Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Permission

Permission


ELLE ONES TO WATCH 2019

‘Beautifully written, mysterious and compelling’ JANET FITCH

‘If Joan Didion had written about the BDSM community in LA it may have felt a bit like Permission’ LIT HUB MUST READ BOOKS OF 2019

‘Stunning. Beautifully written, and a delicate portrayal of multiple slippery aspects of sexuality’ STOYA

‘Formidable in its elegance and fierce in its simplicity, Saskia Vogel’s writing leaves the reader stunned and moved and wanting more.
ANDREA SCRIMA, AUTHOR OF A LESSER DAY

‘[A] quietly transgressive tale of desire, love, loneliness, restraint and connection. The writing is fresh and minimal and the characters full of longing. A blistering debut for fans of Mary Gaitskill and A. M. Homes’
SARAH JANE ROBERTS

‘Wonderful’
JENNIFER CROFT, MAN BOOKER INTERNATIONAL PRIZE WINNING TRANSLATOR, 2018

‘Permission excavates the uncertain landscape that lies just beneath the Hollywood dream factory we think we all know and against all odds finds something sacred there.’
RYAN RUBY, AUTHOR OF THE ZERO AND THE ONE

*
*
*

A raw, fresh, haunting, emotionally and sexually honest literary debut.

When Echo’s father gets swept away by a freak current off the Los Angeles coast, she finds herself sinking into a complete state of paralysis. With no true friends and a troubled relationship with her mother, the failed young actress attempts to seek solace in the best way she knows: by losing herself in the lives of strangers. When by chance Echo meets a dominatrix called Orly, it finally feels like she might have found someone who will be nurturing and treasure her for who she is. But Orly’s fifty-something houseboy, Piggy, isn’t quite ready to let someone else share the intimate relationship he’s worked so hard to form with his mistress.

Permission is a love story about people who are sick with dreams and expectations and turn to the erotic for comfort and cure. As they stumble through the landscape of desire, they are in a desperate search for the answer to that sacred question: how do I want to be loved?
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 7th March 2019

Price: £14.99

ISBN-13: 9780349700403

Reviews

This [is] dreamy, whip-smart first fiction
Oprah Magazine
Vogel's writing is beauty in motion. From capturing a humiliating date with a predatory agent to what attracts people to BDSM, this is an addictive read you'll finish within hours
Stylist
A story about grief, loneliness and sadomasochism . . . it challenges any preconceptions you might have about BDSM in literature . . . Permission is sometimes a dark, even gruelling, read. But it possesses an unshowy beauty, too, suggesting Vogel is a gleaming new talent
Arifa Akbar, Observer (New Review)
Formidable in its elegance and fierce in its simplicity, Saskia Vogel's writing leaves the reader stunned and moved and wanting more
Andrea Scrima, author of A Lesser Day
[Permission] delicately explores all the things that are part and parcel of our sexual lives: intimacy, community, desire, alienation, consent and power
HUCK Magazine
Vogel's portrayal of sexual kink is particularly refreshing: rather than pruriently gorging on catharsis, Permission foregrounds the emotional intimacy - built on constancy, trust and compassion - that can flourish in the most unconventional relationships
Guardian
Beautifully written, mysterious and compelling
Janet Fitch
Permission conveys [Echo's] preoccupation with desire through visceral prose that imbues everything - from the unstable California landscape to the banalities of affluent suburbia - with sensuality
Natasha Young, The Believer
The debut literary novel from a journalist and translator, and it deals with sexual politics, power and consent in a subtle and convincing way . . . Vogel negotiates her story with a real sense of empathy and understanding for all her characters. In precise, elegant prose, she delivers an alternative feminist love story for the modern age
Big Issue
Permission excavates the uncertain landscape that lies just beneath the Hollywood dream factory we think we all know and against all odds finds something sacred there
Ryan Ruby, author of The Zero and the One

Events