Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Little Paris Bookshop

The Little Paris Bookshop

On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop; or rather a ‘literary apothecary’, for this bookseller possesses a rare gift for sensing which books will soothe the troubled souls of his customers.

The only person he is unable to cure, it seems, is himself. He has nursed a broken heart ever since the night, twenty-one years ago, when the love of his life fled Paris, leaving behind a handwritten letter that he has never dared read. His memories and his love have been gathering dust – until now. The arrival of an enigmatic new neighbour in his eccentric apartment building on Rue Montagnard inspires Jean to unlock his heart, unmoor the floating bookshop and set off for Provence, in search of the past and his beloved.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 30th April 2015

Price: £18.99

ISBN-13: 9781405533973

Reviews

This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop - or as he calls it, 'a literary apothecary', because the owner knows how to use books like medicine. The only person he is unable to cure - of heartache - is himself. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie
Red
As . . . the little floating bookshop sets off for Provence, George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance
Mail on Sunday
Glowing . . . a classic voyage and return narrative, layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books . . . I prescribed it for a cynical friend who has "seen it all" (and read it all) and she swooned
Daily Mail
A captivating curiosity, for those who still believe in love and books, friendship and food, happiness and romance
Saga
A capricious, meandering journey of love, loss and wonderful food, so beautifully described. I enjoyed every moment
Carole Matthews, bestselling author of The Cake Shop in the Garden
An enchanting, uplifting read . . . the sort of book that acts as a soothing tonic as you read - so the perfect accompaniment to relaxing in the sun
Independent
A real gem of a book that is my book of the year so far . . . superbly written and flows effortlessly. You read and re-read phrase after evocative phrase. I couldn't put it down. The characters lingered long after I had finished it and the sense of time and place made me want to book a flight to Paris immediately . . . You will LOVE it
Patricia Scanlan
A true gem for fiction lovers
Good Housekeeping
The Little Paris Bookshop is a wonderful tale showing the power of friendship and love
France magazine
A gentle, heartwarming tale of discovery
Candis
A novel about love and books - what better?
Woman and Home
If you're looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel...Everything happens just as you want it to... from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure
oprah.com
Enchanting and uplifting, this unashamedly sweet tale is a real gem
Heat
Nina George spins a gentle, charming tale . . . it would take a cold heart not to be warmed
Herald