Related to: 'Overcoming Gambling Addiction and 2nd Edition'

Robinson

Overcoming Compulsive Gambling

Alex Blaszczynski
Authors:
Alex Blaszczynski

Struggling with a gambling habit? If you feel that a 'flutter' has evolved into something out of your control, this indispensable book is for you. This self-help manual uses cognitive behavioral techniques, pioneered by clinical psychologist Professor Alex Blaszczynski, and now used all over the world, to help with gambling addiction. It will help you to understand how your own gambling problem has developed and what is keeping it going; also, crucially, how to develop the motivation to stop and control any future urges to gamble again.

Alex Gray

Alex Gray was born and educated in Glasgow. After studying English and Philosophy at the University of Strathclyde, she worked as a visiting officer for the DHSS, a time she looks upon as postgraduate education since it proved a rich source of character studies. She then trained as a secondary school teacher of English. Alex began writing professionally in 1993 and had immediate success with short stories, articles and commissions for BBC radio programmes. She has been awarded the Scottish Association of Writers' Constable and Pitlochry trophies for her crime writing. A regular on the Scottish bestseller lists, her previous novels include Five Ways to Kill a Man, Glasgow Kiss, Pitch Black, The Riverman, Never Somewhere Else, The Swedish Girl and Keep the Midnight Out. She is the co-founder of the international Scottish crime writing festival, Bloody Scotland, which had its inaugural year in 2012.

Carol Dweck

Dr. Carol S. Dweck is widely regarded as one of the world's leading researchers in the fields of personality, social psychology and developmental psychology. She has been the William B. Ransford Professor of Psychology at Columbia University and is now the Lewis and Virginia Eaton Professor of Psychology at Stanford University and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Her scholarly bookSelf-Theories: Their Role in Motivation, Personality, and Developmentwas named Book of the Year by the World Education Fellowship. Her work has been featured in such publications asThe New Yorker, Time, The New York Times, The Washington Post, andThe Boston Globe, and she has appeared onTodayand 20/20. She lives with her husband in Palo Alto, California.

Daniel Lerner

Daniel Lerner is a wine importer in New York City. He has spent more than twenty years involved in the New York City restaurant and wine industries as maitre d', sommelier, wine buyer, wine seller and consultant.

Derrick Silove

Professor Silove is the author of Overcoming Panic and the Overcoming Panic and Agoraphobia Self-help Course, along with Vijaya Manicavasagar. He is a clinical psychiatrist and Director of the Centre for Population Mental Health Research and the Psychiatry Research and Teaching Unit at the School of Psychiatry, the University of New South Wales. He has worked for many years in the area of anxiety and traumatic stress, his main area of clinical work, research, service development and teaching.

Dr Ellie Cannon

Dr Ellie is the current face of general practice. A young, vivacious, approachable doctor, she is best known for her weekly health column in the Mail on Sunday and her regular appearance on Sky News Sunrise. Ellie is the resident GP for the Mail on Sunday, Mailonline and Best magazine, a frequent contributor to the popular health site Netdoctor and is widely quoted in the popular media on health matters Dr Ellie is the on-screen GP for Sky News Sunrise appearing weekly and she is now the regular doctor on LBC's Tuesday evening Health Hour. She can also be seen and heard regularly commenting on health matters on ITV news, BBC news and Radio 2's Jeremy Vine Show. In 2017 she channelled her inner-geek appearing in a Celebrity Eggheads team of TV doctors!Dr Ellie read medicine at Cambridge University and then completed her clinical training at the Royal Free Hospital, London. She spent five years in hospital medicine, before embarking on a career in General Practice. Ellie combines her clinical and media work with her 'proper job' - being a mum to her two children.

Howard Kassinove

Howard Kassinove, Ph.D., ABPP, a board certified clinical psychologist, is chairperson of the Psychology Department at Hofstra University and is a past director of their Ph.D. Program in Clinical & School Psychology. Dr. Kassinove is a Fellow of the American Psychological Association, the American Psychological Society, the Albert Ellis Institute, and the Behavior Therapy and Research Society. In addition to 60+ published papers, in 1995 he edited ANGER DISORDERS: DEFINITION, DIAGNOSIS AND TREATMENT. He has lectured widely in the United States, Europe, and Asia.

Irvin D. Yalom

Dr Irvin Yalom is Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry at Stanford University. He has won two major awards from the American Psychiatric Association. He continues to run his clinical practice and lectures widely.

Jean Klein

Jean Klein, master of Advaita Vedanta in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Atmananda Krishna Menon and author of many books on non-dualism, spent several years in India going deeply into the subjects of Advaita and Yoga. In 1955 the truth of non-dualism became a living reality. From 1960 he taught in Europe and later in the United States.

Joel Osteen

Joel Osteen is the senior pastor of Lakewood Church in Houston, Texas. Listed by several sources as America's largest and fastest-growing congregation, Lakewood church has approximately 45,000 adult attendees every week. Millions more watch Joel's messages as they are broadcast on national and international television networks. He resides in Houston with his wife, Victoria, and their children.

