We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘An elegantly written and emotionally engrossing work of fiction.’ Bernardine Evaristo, Booker Prize-winning author of Girl, Woman, Other

An emotional, tender and funny novel from award-winning author Alecia McKenzie that asks, what does family mean to you?

Seeking solitude after a personal tragedy upends his world, artist Chris travels to his mother’s homeland, Jamaica, in a bid to find peace. He expects to spend his time painting in solitude, coming to terms with his loss and the fractured relationship with his father. Instead, he discovers a new extended and complicated ‘family’ with their own startling stories. Can they help him to become whole again?

Told from different points of view, this is an utterly compelling and deeply relatable novel from the winner of two Commonwealth literary prizes. Fans of Girl, Woman, Other and The Vanishing Half will love this book about friendship, community, chosen family, and healing after trauma.

What readers are saying about A Million Aunties:

‘Have you ever not wanted a book to end? Were disappointed that the characters are gone from your life?… Makes you yearn for more.’ New York Journal of Books

‘An absolute delight!… Trust me – if you enjoy character-driven, multicultural fiction, you’re going to want to get your hands on this book ASAP.’ Reader review

Emotional, enthralling and heartfelt… A story of loss and the infinite types of love.”
Woman’s World

Pulls you in and holds you right till the end. It’s strongly written with a delicate touch.’ New West Indian Guide

Tender… An emotionally resonant ode to adopted families and community resilience.’ New York Times Book Review, Editors’ Choice

‘This big-hearted narrative of love, loss and family is handled with grace and beauty.’ Publishers Weekly

‘A beautiful book for anyone who knows there is more to family than blood relations.’ Book Culture

Reviews

Alecia McKenzie's tender new novel is an emotionally resonant ode to adopted families and community resilience
New York Times
Have you ever not wanted a book to end? Were disappointed that the characters are gone from your life? A Million Aunties by Alecia McKenzie is one such novel that makes you yearn for more
New York Journal of Books
Under her deceptively revealing title, Alecia McKenzie recreates Jamaica's enduring traditions in fresh and illuminating ways that make this one of the most avant garde fictions I have read in a long time
Curdella Forbes, Author of A Tall History of Sugar
This big-hearted narrative of love, loss and family is handled with grace and beauty
Publishers Weekly
A Million Aunties is an elegantly written and emotionally engrossing work of fiction
Bernardine Evaristo, Booker Prize-winning author of Girl, Woman, Other
The beauty and brilliance of Blackness in the diaspora take centerstage in Alecia McKenzie's A Million Aunties, showcasing the intricate textures of identity, place, and connection to survive loss
Colors of Influence
A beautiful book for anyone who knows there is more to family than blood relations
Book Culture
This is a wonderful story about the families we're given and those we make for ourselves. I found A Million Aunties a soothing, life-affirming read.
Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City
A wide-ranging novel told in several voices that moves between New York, rural Jamaica, and Paris. Painting is at the heart of the book but so is family, love, heartbreak, and loss. The story pulls you in and holds you right till the end. It's strongly written with a delicate touch
New West Indian Guide