Charlie Connelly - Attention All Shipping - Little, Brown Book Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349116037
    • Publication date:05 May 2005
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780748131877
    • Publication date:02 Jun 2011

Attention All Shipping

A Journey Round the Shipping Forecast

By Charlie Connelly
Read by Alex Jennings

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

*Abridged on 3 CDs
* Running time: over 3 1/2 hours

This solemn, rhythmic intonation of the shipping forecast on BBC radio is as familiar as the sound of Big Ben chiming the hour. Since its first broadcast in the 1920s it has inspired poems, songs and novels in addition to its intended objective of warning generations of seafarers of impending storms and gales.
Sitting at home listening to the shipping forecast can be a cosily reassuring experience. There's no danger of a westerly gale eight, veering southwesterly increasing nine later (visibility poor) gusting through your average suburban living room, blowing the Sunday papers all over the place and startling the cat.
Yet familiar though the sea areas are by name, few people give much thought to where they are or what they contain. In ATTENTION ALL SHIPPING Charlie Connelly wittily explores the places behind the voice, those mysterious regions whose names seem often to bear no relation to conventional geography. Armchair travel will never be the same again.

Biographical Notes

Freelance writer and Charlton FC supporter, Charlie Connelly has already proved his quirky credentials by writing a very funny book about Liechtenstein. ATTENTION ALL SHIPPING has cemented these credentials and delighted his rapidly growing readership.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781405503105
  • Publication date: 19 May 2005
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hachette Audio
An engaging and often very funny book — SUNDAY TIMES
A wonderfully eccentric study — OBSERVER
One of those simple yet brilliant ideas — DAILY MAIL
If listening to 'Sailing By — to the bitter end every night is the surest sign of a Radio 4 addict, then buying Charlie Connelly’s new travel book runs it close’
Constable

To Venice with Love

Philip Gwynne Jones
Authors:
Philip Gwynne Jones
Hachette Books

See You Again in Pyongyang

Travis Jeppesen
Authors:
Travis Jeppesen
Sphere

The Zanzibar Wife

Deborah Rodriguez
Authors:
Deborah Rodriguez

'A lovely novel of female friendship and support when East meets West, of magic and things we may not understand, of hope, of comfort, and in the background the enticing salty, fishy, spicy aromas of Zanzibar.' - Dinah Jeffries'Heart-warming and poignant. A story of female courage and friendship sprinkled with magic - what's not to love?' - Rosanna Ley'a compelling account of three very different women, each challenged by circumstances that reveal the inner conflict in their lives, and their refusal to conform. An endearing read.' - Vaseem KhanA beautiful, exotic, sweeping, emotional story, perfect for fans of The Little Coffee Shop of KabulAn internationally best selling author****************Oman. The ancient land of frankincense, wind-swept deserts, craggy mountaintops and turquoise seas. Into this magical nation come three remarkable women, each facing a crossroad in her life. Rachel, an American war photographer, who is struggling to shed the trauma of her career. Now she is headed to Oman to cover quite a different story - for a glossy travel magazine. Ariana Khan, a bubbly English woman who has rashly volunteered as Rachel's 'fixer', a job she's never heard of in a country she knows nothing about. And Miza, a young woman living far from her beloved homeland of Zanzibar. As the second wife of Tariq, she remains a secret from his terrifying 'other' wife, Maryam. Until the day that Tariq fails to come home...As the three women journey together across this extraordinary land, they quickly learn that, in Oman, things aren't always what they appear to be...The Zanzibar Wife is a bewitching story of clashing cultures and conflicting beliefs, of secrets and revelations, of mystery and magic, by the author of the beloved international bestseller The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul.'As if Maeve Binchy had written 'The Kite Runner' - Kirkus Reviews

Sphere

Van Life

Foster Huntington
Authors:
Foster Huntington

'Beautifully illustrated with photos of retro vans and their owners, this collection is from the creator of the hashtag #vanlife, and is as much about exploring nature as it is about what 'rig' you drive' The Pool More and more people are taking a break from conventional life for the freedom and adventure of being on the road and living in a converted vintage truck, camper, or van.One of these vandwellers, Foster Huntington, created the #vanlife hashtag as he chronicled his adventures living in a van while driving across country. He tapped into a community of like-minded individuals looking to explore nature at their own pace. VAN LIFE showcases the best crowd-sourced photographs of stunning beaches, misty forests, and rocky mountains from Foster's tumblr account, many of which have never been posted.

