Related to: 'The Goddess Pose'

Alan Lightman

Alan Lightman - who worked for many years as a theoretical physicist - is the author of six novels, including the international bestseller Einstein's Dreams, as well as The Diagnosis, a finalist for the National Book Award. He is also the author of a memoir, three collections of essays, and several books on science. His work has appeared in The Atlantic, Granta, Harper's Magazine, The New Yorker, The New York Review of Books, and Nature, among other publications. He has taught at Harvard and at MIT, where he was the first person to receive a dual faculty appointment in science and the humanities. He lives in the Boston area.

Bob Ross

Robert Norman "Bob" Ross (October 29, 1942 - July 4, 1995) was an American painter, art instructor and television host. He was widely known as the creator and host of The Joy of Painting, an instructional television program that aired from 1983 to 1994 on PBS in the United States, and also aired in Canada, Latin America and Europe. With a soft voice and a permed afro. Ross went from being a television personality in the '80s and '90s to an Internet celebrity popular with fans on YouTube and many other websites

Bruce Blumberg, PhD

Dr. Bruce Blumberg has been conducting pioneering research in the field of human biology for more than thirty years. In 2012, the was elected as a fellow of the prestigious American Association for the Advancement of Science. Today he is Professor in the Departments of Developmental and Cell Biology, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Biomedical Engineering at the University of California, Irvine (UCI). At UCI, his laboratory studies the biology of nuclear hormone receptors in development, physiology, and disease with a particular emphasis on how these are affected by hormonally active compounds in the diet and environment.

Carol Dweck

Dr. Carol S. Dweck is widely regarded as one of the world's leading researchers in the fields of personality, social psychology and developmental psychology. She has been the William B. Ransford Professor of Psychology at Columbia University and is now the Lewis and Virginia Eaton Professor of Psychology at Stanford University and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Her scholarly bookSelf-Theories: Their Role in Motivation, Personality, and Developmentwas named Book of the Year by the World Education Fellowship. Her work has been featured in such publications asThe New Yorker, Time, The New York Times, The Washington Post, andThe Boston Globe, and she has appeared onTodayand 20/20. She lives with her husband in Palo Alto, California.

Catherine Atkinson

Catherine Atkinson has a degree in Food and Nutrition BSc (Hons). She has been Deputy Cookery Editor on Woman's Weekly magazine and later Cookery Editor of Home. Catherine is now a full-time writer and food consultant to various lifestyle and health magazines and has written more than sixty cookbooks. She specialises in healthy eating and her recent published books include 'Coconut water and coconut oil', 'Nut milks and nut butters' and 'Power blends and smoothies'

Christian Picciolini

Christian Picciolini was born in the Blue Island neighborhood of Chicago, where he was radicalized at the age of fourteen and went on to become the leader of the notorious Chicago Hammerskins, one of the most violent hate groups in America, and the singer of two white power propaganda punk bands. After leaving the hate movement when he was nineteen years old, Picciolini began the painstaking process of rebuilding his life. He went on to earn a degree in International Business and International Relations from DePaul University and launch an entertainment and media firm. In 2010, he co-founded Life After Hate, a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping communities and organizations gain the knowledge necessary to implement long-term solutions that counter all types of racism and violent extremism.

David Sedaris

With sardonic wit and incisive social critiques, David Sedaris has become one of America's pre-eminent humor writers. The great skill with which he slices through cultural euphemisms and political correctness proves that Sedaris is a master of satire and one of the most observant writers addressing the human condition today. David Sedaris is the author of Barrel Fever and Holidays on Ice, as well as collections of personal essays, Naked, Me Talk Pretty One Day, Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim, When You Are Engulfed in Flames and his most recent book, Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls, each of which became an immediate bestseller. The audio version of Let's Explore Diabetes With Owls was a Grammy nominee for Best Spoken Word Album. He is the author of the New York Times-bestselling collection of fables entitled Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk: A Wicked Bestiary (with illustrations by Ian Falconer). He was also the editor of Children Playing Before a Statue of Hercules: An Anthology of Outstanding Stories. Sedaris's pieces appear regularly in the New Yorker and have twice been included in 'The Best American Essays'. There are a total of ten million copies of his books in print and they have been translated into twenty-nine languages.

David Veale

David is the author of Overcoming Obsessive Compulsive Disorder and Manage Your Mood, along with Rob Willson. He is a consultant psychiatrist in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy at the South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust and the Priory Hospital, North London. He is an Honorary Senior Lecturer at the Institute of Psychiatry, King's College London. He is an accredited cognitive behaviour therapist and President of the British Association for Behavioural and Cognitive Psychotherapies 2006-8. He has about 50 publications to his name, accessible through his website www.veale.co.uk. He has been helping people with depression and anxiety disorders for more than 15 years.

