Related to: 'The Goddess Pose'

Alan Lightman

Alan Lightman - who worked for many years as a theoretical physicist - is the author of six novels, including the international bestseller Einstein's Dreams, as well as The Diagnosis, a finalist for the National Book Award. He is also the author of a memoir, three collections of essays, and several books on science. His work has appeared in The Atlantic, Granta, Harper's Magazine, The New Yorker, The New York Review of Books, and Nature, among other publications. He has taught at Harvard and at MIT, where he was the first person to receive a dual faculty appointment in science and the humanities. He lives in the Boston area.

Ben Mckelvey

Ben Mckelvey is a freelance writer and editor from Sydney who has filed for Good Weekend, GQ, Voyeur, Rolling Stone, The Bulletin, Cosmo, Cleo and the Age and West Australian newspapers. Ben's previous gigs have included editing Sports&Style and Juice magazines, and working at the Sydney Morning Herald as a Senior Feature Writer. He has been embedded with the ADF in East Timor and Iraq, and has worked independently in Iran and Afghanistan.

Bob Ross

Robert Norman "Bob" Ross (October 29, 1942 - July 4, 1995) was an American painter, art instructor and television host. He was widely known as the creator and host of The Joy of Painting, an instructional television program that aired from 1983 to 1994 on PBS in the United States, and also aired in Canada, Latin America and Europe. With a soft voice and a permed afro. Ross went from being a television personality in the '80s and '90s to an Internet celebrity popular with fans on YouTube and many other websites

Carol Dweck

Dr. Carol S. Dweck is widely regarded as one of the world's leading researchers in the fields of personality, social psychology and developmental psychology. She has been the William B. Ransford Professor of Psychology at Columbia University and is now the Lewis and Virginia Eaton Professor of Psychology at Stanford University and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Her scholarly bookSelf-Theories: Their Role in Motivation, Personality, and Developmentwas named Book of the Year by the World Education Fellowship. Her work has been featured in such publications asThe New Yorker, Time, The New York Times, The Washington Post, andThe Boston Globe, and she has appeared onTodayand 20/20. She lives with her husband in Palo Alto, California.

Catherine Atkinson

Catherine Atkinson has a degree in Food and Nutrition BSc (Hons). She has been Deputy Cookery Editor on Woman's Weekly magazine and later Cookery Editor of Home. Catherine is now a full-time writer and food consultant to various lifestyle and health magazines and has written more than sixty cookbooks. She specialises in healthy eating and her recent published books include 'Coconut water and coconut oil', 'Nut milks and nut butters' and 'Power blends and smoothies'

Dale Pinnock

Dale Pinnock, the UK's only Medicinal Cook, is frequently sought out by the UK media for his detailed in-depth knowledge of the fields of nutrition, herbal medicine and phytonutrients. He qualified in both Nutrition and Herbal Medicine and trained at the University of Westminster. He runs private healthcare clinics in Cambridgeshire and Hertfordshire where he combines herbal medicine with nutritional healing to provide a full and far-reaching therapeutic programme.He is also the resident Natural Heath expert for BBC Three Counties Radio, and can be heard on the Afternoon Show every two weeks for a one-hour phone-in session. He is regularly featured in publications such as Men's Health, FHM, Loaded, Get Fresh, Healthy, Daily Mirror, Cosmopolitan, Grazia, Dare, Company and Sunday Mirror Celebs Magazine.

David Veale

David is the author of Overcoming Obsessive Compulsive Disorder and Manage Your Mood, along with Rob Willson. He is a consultant psychiatrist in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy at the South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust and the Priory Hospital, North London. He is an Honorary Senior Lecturer at the Institute of Psychiatry, King's College London. He is an accredited cognitive behaviour therapist and President of the British Association for Behavioural and Cognitive Psychotherapies 2006-8. He has about 50 publications to his name, accessible through his website www.veale.co.uk. He has been helping people with depression and anxiety disorders for more than 15 years.

Deng Thiak Adut

Refugee advocate and lawyer Deng Thiak Adut arrived in Australia as a refugee in 1998. His first book, Songs of a War Boy, details his harrowing experience as a child soldier in Sudan. In 2016 he was selected to give the prestigious Australia Day Address at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music. He is the co-founder of AC Law Group, a law firm known for its commitment to the communities of Western Sydney. To honour his brother, Deng established the John Mac Foundation to further education and justice in Australia and Sudan, including providing university scholarships for people from refugee backgrounds. In 2017 he was named NSW Australian of the Year.

Gretchen Becker

Gretchen Becker is a writer and editor specialising in medical books, and a type-2 diabetic, who lives in Vermont, USA.Gretchen Becker is a writer and editor specialising in medical books, and a type-2 diabetic, who lives in Vermont, USA.