Robinson

Moscow

Laurence Kelly
Authors:
Laurence Kelly
Robinson

Istanbul

Laurence Kelly
Authors:
Laurence Kelly
Black Dog & Leventhal

Atlas of Lost Cities

Aude de Tocqueville
Authors:
Aude de Tocqueville
Black Dog & Leventhal

Atlas of Cursed Places

Olivier Le Carrer
Authors:
Olivier Le Carrer
Corsair

Carsick

John Waters
Authors:
John Waters

John Waters is putting his life on the line. Armed with wit, a pencil-thin mustache, and a cardboard sign that reads 'I'm Not Psycho', he hitchhikes across America from Baltimore to San Francisco, braving lonely roads and treacherous drivers. But who should we be more worried about, the delicate film director with genteel manners or the unsuspecting travelers transporting the Pope of Trash?Along the way, Waters fantasises about the best and worst possible scenarios: a friendly drug dealer hands over piles of cash to finance films with no questions asked, a demolition-derby driver makes a filthy sexual request in the middle of a race, a gun-toting drunk terrorizes and holds him hostage, and a Kansas vice squad entraps and throws him in jail. So what really happens when this cult legend sticks out his thumb and faces the open road? Laced with subversive humour and warm intelligence, Carsick is an unforgettable vacation with a wickedly funny companion - and a celebration of America's weird, astonishing, and generous citizens.

Constable

The Bookshop That Floated Away

Sarah Henshaw
Authors:
Sarah Henshaw

In early 2009 a strange sort of business plan landed on the desk of a pinstriped bank manager. It had pictures of rats and moles in rowing boats and archaic quotes about Cleopatra's barge. It asked for a £30,000 loan to buy a black-and-cream narrowboat and a small hoard of books. The manager said no. Nevertheless The Book Barge opened six months later and enjoyed the happy patronage of local readers, a growing number of eccentrics and the odd moorhen.Business wasn't always easy, so one May morning owner Sarah Henshaw set off for six months chugging the length and breadth of the country. Books were bartered for food, accommodation, bathroom facilities and cake. During the journey, the barge suffered a flooded engine, went out to sea, got banned from Bristol and, on several occasions, floated away altogether. This account follows the ebbs and flows of Sarah's journey as she sought to make her vision of a floating bookshop a reality.

Abacus

Bring Me Sunshine

Charlie Connelly
Authors:
Charlie Connelly
Abacus

Rolling Through The Isles

Ted Simon
Authors:
Ted Simon
Sphere

Extreme Frontiers

Charley Boorman
Authors:
Charley Boorman

Charley Boorman is back on his bike exploring the world's second largest country - home to some of the most stunning and challenging terrain known to man. Canada is a country of extremes, and Charley knows all about pushing the limits. He goes dirt biking in New Brunswick, dives through old shipwrecks in Tobermory and rides along Butch Cassidy's old Outlaw Trail. He also meets a fascinating mix of people on his journey. As he heads across Canada, he plays ice hockey with a legend of the game; spends a day as a Mountie cadet and nearly meets a ghost in Winnipeg . . . Written with Charley's trademark enthusiasm and humour, Extreme Frontiers is fast-paced, hugely entertaining and packed with adventure (and rather a lot of mosquitoes).

Abacus

A Mountain In Tibet

Charles Allen
Authors:
Charles Allen
Sphere

A Ride In The Neon Sun

Josie Dew
Authors:
Josie Dew

It's not easy landing unprepared in a country like Japan. The eccentricities of the calendar, the indecipherable postal system, not to mention the alien alphabet, language and culture, have all to be confronted before the disorientated traveller can feel at ease. Trying to ride a bicycle through the streets of one of the most congested cities in the world would seem to compound your problems. For Josie Dew, however, with over 200,000 miles already clocked up in the saddle few things could be more challenging - or for the reader of A RIDE IN THE NEON SUN, more wonderfully entertaining. From Kawasaki to Kagoshima, Odawara to Okinawa, Josie discovered a nation rich in dazzling contrasts. The neon and concrete were there in greater abundance than even she had imagined, but so too were bottomless baths, love burgers, long-tailed cocks, musical toilet rolls, oriental Elvises, cardboard police and a sense of fun belying the population's rigourous work ethic. Far from being the reserved race that she had heard about, the Japanese welcomed her into their homes with bountiful smiles and bows - and skin-scorching baths.

Sphere

Billy Connolly's Route 66

Billy Connolly
Authors:
Billy Connolly
Black Dog & Leventhal

Cuba

Pierre Hausherr, Francois Missen
Authors:
Pierre Hausherr, Francois Missen
Abacus

In Search Of England

Roy Hattersley
Authors:
Roy Hattersley

Passionate, affectionate and indefatigably curious, In Search of England makes a journey around the English countryside and character. England is the most various of countries; within its borders, life changes mile on mile. Roy Hattersley celebrates crumbling churches and serene Victorian architecture, magnificent hills and wind-whipped coast, our music, theatre and local customs, and, above all, the quirky good humour and resilience of England's denizens. In Search of England is an unapologetic love story, a paean of praise for all the fascinating variety and flavour of England's places and people.

Abacus

In Search Of Elvis

Charlie Connelly
Authors:
Charlie Connelly
Abacus

Stamping Grounds

Charlie Connelly
Authors:
Charlie Connelly