Related to: 'Overcoming Alcohol Misuse and 2nd Edition'

Robinson

An Introduction to Sensible Alcohol Use, 2nd Edition

Marcantonio Spada
Authors:
Marcantonio Spada
Robinson

Overcoming Problem Drinking

Marcantonio Spada
Authors:
Marcantonio Spada

Up to a quarter of the UK population is currently believed to misuse alcohol. This first self-help book aimed specifically at problem drinking uses an approach based on real clinical practice, first to recognize alcohol misuse and then, using proven Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) techniques, to show the drinker how to turn the tables and regain control of alcohol consumption. For anyone who feels alcohol is beginning to rule their lives, this is an indispensable guide, combining the expertise of psychologists and those working in the medical profession. It also shows how to enlist the help of friends and family.

Robinson

An Introduction to Sensible Drinking

Marcantonio Spada
Authors:
Marcantonio Spada

Learn how to manage your alcohol use simply and effectivelyFor many, drinking can be a pleasurable, acceptable and harmless social activity. However, if you regularly drink more than is sensible you may find that it impacts on your health, emotional wellbeing, relationships and your ability to work. There are many reasons why we drink and this self-help guide uses clinically proven cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT) techniques to help you to work out your own reasons and to start taking control of your alcohol use: Understand what is sensible alcohol useBuild the motivation to change your habitsTackle thoughts about drinkingManage setbacks

Barney Hoskyns

Barney Hoskyns is the co-founder and editorial director of online rock-journalism library Rock's Backpages (www.rocksbackpages.com), and author of several books including Across the Great Divide: The Band & America (1993), Waiting for the Sun: Strange Days, Weird Scenes, & the Sound of Los Angeles (1996), Hotel California: Singer-Songwriters & Cocaine Cowboys in the LA Canyons (2005) and Lowside of the Road: A Life of Tom Waits (2009). A former US correspondent for MOJO, Hoskyns writes for Uncut and other UK publications, and has contributed to Vogue, Rolling Stone and GQ.

Celeste Headlee

Celeste Headlee has been a journalist with public radio since 1999. But news is her day job. She's actually a professional opera singer, with multiple degrees in music. Celeste hosts the show 'On Second Thought' from Georgia Public Broadcasting. Before that, she filled in as a host on several NPR shows, including 'Tell Me More', 'Weekend Edition', 'Talk of the Nation', and 'Weekend All Things Considered'. And before that, she was the host of the show 'The Takeaway' from PRI. She's also the granddaughter of William Grant Still, the dean of African-American Composers. She lives in Atlanta with her son and two rescue dogs, and she tells a lot of bad jokes.

Claudia Herbert

Claudia Herbert is Director of the Oxford Development Centre Ltd and the Oxford Stress and Trauma Centre and is a professor at the Institute of Cognitive Science in Grosetto, Italy.

Colin Espie

Colin A. Espie PhD, DSc is Professor of Sleep Medicine in the Nuffield Department of Clinical Neuroscience and a Fellow of Somerville College, University of Oxford. He is Research Director of the Experimental and Clinical Sleep Medicine program within the Sleep & Circadian Neuroscience Institute, and Clinical Director of the Oxford Online Program in Sleep Medicine. Dr Espie has authored/co-authored over 200 publications and books, particularly on CBT, and is co-founder of Big Health (Sleepio) which develops digital interventions for insomnia.

Daniel Lerner

Daniel Lerner is a wine importer in New York City. He has spent more than twenty years involved in the New York City restaurant and wine industries as maitre d', sommelier, wine buyer, wine seller and consultant.

Debbie Corso

Debbie Corso is a mental health blogging pioneer, courageously chronicling her journey while lighting a torch to provide hope to a severely emotionally wounded community. She has a BS from New York Institute of Technology in Interdisciplinary Studies in English, Communications, and Behavioral Science, as well as a certificate in Early Childhood Development. She is in recovery from borderline personality disorder (BPD). Through hard, consistent work with dialectical behavior therapy (DBT), she no longer meets the criteria to be considered "Borderline." Her work as an Intake Coordinator and Case Manager at a non-profit organization, working closely with children at risk for abuse and neglect, was the catalyst that propelled her to document and share her powerful journey through her blog and hopeful, encouraging books on overcoming the oppressive symptoms of BPD. She currently co-facilitates online, worldwide DBT groups with therapist Alicia Paz at www.DBTPath.com. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Derrick Silove

Professor Silove is the author of Overcoming Panic and the Overcoming Panic and Agoraphobia Self-help Course, along with Vijaya Manicavasagar. He is a clinical psychiatrist and Director of the Centre for Population Mental Health Research and the Psychiatry Research and Teaching Unit at the School of Psychiatry, the University of New South Wales. He has worked for many years in the area of anxiety and traumatic stress, his main area of clinical work, research, service development and teaching.