Harlow Giles Unger

Acclaimed historian Harlow Giles Unger is a former Distinguished Visiting Fellow at George Washington's Mount Vernon. He is the author of twenty-four books, including eleven biographies of America's Founding Fathers and three histories of the early republic. He lives in New York City.

Jean Klein

Jean Klein, master of Advaita Vedanta in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Atmananda Krishna Menon and author of many books on non-dualism, spent several years in India going deeply into the subjects of Advaita and Yoga. In 1955 the truth of non-dualism became a living reality. From 1960 he taught in Europe and later in the United States.

Katherine Wilson

Katherine Wilson was born and raised in Wash­ington, DC. She graduated Magna Cum Laude and Phi Beta Kappa from Princeton University, where she was taught by Toni Morrison and Peter Sellars. She has lived in Italy for the past nineteen years, working in television, film and theatre. Most recently, she acted in Giuseppe Tornatore's The Best Offer with Geoffrey Rush and Donald Sutherland. She lives in Rome with her husband and two children.

Kevin Meares

Dr Kevin Meares is a clinical psychologist and cognitive therapist with nine years of clinical experience. He works at the Newcastle Cognitive and Behavioural Therapies Centre.Professor Mark Freeston is Director of Research and Training at the Newcastle Cognitive and Behavioural Therapies Centre, and holds honorary chairs of Clinical Psychology at the universities of Durham and Newcastle.Overcoming Worry is their first book.Kevin Meares is coauthor of Overcoming Worry, he is a consultant clinical psychologist and a cognitive-behavioural therapist. He works for the NHS at the Newcastle Cognitive and Behavioural Therapy Centre offering therapy to adults with a range of psychological problems, specialising in anxiety disorders. He supervises trainee clinical psychologists and cognitive therapists. He is an experienced trainer, regularly leading workshops on CBT. His research interests focus on rumination and worry and he has a particular interest in post-traumatic stress disorder.

Mark Freeston

Mark is the Director of Research and Training at the Newcastle Cognitive and Behavioural Therapies Centre and Honorary Professor of Clinical Psychology at the University of Durham. He is also Professor of Clinical Psychology at the University of Newcastle. He divides his time between NHS duties, where he directs the Newcastle Diploma in Cognitive Therapy, and the University of Newcastle. He has published over 80 papers, mainly in the field of intrusive thoughts and worry and on the formulation and treatment of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder and Generalized Anxiety Disorder. He regularly provides workshops on the cognitive behavioural treatment of these disorders. He chaired the Guideline Development Group for Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) and Body Dysmorphic Disorder for the National Institute of Clinical Excellence (NICE) from 2003 to 2005.

Mary S. Lovell

Mary Lovell lists her chief interests as horses, sailing, aviation and book collecting. She enjoys overseas travel and is a fellow of the Royal Geographical Society. She is the author of four previous biographies including the international bestseller STRAIGHT ON TILL MORNING: The Biography of Beryl Markham.

Noel Streatfeild

Noel Streatfeild was born in Sussex in 1895 and was one of three sisters. After working in munitions factories and canteens for the armed forces when the First World War broke out, Noel followed her dream of being on stage and went to RADA where she became a professional actress.She began writing children's books in 1931 and Ballet Shoes was published in 1936. She quickly became one of the most popular authors of her day. She was one of the first winners of the Carnegie Medal and was awarded an OBE in 1983.

Peter Cooper

Peter Cooper is Professor of Psychology at the University of Reading. He is also a practising clinical psychologist and Series Editor of the 'Overcoming' series. Peter Cooper is Professor of Psychopathology at the Winnicott Research Unit at the University of Reading. Recognised as one of the world's experts in the treatment of bulimia he has more recently focused on the treatment of postpartum depression.

Rob Willson

Rob is the author of Overcoming Obsessive Compulsive Disorder and Manage Your Mood, along with David Veale. He is a cognitive behavioural therapist in private practice. He also works as a tutor at Goldsmiths College, University of London. He holds an honours degree in Psychology, an MSc in Rational Emotive Behaviour Therapy and a Postgraduate Diploma in Social and Behavioural Health Studies. He has been involved in treating people with depression and anxiety for the past twelve years.

Running Press

Running Press, Running Press Kids, and Running Press Miniature Editions publish books that inspire, entertain and delight readers with innovative formats and irresistible packages for humor, pop culture, activity, cooking and self-help titles. The long-running miniature editions program features original bestsellers like Grow Your Own Mini Bonsai and top licenses like Harry Potter.

Russ Harris

Dr Russ Harris was born in Liverpool, England. After graduating in medicine from the University of Newcastle-Upon-Tyne, he emigrated to Australia. As a family doctor, he became increasingly interested in the psychological aspects of medical illness (and increasingly less interested in writing prescriptions). In his eclectic career, he has been a stand-up comedian, sex therapist, filmmaker, novelist, and workshop presenter. He now practices as a psychological health physician in Melbourne.