John Harrison

John Harrison has been following a frugal lifestyle for over 30 years. A long-term member of Garden Organic, he runs two popular websites which are visited by hundreds of thousands of people each month. He has been growing vegetables on his own allotment for many years. He uses many organic methods, working with nature rather than against it. He is passionate about the quality of our food and the ecology that supports us all on this planet.John joined Garden Organic (previously the Henry Doubleday Research Association) in 1976 and is a Fellow of the National Vegetable Society, serving on the National Executive.

Kirk D. Strosahl

Kirk Strosahl, PhD, is cofounder of acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), a cognitive behavioral therapy that has gained widespread adoption in the mental health and substance abuse community. He is author of numerous articles on the subjects of primary care behavioral health integration, using outcome assessment to guide practice, and strategies for working with challenging, high-risk, and suicidal clients.

Matthew McKay

Matthew McKay, PhD, is a professor at the Wright Institute in Berkeley, CA. He has authored and coauthored numerous books, including The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook, Self-Esteem, Thoughts and Feelings, When Anger Hurts, and ACT on Life Not on Anger. He has also penned two fiction novels, Us and The Wawona Hotel. McKay received his PhD in clinical psychology from the California School of Professional Psychology, and specializes in the cognitive behavioral treatment of anxiety and depression. He lives and works in the Bay Area.

Michael L. Emmons

Michael Emmons, PhD, is a psychologist in private practice, who has been a consultant to educational, government and business organizations, a trainer of marriage and family counseling interns at California Polytechnic State University, and author/co-author of seven books.Emmons and assertiveness training became synonymous when he co-authored Your Perfect Right with Robert Alberti. Since 1970, he has devoted much of his life's work to furthering and understanding assertiveness. Although his focus on assertive living has taken center stage, he has been an innovator in terms of dealing with the whole person, mentally, physically and spiritually.A lifelong meditator, Emmons has practiced daily, often in the garden by a koi pond. This practice helped him form his approach to psychology and led him to develop the system he calls meditative therapy. The Inner Source: A Guide to Meditative Therapy first detailed this holistic, eyes-closed method that facilitates an inner source to generate therapeutic and creative experiences. Meditative Therapy expands on this method as a therapeutic modality with wide ranging mental, physical, emotional and spiritual effects.

Michael Robotham

Before becoming a novelist, Michael Robotham was an investigative journalist working across America, Australia and Britain. As a journalist and writer he has investigated notorious cases such as the serial killer couple Fred and Rosemary West. He has worked with clinical and forensic psychologists as they helped police investigate complex, psychologically driven crimes. Michael's 2004 debut thriller, The Suspect, sold more than 1 million copies around the world. It is the first of eight novels featuring clinical psychologist Joe O'Loughlin, who faces his own increasing battle with a potentially debilitating disease. Michael has also written four standalone thrillers. In 2015 he won the UK's prestigious Crime Writers' Association Gold Dagger Award with his standalone thriller Life or Death. He lives in Sydney.

Patrick Holford

Patrick Holford is founder of the Institute for Optimum Nutrition in London. He is also director of the Food for the Brain Foundation and an honorary fellow of the British Association of Nutritional Therapy. He is one of Britain's top nutrition experts and is the author of over 25 health books.

Paul Mendelson

Paul Mendelson has written for the theatre and television and is the author of eleven non-fiction titles concerning mind-sports such as bridge and poker, as well as being a crime novelist whose first novel, The First Rule of Survival, was short-listed for the CWA Golden Dagger Crime Novel of the Year in 2014. His second novel, The Serpentine Road, was long-listed for the same prize in 2015. Both have been translated into several languages and a television adaptation is already in preparation.

Raymond Chip Tafrate

Raymond Chip Tafrate, PhD is an associate professor in the Criminology and Criminal Justice Department at Central Connecticut State University. As a clinical psychologist, his work has focused on disorders commonly found in criminal justice settings. His research on the nature and treatment of anger has been published in scientific journals and books for practitioners, and has been presented at conferences throughout the United States and abroad.

Robert Alberti

Robert E. Alberti, PhD, is a psychologist, marriage & family therapist, Fellow (Psychotherapy) of the American Psychological Association, clinical member of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy, publisher, and author/co-author of several books. His work has received international recognition as the "gold standard" for psychological self-help.

Sandi Mann

Dr Sandi Mann is a Senior Psychology Lecturer at the University of Central Lancashire. She has researched extensively into boredom and written and presented her findings in a range of academic outlets. She's recognised as a leading authority on boredom and has appeared extensively in the media to talk about it, garnering front page headlines and full page reports. Sandi is an experienced workplace consultant, has her own private clinic and is the author of more than ten popular psychology books. Sandi blogs for the Huffington Post and is a columnist for Counselling At Work journal.