Ira Levin - Rosemary's Baby - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781849015882
    • Publication date:23 Jun 2011
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781849017497
    • Publication date:23 Jun 2011

Rosemary's Baby

By Ira Levin
Read by Katherine Fenton

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Rosemary Woodhouse and her struggling actor-husband, Guy, move into the Bramford, an old New York City apartment building with an ominous reputation and only elderly residents. Neighbours Roman and Minnie Castavet soon come nosing around to welcome them; despite Rosemary's reservations about their eccentricity and the weird noises that she keeps hearing, her husband starts spending time with them. Shortly after Guy lands a plum Broadway role, Rosemary becomes pregnant, and the Castavets start taking a special interest in her welfare.

As the sickened Rosemary becomes increasingly isolated, she begins to suspect that the Castavets' circle is not what it seems.

Biographical Notes

Ira Levin is the author of The Boys from Brazil, Sliver, The Stepford Wives, and other bestsellers, as well as Broadway's longest-running thriller, Deathtrap. He has won two Edgar Awards from the Mystery Writers of America and the Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement from the Horror Writers Association. He died in 2007.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405537612
  • Publication date: 26 Jan 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hachette Audio
Sphere

The Next Person You Meet in Heaven

Mitch Albom
Authors:
Mitch Albom

Fifteen years ago, in Mitch Albom's beloved novel, The Five People You Meet in Heaven, the world fell in love with Eddie, a grizzled war veteran- turned-amusement park mechanic who died saving the life of a young girl named Annie. Eddie's journey to heaven taught him that every life matters. Now, in this magical sequel, Mitch Albom reveals Annie's story.The accident that killed Eddie left an indelible mark on Annie. It took her left hand, which needed to be surgically reattached. Injured, scarred, and unable to remember why, Annie's life is forever changed by a guilt-ravaged mother who whisks her away from the world she knew. Bullied by her peers and haunted by something she cannot recall, Annie struggles to find acceptance as she grows. When, as a young woman, she reconnects with Paulo, her childhood love, she believes she has finally found happiness. As the novel opens, Annie is marrying Paulo. But when her wedding night day ends in an unimaginable accident, Annie finds herself on her own heavenly journey - and an inevitable reunion with Eddie, one of the five people who will show her how her life mattered in ways she could not have fathomed.Poignant and beautiful, filled with unexpected twists, The Next Person You Meet in Heaven reminds us that not only does every life matter, but that every ending is also a beginning - we only need to open our eyes to see it.

Abacus

Less

Andrew Sean Greer
Authors:
Andrew Sean Greer

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 A New York Times Notable Book of 2017A Washington Post Top Ten Book of 2017A San Francisco Chronicle Top Ten Book of 2017Longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence, the Lambda Award and the California Book Award'I recommend it with my whole heart' Ann Patchett'I could not love Less more' Ron Charles, Washington PostLess is the story of a 49-year-old writer, Arthur Less, who learns that his former boyfriend is about to get married. To avoid the wedding and heartbreak, he decides to embark on a trip around the world, accepting invitations to a series of half-baked lectures and literary events. From almost falling in love in Paris, almost falling to death in Berlin, to booking himself as the (only) writer on a residency in India, and an encounter in a desert with the last person on earth he wishes to see, Less is a novel about missteps, misunderstanding and mistakes.'You will sob little tears of joy' Nell Zink'Marvellously, unexpectedly, endearingly funny' Gary Shteyngart

Fleet

Saints for all Occasions

J. Courtney Sullivan
Authors:
J. Courtney Sullivan
Virago

A Boy in Winter

Rachel Seiffert
Authors:
Rachel Seiffert
Abacus

The Lie of the Land

Amanda Craig
Authors:
Amanda Craig
Corsair

Jack the Ripper: Case Closed

Gyles Brandreth
Authors:
Gyles Brandreth
Little, Brown

Little Fires Everywhere

Celeste Ng
Authors:
Celeste Ng
Little, Brown

The House of Unexpected Sisters

Alexander McCall Smith
Authors:
Alexander McCall Smith
Fleet

The Burning Girl

Claire Messud
Authors:
Claire Messud
Sphere

Acts of Vanishing

Fredrik T. Olsson
Authors:
Fredrik T. Olsson
Little, Brown

Insidious Intent

Val McDermid
Authors:
Val McDermid
Sphere

Before Evil

Alex Kava
Authors:
Alex Kava

'O'Dell could be Reacher's long-lost twin' LEE CHILDSpecial Agent Maggie O'Dell doesn't need to set foot at a crime scene to catch a serial killer. From her small Quantico office, she's profiled criminals using just Polaroids and faxed copies of evidence from homicide detectives across the country.Then comes Albert Stucky . . . and nothing will ever be the same.Stucky is a sadistic madman who places pieces of his victims in takeout containers and leaves them for innocent bystanders to find. He enjoys his twisted games as much as he enjoys the kill. And when Maggie is tasked with profiling his murders, Stucky is only too happy to rise to the challenge:'Let the chase begin.'New York Times bestselling author Alex Kava returns with a heart-stopping new thriller featuring special agent Maggie O'Dell, who will face one of the most terrifying serial killers of her career.'Rip-roaring action that only builds in intensity with every page' TESS GERRITSEN

