Related to: 'Overcoming Gambling Addiction and 2nd Edition'

Robinson

Overcoming Compulsive Gambling

Alex Blaszczynski
Authors:
Alex Blaszczynski

Struggling with a gambling habit? If you feel that a 'flutter' has evolved into something out of your control, this indispensable book is for you. This self-help manual uses cognitive behavioral techniques, pioneered by clinical psychologist Professor Alex Blaszczynski, and now used all over the world, to help with gambling addiction. It will help you to understand how your own gambling problem has developed and what is keeping it going; also, crucially, how to develop the motivation to stop and control any future urges to gamble again.

Bruce D. Perry

Bruce D. Perry, M.D., Ph.D., is an internationally recognized authority on children in crisis. Dr. Perry is the Provincial Medical Director in Children's Mental Health for the Alberta Mental Health Board. In addition, he is the Senior Fellow of the ChildTrauma Academy (www.ChildTrauma.org), a Houston-based organization dedicated to research and education on child maltreatment. Dr. Perry has been consulted on many high-profile incidents involving traumatized children, including the Columbine, Colorado school shootings, the Oklahoma City bombing, and the Branch Davidian siege. He lives in Houston, Texas and Alberta, Canada.

Bruce Fisher

Bruce Fisher, Ed.D. (1931-1998) developed the 'rebuilding' model of divorce recovery nearly 25 years ago. Founder and director of the Family Relations Learning Center (Boulder, Colorado), he personally trained thousands of individuals and therapists in this approach, enriching the lives of hundreds of thousands worldwide. Popular divorce therapist, author, teacher, clinical member of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy.

Derrick Silove

Professor Silove is the author of Overcoming Panic and the Overcoming Panic and Agoraphobia Self-help Course, along with Vijaya Manicavasagar. He is a clinical psychiatrist and Director of the Centre for Population Mental Health Research and the Psychiatry Research and Teaching Unit at the School of Psychiatry, the University of New South Wales. He has worked for many years in the area of anxiety and traumatic stress, his main area of clinical work, research, service development and teaching.

Emily Thompson

Emily Thompson founded Indie Shopography, a design and strategy studio for online entrepreneurs, in 2009. Emily has worked to help makers, coaches, and designers develop an online business model, strategize and launch websites, and grow their online business. She lives in Chattanooga, Tennessee with her life and business partner, David, and their daughter.

Francesca Lia Block

Francesca Lia Block is the bestselling author of more than twenty-five books of stories, nonfiction, and fiction, including the Weetzie Bat books, her series of magical-realism novels. She has received the Spectrum Award, the Phoenix Award, the ALA Rainbow Award, and the 2005 Margaret A. Edwards Lifetime Achievement Award, as well as other citations from the American Library Association, the New York Times Book Review, and Publisher's Weekly.

Georg H. Eifert

Georg H. Eifert, PhD, is professor emeritus of psychology and former associate dean of the School of Health and Life Sciences at Chapman University in Orange, CA. He is coauthor of The Mindfulness Workbook for Anxiety and The Anorexia Workbook.

Grant Faulkner

Grant Faulkner is the executive director of National Novel Writing Month, co-founder of the literary journal 101 Word Story, co-founder of the Flash Fiction Collective, and the author of Pep Talks for Writers: 52 Insights and Prompts to Boost Your Creative Mojo (Chronicle Books).

Jean Klein

Jean Klein, master of Advaita Vedanta in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Atmananda Krishna Menon and author of many books on non-dualism, spent several years in India going deeply into the subjects of Advaita and Yoga. In 1955 the truth of non-dualism became a living reality. From 1960 he taught in Europe and later in the United States.

Jenny Barnett

Dr Jenny Barnett is a neuroscientist and psychologist interested in the genetic and environmental causes of brain health and mental illness. Having trained at Oxford, Cambridge and Harvard universities, Jenny has authored more than 50 scientific publications on topics ranging from new treatments for schizophrenia to the economic impact of dementia. She now works at the intersection of academic and industrial research, designing new technologies to help detect, diagnose and treat brain disorders. Her first book, Growing Up Happy, with Alexia Barrable, was published by Robinson in 2016.

John C. Maxwell

JOHN C. MAXWELL, the #1 New York Times bestselling author, coach, and speaker who has sold more than 26 million books, was identified as the #1 leader in business by the American Management Association® and the world's most influential leadership expert by Business Insider and Inc. magazine in 2014. His organizations--The John Maxwell Company, The John Maxwell Team, EQUIP, and the John Maxwell Leadership Foundation--have trained more than 5 million leaders worldwide. Maxwell speaks to Fortune 500 companies, presidents of nations, and many top world business leader

Jon Hershfield

Jon Hershfield, MFT, is the director of The OCD and Anxiety Center of Greater Baltimore in Hunt Valley, MD. He specializes in the mindfulness-based and cognitive behavioral treatment of obsessive-compulsive disorder and is licensed in the states of Maryland, Virginia, and California. Jon is coauthor of The Mindfulness Workbook for OCD and author of When a Family Member Has OCD. He is a frequent presenter at the annual conferences of both the International OCD Foundation and the Anxiety and Depression Association of America, and a professional contributor to multiple online OCD-related support groups and blogs.

