Mark Hardie - Truly Evil - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751568622
    • Publication date:10 Aug 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780751562118
    • Publication date:10 Aug 2017
Books in this series

Truly Evil

When every suspect has a secret, how do you find the killer?

By Mark Hardie
Read by Rupert Holliday-Evans

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

DS Pearson and DC Russell return to the shores of Southend-on-Sea to investigate the murder of a young woman, which turns out to have unexpected links with long-buried case. Perfect for fans of Peter James.

A gripping thriller that brings together the secrets of the past and the crimes of the present in a twist that will leave you gasping - perfect for fans Patricia Gibney's The Missing Ones and Rachel Abbott's The Sixth Window.

A BRUTAL ACT OF VIOLENCE
A body has been found dumped on the shores of Southend. Already under scrutiny following the murder of a corrupt cop, DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell of the Essex Major Investigation Team are tasked with solving the case quickly, and quietly.

A WOMAN TOO SCARED TO TALK
When the victim's identity is revealed, the list of suspects begins to grow: a young woman knows more than she's letting on, but is she really involved? Or there's the estranged father, who's been trying to find the victim for months. One thing is clear: no one is telling the whole truth.

A KILLER BACK FOR MORE?
Then a shocking tragedy leads Pearson to a similar murder case from decades before. Is it a coincidence, or is history repeating itself? As Pearson and Russell search for the answer, they find themselves drawn into a terrifying cover-up going back fifty years...

If you like Peter James, Patricia Gibney, Rachel Abbott, Robert Dugoni, LJ Ross, Angela Marsons or Ed James, then you will love this stylish and gripping crime debut.

****

Praise for Mark Hardie:

'Immensely impressive' The Times

'The investigation into a copper's dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debut' Sunday Times

'Emotional, intelligent, sensual and with such a strong voice, Burned and Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success' Harry Illingworth (Goldsboro Books)

'I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book and I would recommend it to anybody. I can't wait to read more investigations led by DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell' Amanda Oughton (Ginger Book Geek)

'The story is easy to follow without being too simple, and the novel really manages to evoke a sense of atmosphere and reality within its pages. I didn't find myself becoming distracted whilst reading at all, and raced through it in hours. I will certainly be reading any future novels, particularly in this series which I wholeheartedly enjoyed' Laura Naz (Snazzy Books)

Biographical Notes

Mark Hardie began writing full time after completely losing his eyesight in 2002. He has completed a creative writing course and an advanced creative writing course at the Open University, both with distinction.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405537643
  • Publication date: 10 Aug 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hachette Audio
Sphere

The Three Beths

Jeff Abbott
Authors:
Jeff Abbott
Constable

The Very Last Gambado

Jonathan Gash
Authors:
Jonathan Gash

In the world of antiques there is one great remaining scam. The very last gambado. Robbing the British Museum.Of course, the murder, mayhem and double crossing is only going to happen in a film. Or is it? After all, Lovejoy has been employed on the set as antiques advisor.Praise for Jonathan Gash: 'Irrepressible... bounteous entertainment' Sunday Times'Lovejoy is up to his old tricks again... compelling stuff' Today'Unabashedly amoral, witty and crammed with treasures of every sort... Pure, unadulterated Lovejoy' Publishers Weekly

Constable

Jade Woman

Jonathan Gash
Authors:
Jonathan Gash

Hong Kong - one of the world's most exciting and colourful cities.The Triads - violent, secretive and totally ruthless, their Hong Kong is a city no tourist dare visit. The Jade Women - famed for their beauty, they possess charms few men can resist...Which proves to be a highly combustible mix for Lovejoy - East Anglia's hottest antique dealer - on the run from some sticky problems back home. But for someone with no money and no passport, Hong Kong can be an alarmingly dangerous place. Especially when the Triads get involved and Lovejoy finds himself up against murder - oriental style.Praise for Jonathan Gash: 'Irrepressible... bounteous entertainment' Sunday Times'Lovejoy is up to his old tricks again... compelling stuff' Today'Unabashedly amoral, witty and crammed with treasures of every sort... Pure, unadulterated Lovejoy' Publishers Weekly

Constable

Moonspender

Jonathan Gash
Authors:
Jonathan Gash

Lovejoy doesn't mind making an occasional fake... But the wholesale theft of national treasures is not something he can go along with. So when 'moonspenders' - antiques poachers with hi-tech electronic metal detectors - start digging up the ancient buried treasures of his native East Anglia, it's time for Lovejoy to take a stand. As usual, there are some surprising complications, including a local gangster who insists that Lovejoy appear on a TV game show, a few suspicious deaths, a wedding, some local witches, and several women who can't resist Lovejoy's charms. But then, who can?Praise for Jonathan Gash: 'Irrepressible... bounteous entertainment' Sunday Times'Lovejoy is up to his old tricks again... compelling stuff' Today'Unabashedly amoral, witty and crammed with treasures of every sort... Pure, unadulterated Lovejoy' Publishers Weekly

Sphere

Cold Blood

Theresa Monsour
Authors:
Theresa Monsour
Sphere

Clean Cut

Theresa Monsour
Authors:
Theresa Monsour

Paris Murphy, half-Irish, half-Lebanese, is extremely good at her job, though far less successful in her private life, which is a mess: she's got an on/off marriage to an ER doctor, a looming affair with a colleague in the forensic department and a mother who always calls at the worst possible moment. Tracking down killers is a far more attractive proposition than tidying up her own affairs and her latest investigation is gripping.The murder of a prostitute in St Paul's is the latest in a series of killings, and the police are sure they know who they are after - a successful plastic surgeon, scion of a powerful local family - and it is up to Paris and her partner, Gabe, to prove their case. But hard evidence is hard to come by, until Paris herself attracts the killer's attention ...

