside Plaza

Sally “Sal-Gal” Miyake can’t read but she learns lots of things. Like bricks are made of clay and Vitamin D comes from the sun. Sal-Gal is happy working in the kitchen at Sunnyside Plaza, the community centre she lives in with other adults with developmental disabilities. For Sal-Gal and her friends, Sunnyside is the only real home they’ve ever known.

Everything changes the day a resident unexpectedly dies in his sleep. Sally and her friends are exposed to death and grief for the first time. After a series of devastating events, local detectives Esther Rivas and Lon Bridges begin asking questions. Are the incidents at Sunnyside accidents? Or is something far more disturbing happening?

The suspicious deaths spur the residents into taking the investigation into their own hands.

Sunnyside Plaza is a human story of empowerment, empathy, hope and generosity that shines a light on this very special world.
The Shapes of Spring

The Shapes of Spring

Oval painted eggs hidden in the yard. Circular chicks bouncing in spring meadows. Rectangular teeth on a fluffy white bunny, spreading spring-time cheer to all. Help little ones identify basic shapes while spreading some joy this spring in the next book by author-illustrator Jill Howarth.
Aesop's Fables

Aesop's Fables

Adapted from our timeless collection of Aesop’s best-loved fables-this new board book edition includes beautiful, full-colour illustrations from award-winning artist Don Daily.

Fables to be included:
The Fox and the GrapesThe Lion and the MouseThe Goose Who Laid the Golden EggsThe Tortoise and the HareThe Dog and His ReflectionThe City Mouse and the Country MouseThe Fox and the CrowThe Stag and His AntlersThe Crow and the Pitcher
Breaking Hate

Breaking Hate

At fourteen, Christian Picciolini was recruited by a now notorious skinhead leader and encouraged to fight with the movement to “protect the white race from extinction.” Soon, he had become an expert in racist ideology, a neo-Nazi terror who roamed the neighbourhood, quick to throw fists. By the time he left the movement years later and was able to see clearly for the first time, Picciolini found that his life was in shambles and the nation around him was coming apart.

Told with startling intimacy and compassion, Breaking Hate is the inside story of how extremists have taken the reins of our political discourse and a guide to how everyday Americans can win it back. The forces pushing to polarise and radicalise us are many-from fake news to coded language to Russian trolls to a White House that often aims to inflame rather than to heal. Increasingly, the information with which we construct our world views is segregated by social media stars and advertisers with murky motives to validate our worst impulses. As Picciolini demonstrates, our modern world systematically normalises extremism in such a way that we grow blind to it, only recognising it in the wake of tragedy.

Drawing on profiles of extremists that he works to free from violent ideology and on his own painful history leading and then escaping from an infamous neo-Nazi group, Breaking Hate explains why terrorism and violence have come to characterise our daily lives and why that doesn’t need to be the case.
The Essential Air Fryer Cookbook

The Essential Air Fryer Cookbook

With more than 7 million sold in America, air fryers are the next Instant Pot: the new hot kitchen appliance home cooks have to have–and Bruce Weinstein and Mark Scarbrough are here to help you make the most of it.

Initially conceived as a way of producing crispy “fried” foods with half the calories and fat, the air fryer is more than just a diet trick. It’s also the best, easiest way to cook with the power of a commercial convection oven at home, producing the crispiest roasted vegetables, perfectly-cooked chicken with crunchy skin, and, yes, the most delicious french fries you’ll ever make without digging out a deep fryer.

With more than 300 delicious, unpretentious, and totally customisable recipes for everything from entire meals cooked inside the air fryer to party snacks, healthy sides, and delicious desserts, this book will be the go-to resource for this year’s hottest home cooking appliance.
Ten Feet Tall and Not Quite Bulletproof

Ten Feet Tall and Not Quite Bulletproof

Cameron Hardiman lived a life most young boys could only dream of. Every morning he put on a navy blue police flight suit, grabbed his flight helmet, and prepared to work on the police helicopter. He could be called to anything during a shift, to search for a missing child, to pull an injured driver from a wrecked car, or a dangerous sea rescue.

He saw his fair share of trauma and dealt with it like most coppers would: he quickly put each dangerous job out of his mind as soon as it was over. But one particular rescue in Bass Strait brought about a reckoning – and Cameron was never the same again.

This is the brilliantly told, white-knuckle story of one cop learning every lesson the hard way – and coming to find out that being not quite bulletproof doesn’t mean that you’re not a good cop.
Filter by +

We use cookies to enhance your visit to us. By using our website you agree to our use of these cookies. Find out more.