Related to: 'The Goddess Pose'

Alan Lightman

Alan Lightman - who worked for many years as a theoretical physicist - is the author of six novels, including the international bestseller Einstein's Dreams, as well as The Diagnosis, a finalist for the National Book Award. He is also the author of a memoir, three collections of essays, and several books on science. His work has appeared in The Atlantic, Granta, Harper's Magazine, The New Yorker, The New York Review of Books, and Nature, among other publications. He has taught at Harvard and at MIT, where he was the first person to receive a dual faculty appointment in science and the humanities. He lives in the Boston area.

Bob Ross

Robert Norman "Bob" Ross (October 29, 1942 - July 4, 1995) was an American painter, art instructor and television host. He was widely known as the creator and host of The Joy of Painting, an instructional television program that aired from 1983 to 1994 on PBS in the United States, and also aired in Canada, Latin America and Europe. With a soft voice and a permed afro. Ross went from being a television personality in the '80s and '90s to an Internet celebrity popular with fans on YouTube and many other websites

Bruce Blumberg, PhD

Dr. Bruce Blumberg has been conducting pioneering research in the field of human biology for more than thirty years. In 2012, the was elected as a fellow of the prestigious American Association for the Advancement of Science. Today he is Professor in the Departments of Developmental and Cell Biology, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Biomedical Engineering at the University of California, Irvine (UCI). At UCI, his laboratory studies the biology of nuclear hormone receptors in development, physiology, and disease with a particular emphasis on how these are affected by hormonally active compounds in the diet and environment.

Catherine Atkinson

Catherine Atkinson has a degree in Food and Nutrition BSc (Hons). She has been Deputy Cookery Editor on Woman's Weekly magazine and later Cookery Editor of Home. Catherine is now a full-time writer and food consultant to various lifestyle and health magazines and has written more than sixty cookbooks. She specialises in healthy eating and her recent published books include 'Coconut water and coconut oil', 'Nut milks and nut butters' and 'Power blends and smoothies'

Christian Picciolini

Christian Picciolini was born in the Blue Island neighborhood of Chicago, where he was radicalized at the age of fourteen and went on to become the leader of the notorious Chicago Hammerskins, one of the most violent hate groups in America, and the singer of two white power propaganda punk bands. After leaving the hate movement when he was nineteen years old, Picciolini began the painstaking process of rebuilding his life. He went on to earn a degree in International Business and International Relations from DePaul University and launch an entertainment and media firm. In 2010, he co-founded Life After Hate, a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping communities and organizations gain the knowledge necessary to implement long-term solutions that counter all types of racism and violent extremism.

David Veale

David is the author of Overcoming Obsessive Compulsive Disorder and Manage Your Mood, along with Rob Willson. He is a consultant psychiatrist in Cognitive Behavioural Therapy at the South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust and the Priory Hospital, North London. He is an Honorary Senior Lecturer at the Institute of Psychiatry, King's College London. He is an accredited cognitive behaviour therapist and President of the British Association for Behavioural and Cognitive Psychotherapies 2006-8. He has about 50 publications to his name, accessible through his website www.veale.co.uk. He has been helping people with depression and anxiety disorders for more than 15 years.

Derek Wilson

DEREK WILSON is a renowned Tudor historian. A graduate of Peterhouse, Cambridge, he has written over 50 critically acclaimed books including A Brief History of the Circumnavigators, and The Uncrowned Kings of England, as well as recent biographies of Charlemagne and Holbein.He is a writer and presenter for radio and television and is also the founder of the Cambridge History festival. He lives in North Devon. Visit his website: www.derekwilson.com

Donna Eden

Donna Eden has been teaching people to understand the body as an energy system for two decades. She speaks to capacity crowds and runs workshops all over the world. She is married to psychologist David Feinstein.

Frances Cole

Dr Frances Cole was a GP and pain rehabilitation specialist. She developed the first UK primary and community care pain rehabilitation programme based on cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) principles in 1996. She developed a pain health needs assessment tool that won an NHS Modernisation award in 2005 and gained an NHS National Clinical Leaders Award in 2011. Frances is a past chair of the British Pain Society Pain Management Programme Special Interest Group whose current focus is on multidisciplinary pain management. Her current work is on digital self-management tools for pain including apps.

