Related to: 'Stop Smoking Now 2nd Edition'

AN EXTRACT

THE JULIETTE SOCIETY

In her debut novel, Sasha Grey takes us inside a private, high-profile, sex society where anything and everything can happen. Read the prologue.

Robinson

Overcoming Your Smoking Habit

David F. Marks
Authors:
David F. Marks

Have you tried and failed to give up smoking? Most smokers have but Professor David Marks' method has been scientifically evaluated and the programme's quit-smoking rates are among the highest on record, using a step-by-step week-long programme to help you stop smoking for good. Via highly acclaimed cognitive behavioural therapy techniques, proven effective in how to re-programme your mind not to want to smoke, you will not have to rely on will-power alone. - Exercises and practical strategies to regain control from your smoking automatic pilot - Ways to increase awareness of smoking triggers and deal with what leads to automatic smoking - Tips on eating and exercise to avoid weight gain - Relaxation and stress reduction and avoiding relapses

Alexis Willett

Dr Alexis Willett is a science communicator who spends much of her time turning cutting-edge research and health policy jargon into something meaningful for patients, doctors, policy makers and the public. She is often called upon to help influence decision makers, from governments to funding bodies, across the UK and Europe. She has a PhD in biomedical science from the University of Cambridge and, since her partner is a psychiatrist, is used to having her daily conversations dominated by brain-related facts.

Anna Fleiss

Anna Fleiss is a digital media specialist living in LA. She has a BA in Visual Media Studies from Emerson College, and has been nominated for an Emmy award for her reality television work.

Brenda Hogan

Dr Brenda Hogan is a clinical psychologist who previously worked at the Primary Care Psychological Treatment Service in Cambridge. She has since moved to Vancouver, Canada, where she continues her work in psychological assessment and the provision of brief psychological treatment for anxiety and depression. Brenda and her colleagues have created a pioneering service in primary care based on self-help approaches to help alleviate a range of common psychological problems.

Bruce D. Perry

Bruce D. Perry, M.D., Ph.D., is an internationally recognized authority on children in crisis. Dr. Perry is the Provincial Medical Director in Children's Mental Health for the Alberta Mental Health Board. In addition, he is the Senior Fellow of the ChildTrauma Academy (www.ChildTrauma.org), a Houston-based organization dedicated to research and education on child maltreatment. Dr. Perry has been consulted on many high-profile incidents involving traumatized children, including the Columbine, Colorado school shootings, the Oklahoma City bombing, and the Branch Davidian siege. He lives in Houston, Texas and Alberta, Canada.

Bruce Fisher

Bruce Fisher, Ed.D. (1931-1998) developed the 'rebuilding' model of divorce recovery nearly 25 years ago. Founder and director of the Family Relations Learning Center (Boulder, Colorado), he personally trained thousands of individuals and therapists in this approach, enriching the lives of hundreds of thousands worldwide. Popular divorce therapist, author, teacher, clinical member of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy.

Derrick Silove

Professor Silove is the author of Overcoming Panic and the Overcoming Panic and Agoraphobia Self-help Course, along with Vijaya Manicavasagar. He is a clinical psychiatrist and Director of the Centre for Population Mental Health Research and the Psychiatry Research and Teaching Unit at the School of Psychiatry, the University of New South Wales. He has worked for many years in the area of anxiety and traumatic stress, his main area of clinical work, research, service development and teaching.

Edmund J. Bourne

Edmund J. Bourne, PhD, has specialized in the treatment of anxiety, phobias, and other stress-related disorders for over two decades. His self-help books have helped over a million people and have been translated into numerous languages. He currently resides in California.

Jean Klein

Jean Klein, master of Advaita Vedanta in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Atmananda Krishna Menon and author of many books on non-dualism, spent several years in India going deeply into the subjects of Advaita and Yoga. In 1955 the truth of non-dualism became a living reality. From 1960 he taught in Europe and later in the United States.

Jenny Barnett

Dr Jenny Barnett is a neuroscientist and psychologist interested in the genetic and environmental causes of brain health and mental illness. Having trained at Oxford, Cambridge and Harvard universities, Jenny has authored more than 50 scientific publications on topics ranging from new treatments for schizophrenia to the economic impact of dementia. She now works at the intersection of academic and industrial research, designing new technologies to help detect, diagnose and treat brain disorders. Her first book, Growing Up Happy, with Alexia Barrable, was published by Robinson in 2016.

