Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The French Photographer

The French Photographer

From the INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING author of The Paris Seamstress comes a story of courage, family and forgiveness from New York to war-torn Europe.

Perfect for fans of Kate Furnivall, Lucinda Riley, Kate Morton and Gill Paul

‘Divine’
GILL PAUL, bestselling author of The Secret Wife

‘An emotional and sweeping tale’
CHANEL CLEETON, bestselling author of Next Year in Havana

‘A splendid, breathtaking novel, full of mystery and passion…a must read!’
JEANNE MACKIN, author of The Last Collection

********

1942
When Jessica May‘s successful modelling career is abruptly cut short, Vogue send her to war-torn Paris to cover the conflict as a correspondent. She’s courageous and a fast-learner, but of course the military men make her life as difficult as possible.

Three friendships change that: journalist Martha Gellhorn encourages Jess to bend the rules; paratrooper Dan Hallworth shows her how to take pictures and write stories that matter; and a little girl, Victorine, who shows Jess how to open hear heart.

2005
Australian curator D’Arcy Hallworth arrives at a beautiful French chateau to manage a famous collection of photographs. What begins as just another job becomes far more disquieting as D’Arcy uncovers the true identity of the mysterious French photographer…

MORE PRAISE FOR NATASHA LESTER:

‘A fantastically engrossing story. I love it’ KELLY RIMMER
‘A beautiful story in every way’ THE LADY
‘Intrigue, heartbreak… I cannot tell you how much I loved this book’ RACHEL BURTON
‘If you enjoy historical fiction (and even if you don’t) you will love this book’ SALLY HEPWORTH
‘A gorgeously rich and romantic novel’ KATE FORSYTH
‘Stunning . . . Will have you captivated’ LIZ BYRSKI
‘Exquisite!’ VANESSA CARNEVALE
Emotion that will touch your heart and soul deeply’ JODI GIBSON
‘Fascinating, evocative and meticulously researched’ ANNABEL ABBS
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Romance / Historical Romance

On Sale: 26th March 2019

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781405542630

Reviews

A fantastically engrossing story. I loved it.
Kelly Rimmer, on The Paris Seamstress
Mystery and romance are expertly combined into one emotionally charged, unforgettable story.
Publishers Weekly
A beautiful story in every way.
The Lady, on The Paris Seamstress
An intensely powerful, beautiful, emotional and moving story that was so hard to put down... I don't think I am going to forget this story for a long time to come'
Historical Romance Reviews
[A] splendid, breathtaking novel, full of mystery and passion...a must read!
Jeanne Mackin, author of The Last Collection
A gorgeously rich and romantic novel about young women finding their way in the world.
Kate Forsyth, on The Paris Seamstress
Intrigue, heartbreak and, ultimately not one, but two heart stopping love stories. I cannot tell you how much I loved this book and I cannot recommend it enough.
Rachel Burton, on The Paris Seamstress
A fascinating and impeccably researched evocation of the New York fashion world during World War Two... and some divine-sounding dresses!
Gill Paul, on The Paris Seamstress
Lester has often been compared to author Kate Morton but with this novel, Lester's fourth, she has come into her own... What Lester does brilliantly is mingle fiction with fact
The Daily Telegraph (Sydney)
Historical fiction at its best
Who Weekly (Australia)
This rich, memorable novel unfolds beautifully from start to finish.
Publishers Weekly, on The Paris Seamstress
An emotional and sweeping tale set against the backdrop of World War II...Rich detail, compelling characters, and an interwoven dual timeline make this an engrossing read for historical fiction fans
Chanel Cleeton, USA Today bestselling author of Next Year in Havana