Graham Easton

Dr Graham Easton is a practising GP, Fellow of the Royal College of General Practitioners and a Senior Clinical Teaching Fellow at Imperial College Medical School where he trains medical students and junior doctors in general practice. He has twenty years' experience as a successful communicator of medical ideas to the non-medical public. He was senior producer and presenter in the BBC Science Unit, launching and presenting Radio 4's Case Notes and a range of other programmes. He is a regular guest and occasional presenter on Health Check. He was an editor at the British Medical Journal for four years and is on the editorial boards of the British Journal of General Practice and Education for Primary Care. He has had his own regular columns on the BBC Health website and for Eve Magazine and has published articles in the Radio Times, Tesco Healthy Living and Empire magazine. He is co-author of How to Pass the CSA Exam and General Practice at a Glance (first prize winner in the Primary Care category at the BMA Book Awards 2013).

Harlow Giles Unger

Acclaimed historian Harlow Giles Unger is a former Distinguished Visiting Fellow at George Washington's Mount Vernon. He is the author of twenty-four books, including eleven biographies of America's Founding Fathers and three histories of the early republic. He lives in New York City.

James M. Russell

JAMES M. RUSSEL has a philosophy degree from the University of Cambridge, a post-graduate qualification in critical theory, and has taught at the Open University in the UK. He currently works as director of a media-related business. He is the author of A Brief Guide to Philosophical Classics and A Brief Guide to Spiritual Classics. He lives in north London with his wife, daughter and two cats.

Jean Klein

Jean Klein, master of Advaita Vedanta in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Atmananda Krishna Menon and author of many books on non-dualism, spent several years in India going deeply into the subjects of Advaita and Yoga. In 1955 the truth of non-dualism became a living reality. From 1960 he taught in Europe and later in the United States.

Karen Harrington

Karen Harrington was born in Texas, where she still lives with her husband and children. She is the author of Sure Signs of Crazy and Courage for Beginners. You can visit her karenharringtonbooks.com. -

Mary S. Lovell

Mary Lovell lists her chief interests as horses, sailing, aviation and book collecting. She enjoys overseas travel and is a fellow of the Royal Geographical Society. She is the author of four previous biographies including the international bestseller STRAIGHT ON TILL MORNING: The Biography of Beryl Markham.

Noel Streatfeild

Noel Streatfeild was born in Sussex in 1895 and was one of three sisters. After working in munitions factories and canteens for the armed forces when the First World War broke out, Noel followed her dream of being on stage and went to RADA where she became a professional actress.She began writing children's books in 1931 and Ballet Shoes was published in 1936. She quickly became one of the most popular authors of her day. She was one of the first winners of the Carnegie Medal and was awarded an OBE in 1983.

Patrick Holford

Patrick Holford is founder of the Institute for Optimum Nutrition in London. He is also director of the Food for the Brain Foundation and an honorary fellow of the British Association of Nutritional Therapy. He is one of Britain's top nutrition experts and is the author of over 25 health books.

Peter Cooper

Peter Cooper is Professor of Psychology at the University of Reading. He is also a practising clinical psychologist and Series Editor of the 'Overcoming' series. Peter Cooper is Professor of Psychopathology at the Winnicott Research Unit at the University of Reading. Recognised as one of the world's experts in the treatment of bulimia he has more recently focused on the treatment of postpartum depression.

Rob Willson

Rob is the author of Overcoming Obsessive Compulsive Disorder and Manage Your Mood, along with David Veale. He is a cognitive behavioural therapist in private practice. He also works as a tutor at Goldsmiths College, University of London. He holds an honours degree in Psychology, an MSc in Rational Emotive Behaviour Therapy and a Postgraduate Diploma in Social and Behavioural Health Studies. He has been involved in treating people with depression and anxiety for the past twelve years.

Running Press

Running Press, Running Press Kids, and Running Press Miniature Editions publish books that inspire, entertain and delight readers with innovative formats and irresistible packages for humor, pop culture, activity, cooking and self-help titles. The long-running miniature editions program features original bestsellers like Grow Your Own Mini Bonsai and top licenses like Harry Potter.