Related to: 'The Worry Workbook for Kids'

Adyashanti

Foreword writer Adyashanti is an American-born spiritual teacher devoted to serving the awakening of all beings. His teachings are an open invitation to stop, inquire, and recognize what is true and liberating at the core of all existence. Adyashanti is author of The Way of Liberation, Falling into Grace, Emptiness Dancing, True Meditation, and The End of Your World. Based in California, he lives with his wife, Mukti, and teaches throughout North America and Europe, offering satsangs, weekend intensives, silent retreats, and a live Internet radio broadcast.

Albert Ellis

Albert Ellis, Ph.D. founded Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy (REBT), the pioneering form of the modern Cognitive Behavioural therapies. In a 1982 professional survey, Dr. Ellis was ranked as the second most influential psychotherapist in history. His name is a staple among psychologists, students, and historians around the world. He published over seven hundred articles and more than sixty books on psychotherapy, marital and family therapy, and sex therapy. Until his death in 2007, Dr. Ellis served as President Emeritus of the Albert Ellis Institute in New York, which provides professional training programs and psychotherapy to individuals, families and groups. To learn more, visit www.albertellis.org.

Amy Saltzman

Amy Saltzman, MD, is a longtime athlete, holistic physician, mindfulness coach, scientist, wife, mother, devoted student of transformation, and occasional poet. Starting in junior high, Amy both participated in and coached gymnastics; in college, she earned a spot as a walk-on varsity gymnast at Stanford. Later she turned to competitive cycling; and she has been a recreational athlete (cycling, running yoga, and snowboarding) for years. She is the parent of two young athletes (one competing at the professional level in cycling, the other played competitive soccer for years). As a mindfulness coach, her passion is supporting people of all ages in enhancing their well-being and discovering A Still Quiet Place within. She is recognized as a visionary and pioneer in the fields of holistic medicine and mindfulness for youth. She is founder and director of the Association for Mindfulness in Education, an inaugural and longstanding member of the steering committee for the Mindfulness in Education Network, and a founding member of the Northern California Advisory Committee on Mindfulness. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband and two teenaged children. For more information, visit www.stillquietplace.com.

Aphrodite Matsakis

As a specialist in post-traumatic stress disorder, Aphrodite Matsakis, Ph.D., has counseled thousands of clients ranging from combat veterans to victims of crime and abuse and other traumatic events. She conducts a private psychotherapy practice specializing in post-traumatic stress disorder and child abuse.

Carolyn Coker Ross

Carolyn Coker Ross, MD, MPH, is a physician, author, and nationally recognized speaker. Ross is a graduate of the University of Michigan Medical School, and an alumna of Andrew Weil's integrative medicine program at the University of Arizona. She is board-certified in addiction medicine. She is former chief of the eating disorders program at Sierra Tucson, an addiction treatment center in Tucson, AZ. She is currently in private practice in Denver, CO, and is a consultant for eating disorder and chemical dependency treatment centers nationally. She is author of The Binge Eating and Compulsive Overeating Workbook.

Claudia Herbert

Dr Claudia Herbert is a Chartered Consultant Clinical Psychologist, CBT Psychotherapist, EMDR Consultant, Schema Therapist, Psychological Practice Supervisor and Director of the Oxford Development Centre Ltd.

Deborah Roth Ledley

Deborah Roth Ledley, PhD, is a licensed clinical psychologist at the Children's and Adult Center for OCD and Anxiety. Ledley received her PhD in psychology from the University of Toronto in 1999 and completed a post-doctoral fellowship at the Adult Anxiety Clinic of Temple at Temple University. She then spent several years on faculty at the University of Pennsylvania at the Center for the Treatment and Study of Anxiety. Since 2006, Ledley has been in private practice in the suburbs of Philadelphia where she primarily works with children, adolescents, and adults with anxiety disorders. She has published over fifty scientific papers and book chapters, as well as four academic books, including Making Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy Work and Becoming a Calm Mom. Ledley has been quoted in magazines such as Parents, Fit Pregnancy, Family Fun, and Countdown, as well as on several websites including Forbes.com, CNN.com and iParentingLife.com.

Gail Brenner

Gail Brenner, PhD, is a clinical psychologist who joyfully helps people discover that suffering is optional. Through investigating her own experience and working with clients for over twenty-five years, she has discovered how to unravel common problems of everyday life to reveal the deepest acceptance and peace. The author of the award-winning The End of Self-Help and At the Core of Every Heart, she lives in Santa Barbara, CA. To learn more, please visit www.gailbrenner.com.

