We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Payday

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781405549349

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 2nd September 2021

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense


THE INSTANT TOP 10 BESTSELLER

Can YOU guess who killed Jamie Lawrence? Discover the brand new thriller EVERYBODY is talking about . . .

‘Impossible to put down’ HELEN FIELDING, international bestselling author of Bridget Jones’s Diary

‘Totally gripping . . . Nicole Kidman TV miniseries is written all over it’ SUNDAY TELEGRAPH

‘The final twist genuinely blindsided me’ Reader Review

‘Immensely entertaining’ LOUISE CANDLISH, Sunday Times bestselling author of Our House

‘A runaway train ride of a thriller’ SUN

Cracking . . . [Payday] rips along, full of tension and drama’ DAILY MAIL

‘A must read’ JANE CORRY, Sunday Times bestselling author of My Husband’s Wife

‘Prepare to be wrong-footed at every turn’ CAZ FREAR, Number One bestselling author of Sweet Little Lies

Highly recommended, I cannot fault itReader Review

______________________

Late one night, three women share secrets.

They barely know each other, but they all know Jamie Lawrence. They know what he’s guilty of. And they agree something must be done.

But as their plan spirals out of control, they begin to doubt themselves . . . and each other. Then Jamie is found dead. And suddenly everything is at stake. As lies are unravelled and truths exposed, two urgent questions emerge:

Who is really guilty?

And who will have to pay?
______________________

‘This year’s most electrifying ride’ CHANDLER BAKER, New York Times bestselling author of Whisper Network

‘Sensational’ TONY PARSONS, Number One bestselling author

‘Ratchets up the tension until the final couldn’t-see-it-coming twist’ ELLERY LLOYD, author of People Like Her, a Richard & Judy bookclub pick

‘I absolutely loved it. It’s unputdownable, a great mystery and a fantastic read’ BARBARA TAYLOR BRADFORD, international bestselling author

‘An intelligent, thought-provoking story with some great twists’ ALLIE REYNOLDS, author of Shiver

‘Gripping from the start’
Reader Review

‘I inhaled it’ JESSICA FELLOWES, international bestselling author of The Mitford Murders

‘Crackles with energy and the plot whipped me along’ EMMA CURTIS, bestselling author of One Little Mistake

‘I could not put it down’
Reader Review

‘Really compelling . . . the characterisation is excellent’ Reader Review

‘A page turner that will provoke many a debate’ C.J. COOPER, bestselling author of The Book Club

Reviews

A satisfyingly nuanced take on the #MeToo novel . . . fearless, stylish, suspenseful and immensely entertaining
LOUISE CANDLISH
Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will inhale this in one sitting, as I did
JESSICA FELLOWES
Sensational. Full of twists and turns and ambushes that keep you guessing up until the very last page. PAYDAY is the best book you will read all year about where men and women are right now.
TONY PARSONS
With complex female characters spiralling out of control, Payday is tense, full of twists, and impossible to put down
HELEN FIELDING
I think every working woman will relate to this story. I was enraged in places and cheering certain characters on, then questioning my own judgement. An intelligent, thought-provoking and highly topical story with some great twists.
ALLIE REYNOLDS
Clever, compelling and chillingly plausible, Payday is a deftly plotted thriller that ratchets up the tension right until the final couldn't-see-it-coming twist.
ELLERY LLOYD
Seductive. Intelligent. Should have a 'must read' advisory on it
JANE CORRY
Modern, intelligent and totally gripping. Nicole Kidman TV miniseries is written all over it
SUNDAY TELEGRAPH
With assured writing and a deftly-handled plot, Payday is a page turner that will provoke many a debate
C.J. COOPER
Journalist Walden's debut is a cracking feminist revenge thriller that rips along, full of tension and drama. Telling the story from the three women's separate points of view means well-developed characters and acres of room for deception, suspense and a neat twist in the tail
DAILY MAIL
A runaway train ride of a thriller
THE SUN
A brilliant and clever read
CLOSER
A fast-paced story, you'll be hooked from the first line
BELLA
Slick, shrewd and wildly entertaining, Payday is the very definition of a one-sitting read. Nuanced, believable characters drive this dynamite plot to its unexpected end. Prepare to be wrong-footed at every turn!
CAZ FREAR, the Number One bestselling author of 'Sweet Little Lies'
I absolutely loved it. It's unputdownable, a great mystery and a fantastic read
BARBARA TAYLOR BRADFORD, international bestselling author
The writing and plot draw you in and the female-first perspective packs a punch
BELFAST TELEGRAPH
Topical and timely, this buzzing page-turner will have you on the edge of your seat
THE LADY
Brilliant mystery combined with a morality tale
BEST
The ultimate page-turner!
THE SUN
A mystery that's as thought-provoking as it is compelling.
MAIL ON SUNDAY
Compulsively readable . . . fans of Liz Nugent's Unravelling Oliver will find much to enjoy in a novel that is provocatively complex as it explores the grey areas that exist between right and wrong.
IRISH TIMES