We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A Million Aunties

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780349702520

Price: £14.99

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘An elegantly written and emotionally engrossing work of fiction.’ Bernardine Evaristo, Booker Prize-winning author of Girl, Woman, Other

An emotional, tender and funny novel from award-winning author Alecia McKenzie that asks, what does family mean to you?

Seeking solitude after a personal tragedy upends his world, artist Chris travels to his mother’s homeland, Jamaica, in a bid to find peace. He expects to spend his time painting alone, coming to terms with his loss and the fractured relationship with his father. Instead, he discovers a new extended and complicated ‘family’ with their own startling stories. Can they help him to become whole again?

Told from different points of view, this is an utterly compelling and deeply relatable novel from the winner of two Commonwealth literary prizes. Fans of Girl, Woman, Other and The Vanishing Half will love this book about friendship, community, chosen family, and healing after trauma.

What readers are saying about A Million Aunties:

‘This is a wonderful story about the families we’re given and those we make for ourselves. A life-affirming read.’ Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City

‘This warm and wise story celebrates the importance of community and belonging.’ Woman’s Own

‘A tender novel.’ Hello

‘Have you ever not wanted a book to end? Were disappointed that the characters are gone from your life?… Makes you yearn for more.’ New York Journal of Books

‘An absolute delight!… Trust me – if you enjoy character-driven, multicultural fiction, you’re going to want to get your hands on this book ASAP.’ Reader review

Emotional, enthralling and heartfelt… A story of loss and the infinite types of love.’ Woman’s World

Pulls you in and holds you right till the end. It’s strongly written with a delicate touch.’ New West Indian Guide

Tender… An emotionally resonant ode to adopted families and community resilience.’ New York Times

‘This big-hearted narrative of love, loss and family is handled with grace and beauty.’ Publishers Weekly

‘A beautiful book for anyone who knows there is more to family than blood relations.’ Book Culture

What's Inside

Read More Read Less