Georg H. Eifert

Georg H. Eifert, PhD, is professor emeritus of psychology and former associate dean of the School of Health and Life Sciences at Chapman University in Orange, CA. He is coauthor of The Mindfulness Workbook for Anxiety and The Anorexia Workbook.

Howard Kassinove

Howard Kassinove, Ph.D., ABPP, a board certified clinical psychologist, is chairperson of the Psychology Department at Hofstra University and is a past director of their Ph.D. Program in Clinical & School Psychology. Dr. Kassinove is a Fellow of the American Psychological Association, the American Psychological Society, the Albert Ellis Institute, and the Behavior Therapy and Research Society. In addition to 60+ published papers, in 1995 he edited ANGER DISORDERS: DEFINITION, DIAGNOSIS AND TREATMENT. He has lectured widely in the United States, Europe, and Asia.

Ian Stewart

Ian Stewart, PhD, is a faculty member in the school of psychology at the National University of Ireland, Galway. He is coauthor of The Art and Science of Valuing in Psychotherapy, ACT and RFT in Relationships, and coeditor of The Self and Perspective Taking.

James M. Russell

JAMES M. RUSSELL has a philosophy degree from the University of Cambridge, a post-graduate qualification in critical theory, and has taught at the Open University in the UK. He currently works as director of a media-related business. He is the author of Brief Guides to Philosophical Classics, Spiritual Classics and Business Classics. He lives in north London with his wife, daughter and two cats.

Jean Klein

Jean Klein, master of Advaita Vedanta in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Atmananda Krishna Menon and author of many books on non-dualism, spent several years in India going deeply into the subjects of Advaita and Yoga. In 1955 the truth of non-dualism became a living reality. From 1960 he taught in Europe and later in the United States.

Joan Tollifson

Joan Tollifson writes and talks with people about the living reality Here / Now. She has an affinity with both Buddhism and Advaita, but she belongs to no formal tradition. Her approach is simple and down-to-earth, pointing beyond concepts and beliefs to the immediacy of direct knowing and being. Her first book, Bare-Bones Meditation, was published by Bell Tower in 1996. Joan has lived in Northern California, rural New York, Chicago, and Southern Oregon. Her main teacher was Toni Packer, but she spent time with many other teachers as well.

John P. Forsyth

John P. Forsyth, PhD, is professor of psychology and director of the Anxiety Disorders Research Program at the University at Albany, SUNY. Forsyth is a highly sought after speaker, acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) workshop leader, and a member of the teaching faculty at the Omega Institute for Holistic Studies. His teachings and writing focus on how to use ACT and mindfulness practices to alleviate suffering, awaken the human spirit, and cultivate well-being. He is coauthor of The Mindfulness Workbook for Anxiety.

Jon Hershfield

Jon Hershfield, MFT, is the director of The OCD and Anxiety Center of Greater Baltimore in Hunt Valley, MD. He specializes in the mindfulness-based and cognitive behavioral treatment of obsessive-compulsive disorder and is licensed in the states of Maryland, Virginia, and California. Jon is coauthor of The Mindfulness Workbook for OCD and author of When a Family Member Has OCD. He is a frequent presenter at the annual conferences of both the International OCD Foundation and the Anxiety and Depression Association of America, and a professional contributor to multiple online OCD-related support groups and blogs.

Kelly Skeen

Kelly Skeen is a student at Georgetown University in Washington DC. She is also coauthor of Communication Skills for Teens with her mother Michelle Skeen, PsyD.

Kirk D. Strosahl

Kirk Strosahl, PhD, is cofounder of acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), a cognitive behavioral therapy that has gained widespread adoption in the mental health and substance abuse community. He is author of numerous articles on the subjects of primary care behavioral health integration, using outcome assessment to guide practice, and strategies for working with challenging, high-risk, and suicidal clients.

Lisa. M. Schab

Lisa M. Schab, LCSW, is a licensed clinical social worker with a private counseling practice in the greater Chicago, IL, area. She has authored fifteen self-help books and workbooks for children, teens, and adults, including The Anxiety Workbook for Teens, The Self-Esteem Workbook for Teens, and Beyond the Blues. Schab teaches self-help workshops for the general public, conducts training seminars for professionals, and is a member of the National Association of Social Workers (NASW). You can find out more about Schab at www.lisamschabooks.com.

Louise McHugh

Louise McHugh, PhD, is a faculty member in the school of psychology at University College Dublin, and coeditor of The Self and Perspective Taking.