Sphere

All That She Can See

Carrie Hope Fletcher
Authors:
Carrie Hope Fletcher

THE TOP THREE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING NOVEL FROM CARRIE HOPE FLETCHER, THE STAR OF THE ADDAMS FAMILY MUSICAL! A story of love, food and a little bit of magic, All That She Can See is an enchanting and beautiful novel that's guaranteed to be the most magical story you'll read all year. Feelings are part of life - feelings are life. If you take away what people feel, you take away anything meaningful. Wanting to diminish the evil in this world is a good cause, one I have fought for the majority of my life, but not like this . . . Cherry has a hidden talent. She can see things other people can't and she decided a long time ago to use this skill to help others. As far as the rest of the town is concerned she's simply the kind-hearted young woman who runs the local bakery, but in private she uses her gift to add something special to her cakes so that after just one mouthful the townspeople start to feel better about their lives. They don't know why they're drawn to Cherry's bakery - they just know that they're safe there and that's how Cherry likes it. She can help them in secret and no one will ever need to know the truth behind her gift. And then Chase turns up and threatens to undo all the good Cherry has done. Because it turns out she's not the only one who can see what she sees . . . #AllThatSheCanSee

Corsair

Soot

Andrew Martin
Authors:
Andrew Martin

'An enticing and clever book, inside and out' Book Of The Month - The TimesYork, 1799. In August, an artist is found murdered in his home - stabbed with a pair of scissors. Matthew Harvey's death is much discussed in the city. The scissors are among the tools of his trade - for Harvey is a renowned cutter and painter of shades, or silhouettes, the latest fashion in portraiture. It soon becomes clear that the murderer must be one of the artist's last sitters, and the people depicted in the final six shades made by him become the key suspects. But who are they? And where are they to be found?Later, in November, a clever but impoverished young gentleman called Fletcher Rigge languishes in the debtor's prison, until a letter arrives containing a bizarre proposition from the son of the murdered man. Rigge is to be released for one month, but in that time, he must find the killer. If he fails, he will be incarcerated again, possibly for life.And so, with everything at stake, and equipped only with copies of the distinctive silhouettes, Fletcher Rigge begins his search across the snow-covered city, and enters a world of shadows...

Constable

The Killing Connection

T.F. Muir
Authors:
T.F. Muir
Piatkus

Come Sundown

Nora Roberts
Authors:
Nora Roberts
Virago

The Hidden Room

Stella Duffy
Authors:
Stella Duffy
Sphere

The Garden of Small Beginnings

Abbi Waxman
Authors:
Abbi Waxman

'A feel-good, hate-to-put-it-down, kind of book!' ChickLit CentralLife is about to blossom for Lili . . . In the three years since her husband died in a car accident, Lili has just about managed to resume her day-to-day life as a single mother and successful illustrator. She can now get her two girls to school, show up to work and watch TV like a pro. But there's still the small problem of the aching loss she feels inside.When she's commissioned to illustrate a series of horticultural books, and signs up to a weekly gardening class, finally her life starts to bloom again. The class provides Lili with a new network of unexpected friends - friends with their own heartaches and problems - and, maybe, another chance at love . . .'Like a conversation with the funniest person you know - just lovely' Katie Fforde_____Fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Diamond and Wilde Like Me will fall in love with this gloriously funny and uplifting novel about friendship, love and grabbing life by the roots.'A cosy, life-affirming read' Cathy Hopkins'Witty, uplifting and unashamedly honest' Heidi Swain'Funny and uplifting' Good Housekeeping'Filled with characters you'll love and wish you lived next door to in real life' Bustle'Waxman's voice is witty, emotional and often profound' InStyle'A quirky, funny, and deeply thoughtful book' hellogiggles'Abbi Waxman is both irreverent and thoughtful' Emily Giffin, author of First Comes Love

Little, Brown

The Stars are Fire

Anita Shreve
Authors:
Anita Shreve
Corsair

Tell Me How This Ends Well

David Samuel Levinson
Authors:
David Samuel Levinson