Edmund J. Bourne

Edmund J. Bourne, PhD, has specialized in the treatment of anxiety, phobias, and other stress-related disorders for over two decades. His self-help books have helped over a million people and have been translated into numerous languages. He currently resides in California.

Helen Kennerley

Dr Helen Kennerley works as a consultant at the highly regarded Oxford Cognitive Therapy Centre. In 2002 she was shortlisted by the British Association for Behavioural and Cognitive Psychotherapies for the award of most influential female cognitive therapist in Britain. She is the author of Overcoming Childhood Trauma and How to Beat Your Fears and Worries.

J.K. Rowling

J.K. Rowling is the author of the bestselling Harry Potter series of seven books, published between 1997 and 2007, which have sold over 450 million copies worldwide, are distributed in more than 200 territories, translated into 73 languages, and have been turned into eight blockbuster films. She has also written two small volumes, which appear as the titles of Harry's schoolbooks within the novels. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and Quidditch Through the Ages were published by Bloomsbury Children's Books in March 2001 in aid of Comic Relief. In December 2008, The Tales of Beedle the Bard was published in aid of the Children's High Level Group, and quickly became the fastest selling book of the year.

Jean Klein

Jean Klein, master of Advaita Vedanta in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Atmananda Krishna Menon and author of many books on non-dualism, spent several years in India going deeply into the subjects of Advaita and Yoga. In 1955 the truth of non-dualism became a living reality. From 1960 he taught in Europe and later in the United States.

Joel Osteen

JOEL OSTEEN is the author of seven New York Times bestsellers. He is the senior pastor of America's largest congregation, Lakewood Church in Houston, Texas. More than 45,000 people attend services there every week. His televised messages are seen by more than 10 million viewers each week in the United States, and millions more in 100 nations around the world. His 24-hour channel on SiriusXM Satellite Radio and millions of social media followers have prompted numerous publications to name him as one of the most influential Christian leaders in the world. He resides in Houston with his wife, Victoria, and their children. You can visit his website at www.joelosteen.com.

John C. Maxwell

JOHN C. MAXWELL, the #1 New York Times bestselling author, coach, and speaker who has sold more than 26 million books, was identified as the #1 leader in business by the American Management Association® and the world's most influential leadership expert by Business Insider and Inc. magazine in 2014. His organizations--The John Maxwell Company, The John Maxwell Team, EQUIP, and the John Maxwell Leadership Foundation--have trained more than 5 million leaders worldwide. Maxwell speaks to Fortune 500 companies, presidents of nations, and many top world business leader

John D. Preston

John Preston, PsyD, is a board certified psychologist and the author of ten books including Survivors, You Can Beat Depression, Integrative Brief Therapy, and Life is Hard (audio). He is on the faculty of Alliant University and the University of California, Davis, Medical School. He is the recipient of the Mental Health Association's President's Award for contributions to the mental health community. Dr. Preston has lectured widely in North America and abroad.

Lisa Dickenson

Lisa Dickenson is the pseudonym for Beyoncé. OK, FINE, THAT'S NOT TRUE. Lisa lives by the Devon seaside, stuffing cream teas in the gobs of anyone who comes to visit, and writing stuff down that she hopes is funny. Her first novel was the copyright-infringing Sweet Valley Twins: The Twins Holiday Horror, which she wrote in primary school and gave up on after five pages. Twenty-ish years later Lisa went on to be a *real author* and wrote the Novelicious Debut of the Year, The Twelve Dates of Christmas. In summer 2016 out popped You Had Me at Merlot. She's now keeping her fingers crossed that everyone will like her third paperback, Mistletoe on 34th Street, and that New York City gives her a free apartment near Central Park as a 'well done'. Follow Lisa online for all her book news and Beyoncé-obsessing:www.lisadickenson.comTwitter @LisaWritesStuffFacebook /LisaWritesStuffInstagram lisawritesstuff

Matthew McKay

Matthew McKay, PhD, is a professor at the Wright Institute in Berkeley, CA. He has authored and coauthored numerous books, including The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook, Self-Esteem, Thoughts and Feelings, When Anger Hurts, and ACT on Life Not on Anger. He has also penned two fiction novels, Us and The Wawona Hotel. McKay received his PhD in clinical psychology from the California School of Professional Psychology, and specializes in the cognitive behavioral treatment of anxiety and depression. He lives and works in the Bay Area.

Melanie Fennell

Melanie Fennell is one of the pioneers of cognitive therapy for depression in the UK and developed the Oxford Diploma in Cognitive Therapy and Oxford/MSc in Advanced Cognitive Therapy. She is a research clinician in the Oxford Mindfulness Centre and teaches on the Masters Degree in MBCT in Oxford University.