Kathleen Shannon

Kathleen Shannon is the founder of Braid Creative and Consulting, a boutique branding agency and consultancy she co-owns with her sister. Together they have helped thousands of creative entrepreneurs authentically brand and position themselves as creative experts. Kathleen also does creative coaching and is regularly invited to speak on personal branding at design conferences and retreats. She lives in Oklahoma City with her husband and son.

Kevan Wylie

Kevan Wylie recently retired from the position of Clinical Lead at the NHS Porterbrook Clinic in Sheffield and as the Consultant in Sexual Medicine at the Directorate of Urology, Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield. He was Honorary Professor of Sexual Medicine for a number of years at the University of Sheffield until his retirement in 2017. Throughout his career, Kevan was responsible for training medical undergraduates and also postgraduates across a number of disciplines as well as regularly hosting colleagues from around the world at his clinics. Between 2012 & 2017 Kevan was the president of the World Association for Sexual Health, an Association that revised their Declaration of Sexual Rights in 2015. In 2017, Kevan took over as the President of the European Federation of Sexology.

Kirk D. Strosahl

Kirk Strosahl, PhD, is cofounder of acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), a cognitive behavioral therapy that has gained widespread adoption in the mental health and substance abuse community. He is author of numerous articles on the subjects of primary care behavioral health integration, using outcome assessment to guide practice, and strategies for working with challenging, high-risk, and suicidal clients.

Lee Brosan

Dr Lee Brosan is a consultant psychologist with the Cambridgeshire & Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust. Over a long career she has been Head of the Psychological Treatment Service, Trust Lead for the Development of Psychological Therapies, Clinical Associate at the MRC Cognitive and Brain Science Unit in Cambridge, a founder member of the Cambridge Clinical Research Centre for Affective Disorders, and Associate Lecturer in the Experimental Psychology Department at Cambridge.

Leonora Brosan

Dr Lee Brosan is a consultant psychologist with the Cambridgeshire & Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust. Over a long career she has been Head of the Psychological Treatment Service, Trust Lead for the Development of Psychological Therapies, Clinical Associate at the MRC Cognitive and Brain Science Unit in Cambridge, a founder member of the Cambridge Clinical Research Centre for Affective Disorders, and Associate Lecturer in the Experimental Psychology Department at Cambridge.

Maia Szalavitz

Maia Szalavitz is an award-winning journalist who specializes in science and health. She is the author of Help at Any Cost: How the Troubled-Teen Industry Cons Parents and Hurts Kids and Recovery Options: The Complete Guide with Joseph Volpicelli, M.D., Ph.D. She lives in New York City.

Mark Matousek

Mark Matousek is author of two award-winning memoirs, Sex Death Enlightenment (an international bestseller) and The Boy He Left Behind (a Los Angeles Times Discovery Book), as well as When You're Falling, Dive, and Ethical Wisdom. As a collaborator, he worked with Sogyal Rinpoche on The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying, Andrew Harvey on Dialogues with a Modern Mystic, and Ram Dass on Still Here. A featured blogger for Psychology Today, Purple Clover, The Huffington Post, and Contemplative Journal, he has contributed to numerous anthologies and publications, including The New Yorker, O: The Oprah Magazine (as a contributing editor), The New York Times Magazine, Harper's BAZAAR, Yoga Journal, Details, The Saturday Evening Post, AARP, Tricycle, and many others. A popular lecturer and writing teacher, he is on the faculty of the New York Open Center, the Omega Institute for Holistic Studies, The Mandala Center, The Rowe Center, the Esalen Institute, Hollyhock, and Schumacher College. Matousek is also creative director of V-Men (with Eve Ensler), an organization devoted to ending violence against women and girls. His workshops, classes, and mentoring have helped thousands of people around the world, focusing on personal awakening and creative excellence through self-inquiry and life writing.

Matthew McKay

Matthew McKay, PhD, is a professor at the Wright Institute in Berkeley, CA. He has authored and coauthored numerous books, including The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook, Self-Esteem, Thoughts and Feelings, When Anger Hurts, and ACT on Life Not on Anger. He has also penned two fiction novels, Us and The Wawona Hotel. McKay received his PhD in clinical psychology from the California School of Professional Psychology, and specializes in the cognitive behavioral treatment of anxiety and depression. He lives and works in the Bay Area.