Derek Wilson

DEREK WILSON is a renowned Tudor historian. A graduate of Peterhouse, Cambridge, he has written over 50 critically acclaimed books including A Brief History of the Circumnavigators, and The Uncrowned Kings of England, as well as recent biographies of Charlemagne and Holbein.He is a writer and presenter for radio and television and is also the founder of the Cambridge History festival. He lives in North Devon. Visit his website: www.derekwilson.com

Donna Eden

Donna Eden has been teaching people to understand the body as an energy system for two decades. She speaks to capacity crowds and runs workshops all over the world. She is married to psychologist David Feinstein.

Frances Cole

Dr Frances Cole was a GP and pain rehabilitation specialist. She developed the first UK primary and community care pain rehabilitation programme based on cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) principles in 1996. She developed a pain health needs assessment tool that won an NHS Modernisation award in 2005 and gained an NHS National Clinical Leaders Award in 2011. Frances is a past chair of the British Pain Society Pain Management Programme Special Interest Group whose current focus is on multidisciplinary pain management. Her current work is on digital self-management tools for pain including apps.

Frank Walker

Frank Walker is a veteran journalist. His newspaper roles have included being chief reporter for the SUN-HERALD covering defence, veterans' affairs, national security and terrorism. He's also worked on the SYDNEY MORNING HERALD, the NATIONAL TIMES, for News Limited in New York, and for Deutsche Welle international radio in Germany. In 2009, Hachette published his first book, THE TIGER MAN OF VIETNAM - the remarkable true story of the secret war of Captain Barry Petersen in the Central Highlands of Vietnam. It was a bestseller. Frank followed this with his bestselling GHOST PLATOON in 2012, MARALINGA in 2014 and COMMANDOS in 2015. He lives in Sydney with his family. For more information visit www.frankwalker.com.au

Harlow Giles Unger

Acclaimed historian Harlow Giles Unger is a former Distinguished Visiting Fellow at George Washington's Mount Vernon. He is the author of twenty-four books, including eleven biographies of America's Founding Fathers and three histories of the early republic. He lives in New York City.

James M. Russell

JAMES M. RUSSEL has a philosophy degree from the University of Cambridge, a post-graduate qualification in critical theory, and has taught at the Open University in the UK. He currently works as director of a media-related business. He is the author of A Brief Guide to Philosophical Classics and A Brief Guide to Spiritual Classics. He lives in north London with his wife, daughter and two cats.

Jean Klein

Jean Klein, master of Advaita Vedanta in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Atmananda Krishna Menon and author of many books on non-dualism, spent several years in India going deeply into the subjects of Advaita and Yoga. In 1955 the truth of non-dualism became a living reality. From 1960 he taught in Europe and later in the United States.

Karen Harrington

Karen Harrington was born in Texas, where she still lives with her husband and children. She is the author of Sure Signs of Crazy and Courage for Beginners. You can visit her karenharringtonbooks.com. -

Katherine Wilson

Katherine Wilson was born and raised in Wash­ington, DC. She graduated Magna Cum Laude and Phi Beta Kappa from Princeton University, where she was taught by Toni Morrison and Peter Sellars. She has lived in Italy for the past nineteen years, working in television, film and theatre. Most recently, she acted in Giuseppe Tornatore's The Best Offer with Geoffrey Rush and Donald Sutherland. She lives in Rome with her husband and two children.

Kevin Meares

Dr Kevin Meares is a clinical psychologist and cognitive therapist with nine years of clinical experience. He works at the Newcastle Cognitive and Behavioural Therapies Centre.Professor Mark Freeston is Director of Research and Training at the Newcastle Cognitive and Behavioural Therapies Centre, and holds honorary chairs of Clinical Psychology at the universities of Durham and Newcastle.Overcoming Worry is their first book.Kevin Meares is coauthor of Overcoming Worry, he is a consultant clinical psychologist and a cognitive-behavioural therapist. He works for the NHS at the Newcastle Cognitive and Behavioural Therapy Centre offering therapy to adults with a range of psychological problems, specialising in anxiety disorders. He supervises trainee clinical psychologists and cognitive therapists. He is an experienced trainer, regularly leading workshops on CBT. His research interests focus on rumination and worry and he has a particular interest in post-traumatic stress disorder.

Mark Freeston

Mark is the Director of Research and Training at the Newcastle Cognitive and Behavioural Therapies Centre and Honorary Professor of Clinical Psychology at the University of Durham. He is also Professor of Clinical Psychology at the University of Newcastle. He divides his time between NHS duties, where he directs the Newcastle Diploma in Cognitive Therapy, and the University of Newcastle. He has published over 80 papers, mainly in the field of intrusive thoughts and worry and on the formulation and treatment of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder and Generalized Anxiety Disorder. He regularly provides workshops on the cognitive behavioural treatment of these disorders. He chaired the Guideline Development Group for Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) and Body Dysmorphic Disorder for the National Institute of Clinical Excellence (NICE) from 2003 to 2005.

Mary S. Lovell

Mary Lovell lists her chief interests as horses, sailing, aviation and book collecting. She enjoys overseas travel and is a fellow of the Royal Geographical Society. She is the author of four previous biographies including the international bestseller STRAIGHT ON TILL MORNING: The Biography of Beryl Markham.