John C. Maxwell

JOHN C. MAXWELL, the #1 New York Times bestselling author, coach, and speaker who has sold more than 26 million books, was identified as the #1 leader in business by the American Management Association® and the world's most influential leadership expert by Business Insider and Inc. magazine in 2014. His organizations--The John Maxwell Company, The John Maxwell Team, EQUIP, and the John Maxwell Leadership Foundation--have trained more than 5 million leaders worldwide. Maxwell speaks to Fortune 500 companies, presidents of nations, and many top world business leader

Jon Hershfield

Jon Hershfield, MFT, is the director of The OCD and Anxiety Center of Greater Baltimore in Hunt Valley, MD. He specializes in the mindfulness-based and cognitive behavioral treatment of obsessive-compulsive disorder and is licensed in the states of Maryland, Virginia, and California. Jon is coauthor of The Mindfulness Workbook for OCD and author of When a Family Member Has OCD. He is a frequent presenter at the annual conferences of both the International OCD Foundation and the Anxiety and Depression Association of America, and a professional contributor to multiple online OCD-related support groups and blogs.

Kevan Wylie

Kevan Wylie recently retired from the position of Clinical Lead at the NHS Porterbrook Clinic in Sheffield and as the Consultant in Sexual Medicine at the Directorate of Urology, Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield. He was Honorary Professor of Sexual Medicine for a number of years at the University of Sheffield until his retirement in 2017. Throughout his career, Kevan was responsible for training medical undergraduates and also postgraduates across a number of disciplines as well as regularly hosting colleagues from around the world at his clinics. Between 2012 & 2017 Kevan was the president of the World Association for Sexual Health, an Association that revised their Declaration of Sexual Rights in 2015. In 2017, Kevan took over as the President of the European Federation of Sexology.

Kirk D. Strosahl

Kirk Strosahl, PhD, is cofounder of acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT), a cognitive behavioral therapy that has gained widespread adoption in the mental health and substance abuse community. He is author of numerous articles on the subjects of primary care behavioral health integration, using outcome assessment to guide practice, and strategies for working with challenging, high-risk, and suicidal clients.

Lee Brosan

Dr Lee Brosan is a consultant psychologist with the Cambridgeshire & Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust. Over a long career she has been Head of the Psychological Treatment Service, Trust Lead for the Development of Psychological Therapies, Clinical Associate at the MRC Cognitive and Brain Science Unit in Cambridge, a founder member of the Cambridge Clinical Research Centre for Affective Disorders, and Associate Lecturer in the Experimental Psychology Department at Cambridge.

Leonora Brosan

Dr Lee Brosan is a consultant psychologist with the Cambridgeshire & Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust. Over a long career she has been Head of the Psychological Treatment Service, Trust Lead for the Development of Psychological Therapies, Clinical Associate at the MRC Cognitive and Brain Science Unit in Cambridge, a founder member of the Cambridge Clinical Research Centre for Affective Disorders, and Associate Lecturer in the Experimental Psychology Department at Cambridge.

Maia Szalavitz

Maia Szalavitz is an award-winning journalist who specializes in science and health. She is the author of Help at Any Cost: How the Troubled-Teen Industry Cons Parents and Hurts Kids and Recovery Options: The Complete Guide with Joseph Volpicelli, M.D., Ph.D. She lives in New York City.

Matthew McKay

Matthew McKay, PhD, is a professor at the Wright Institute in Berkeley, CA. He has authored and coauthored numerous books, including The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook, Self-Esteem, Thoughts and Feelings, When Anger Hurts, and ACT on Life Not on Anger. He has also penned two fiction novels, Us and The Wawona Hotel. McKay received his PhD in clinical psychology from the California School of Professional Psychology, and specializes in the cognitive behavioral treatment of anxiety and depression. He lives and works in the Bay Area.

Michael Crowe

Dr. Michael Crowe was a founder member of both the British Association for Behavioural and Cognitive Psychotherapy (BABCP) and the Institute of Family Therapy in London. He worked as a psychiatrist for almost 30 years at the Maudsley Hospital, London and was honorary Senior Lecturer at the Institute of Psychiatry (Kings College, London). Since retirement he works in private practise and continues to teach and lecture.

Niklas Törneke

Niklas Törneke, MD, is a psychiatrist and has worked as a senior psychiatrist in the department of general psychiatry in his hometown Kalmar (in the southeast of Sweden) from 1991 until he started private practice 1998. He earned license as a psychotherapist in 1996 and was originally trained as a cognitive therapist. Since 1998 he has worked mainly with acceptance and commitment therapy, both in his own practice and as a teacher and clinical supervisor. His clinical experience ranges from psychiatric disorders such as schizophrenia to common anxiety and mood disorders with high prevalence in the general population.