Sphere

Icarus

Russell Andrews
Authors:
Russell Andrews
Sphere

The Asset

Shane Kuhn
Authors:
Shane Kuhn

In the dream, Belle was always the same age as when she died...Fourteen years ago, the final words Kennedy ever spoke to his sister were in anger. That day was September 11th 2001, and Belle died when her plane hit the North Tower of the World Trade Center. Since then, Kennedy has dedicated his life to airline security. He knows more about planes than the airport authority, a fact which doesn't go unnoticed by the CIA. After kidnapping him, Kennedy is inducted by the Agency into a programme called Red Carpet.Now Kennedy is a civilian asset, an ordinary man working with extraordinary people to stop the world collapsing around him, just as it did for his sister so many years before.

Sphere

Burned and Broken

Mark Hardie
Authors:
Mark Hardie
C & R Crime

The Shortest Way to Hades

Sarah Caudwell
Authors:
Sarah Caudwell

Everyone in the family had decided that changing the trust arrangement seemed the perfect way to avoid three million in taxes. However, when dreary cousin Deirdre has a mysterious accident after demanding a fee for her signature, the young London barristers handling the trust seek advice from mentor Hilary Tamar.Julia believes it's murder; whilst Hilary wonders why the raven-haired heir did not die. But with more deadly accidents occurring, it is Hilary who is given the perilous quest of unmasking the killer.

C & R Crime

Death of a Valentine

M.C. Beaton
Authors:
M.C. Beaton

David Dickinson

David Dickinson was born in Dublin. With an honours degree in Classics from Cambridge, David Dickinson joined the BBC, where he became editor of Newsnight and Panorama, as well as series editor for Monarchy, a three-part programme on the British royal family.

David Roberts

David Roberts worked in publishing for over thirty years, most recently as a director, before devoting his energies to writing full time. He is married and divides his time between London and Wiltshire.

Diane Janes

DIANE JANES grew up in Birmingham and has lived in the north of England for the last twenty years. Between marrying and raising two children she worked in seemingly every field, from mortgages to engineering, until she gave up the day job to write full time. This resulted in two shortlistings for the CWA Debut Dagger and subsequent publication. The Pull of the Moon was shortlisted for the 2010 CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger.

Emlyn Rees

EMLYN REES spent his early twenties traveling around Asia and mixing cocktails in London for the likes of Sylvester Stallone and Princess Anne. He published his first crime novel aged twenty-five, his second a year later, and then co-wrote seven comedies with Josie Lloyd, including the Sunday Times bestseller Come Together. He is the editor of British and American paperback crime fiction imprint, Exhibit A, and lives on and around Brighton beach with Joanna Rees, aka Josie Lloyd.

Erica Spindler

Raised in Rockford, Illinois, New York Times bestselling author Erica Spindler went to university in New Orleans, where she now lives with her husband and two sons. She has won several awards for her fiction in the US and her books have been turned into graphic novels and a daytime drama in Japan.For more information about Erica visit her website www.ericaspindler.com or follow her on Twitter @EricaSpindler.

G.M. Malliet

G M Malliet attended Oxford University and holds a graduate degree from the University of Cambridge. She now lives in the US.

Garry Douglas Kilworth

Garry Kilworth was raised in South Yemen, the son of an RAF sergeant, and later served in the RAF himself. He was most recently with the British Army in Hong Kong, where he wrote for the South China Morning Post. He has won numerous awards for both his children's and adult fiction.Garry Douglas Kilworth was raised in South Yemen, the son of an RAF sergeant. He served fifteen years in the RAF himself, and was with the British Army in Hong Kong, where he wrote for the South China Morning Post. He now spends his time between Suffolk and Spain, writing full time, and has won many awards.

Helen Black

HELEN BLACK grew up in Pontefract, West Yorkshire. At 18 she went to Hull university and left three years later with a tattoo on her shoulder and a law degree. She became a lawyer in Peckham and soon had a loyal following of teenagers needing legal advice and bus fares. She ended up working in Luton, working predominantly for children going through the care system.Helen is married to a long-suffering lawyer and is the mother of young twins which take up 90% of her waking hours.

Iain Banks

Iain Banks came to widespread and controversial public notice with the publication of his first novel, THE WASP FACTORY, in 1984. He gained enormous popular and critical acclaim for both his mainstream and his science fiction novels. Iain Banks died in June 2013.