Related to: 'Called to Account'

Virago

Radical Hope

Carolina De Robertis
Authors:
Carolina De Robertis

An antidote to despair about our turbulent times from writers including Junot Díaz, Karen Joy Fowler, Claire Messud, Celeste Ng, Hari Kunzru and Jane Smiley.In the tradition of Ta-Nehisi Coates' BETWEEN THE WORLD AND ME and James Baldwin, RADICAL HOPE is a collection of love letters - to ancestors, to children five generations from now, to strangers in supermarket queues, to any and all who feel weary and discouraged - written by award-winning novelists, poets, political thinkers, and activists. Provocative and inspiring, RADICAL HOPE offers readers a kaleidoscopic view of the love and courage needed to navigate this time of upheaval, uncertainty, and fear, in view of the recent US presidential election and the rise of nationalism across Europe.The full list of contributors is: Achy Obejas, Alicia Garza, Aya de León, Boris Fishman, Carolina De Robertis, Celeste Ng, Cherríe Moraga, Chip Livingston, Claire Messud, Cristina García, Elmaz Abinader, Faith Adiele, Francisco Goldman, Hari Kunzru, iO Tillet Wright, Jane Smiley, Jeff Chang, Jewelle Gomez, Junot Díaz, Karen Joy Fowler, Kate Schatz, Katie Kitamura, Lisa See, Luis Alberto Urrea, Meredith Russo, Mohja Kahf, Mona Eltahawy, Parnaz Foroutan, Peter Orner, Reyna Grande, Roxana Robinson and Viet Thanh Nguyen.

Center Street

Government Zero

Michael Savage
Authors:
Michael Savage
Little, Brown US

American Coup

William M. Arkin
Authors:
William M. Arkin

When we think of a military coup, the first image that comes to mind is a general, standing at a podium with a flag behind him, declaring the deposing of elected leaders and the institution of martial law.Think again.In AMERICAN COUP, William Arkin reveals the desk-bound takeover of the highest reaches of government by a coterie of 'grey men' of the national security establishment. Operating between the lines of the Constitution this powerful and unelected group fights to save the nation from 'terror' and weapons of mass destruction while at the same time modifying and undermining the very essence of the country. Many books are written about secrecy, surveillance and government law-breaking; none so powerfully expose the truth of everyday life in this state of war.

Hachette Audio US

Shadowbosses

Mallory Factor
Authors:
Mallory Factor
Constable

Bog-Standard Britain

Quentin Letts
Authors:
Quentin Letts
Constable

Fleeced!

David Craig, Matthew Elliot
Authors:
David Craig, Matthew Elliot

Over the past decade some £3 trillion - equivalent to £50,000 for every person in Britain - has been taken from us by the ruling elites. Half was wasted in a splurge of poorly-managed public spending in the 'boom', while the other half evaporated in the 'bust' - siphoned off by city bonuses, vaporised by a collapse in pension savings and extorted to bail out the banking sector. In their explosive new book, David Craig and Matthew Elliott trace where the money has gone and who has become richer as a result. They name and shame the 'guilty': the incompetent bureaucrats that fail to deliver the services the taxpayer deserves; the multitude of ineffective regulators and watchdogs; the politicians that have betrayed our democracy and enriched themselves; and the self-serving and arrogant city bankers. Moreover, they calculate the enormous debt that awaits the British taxpayer as a result of our rulers' avarice and economic mismanagement. Fleeced! charts the greatest impoverishment and tax swindle of the public in British history.

Constable

The Future of Socialism

Anthony Crosland
Authors:
Anthony Crosland

The 50th anniversary edition of the book that changed English Politics. With an Introduction by Gordon Brown.It is impossible to think of the intellectual landscape of Britain today without recognising the power of Crosland's The Future of Socialism in all aspects of the political debate. Still relevant 50 years after it was first published, Crosland's masterwork was a radical reworking of the role of the post-war Labour Party.This book sets out the philosophy for the New Labour project and also contains the key for reviving the fortunes of the Party of the future.Also included is a piece by Dick Leonard, Crosland's Personal Private Secretary and who knew the radical philosopher well, and an afterword from Susan Crosland.

Annie Leonard

Annie Leonard is an expert in international sustainability and environmental-health issues. Her scholarship about and activism against waste-trafficking has gained her a sterling reputation in her field, but with her film The Story of Stuff she has also reached millions of average people, from schoolchildren to politicians.

Barbara Victor

Barbara Victor is an American investigative journalist and author with more than 20 years experience of reporting in the Middle East. She was one of the first to report on the massacres in Lebanon at the Sabra and Shatila camps in 1982. She is the author of four novels and six works of non-fiction including: A Voice of Reason, a biography of Hanan Ashrawi (nominated for a Pulitzer Prize), The Lady, a biography of Aung San Suu Kyi, and most recently Army of Roses, a study of Palestinian women suicide bombers (published by Constable & Robinson). She divides her time between Paris and New York.

Ben Smee

Ben Smee is the Deputy Editor of the NT NEWS. He won a Walkley Award in 2014 for his coverage of Northern Territory politics during stints as the paper's Chief Political Reporter and Head of News. Ben is also the 2015 NT Journalist of the Year. He previously worked for the NEWCASTLE HERALD where he won awards for his investigations and news coverage, including being selected as a finalist for Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year in 2009. CROCS IN THE CABINET is Ben's first book. He lives in Darwin.

Carolina De Robertis

Carolina De Robertis, a writer of Uruguayan origins, is the author of the novels The Gods ofTango, Perla, and the international bestseller The Invisible Mountain, all published by Knopf.Her books have been translated into seventeen languages, and have been named Best Books of the Year in venues including the San Francisco Chronicle, O, The Oprah Magazine, BookList, and NBC. She is the recipient of a Stonewall Book Award, Italy's Rhegium Julii Prize, and a 2012 Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, among other honors. She is also an award-winning translator of Latin American literature, and has contributed to anthologies including Immigrant Voices: 21st Century Stories and Count on Me: Tales of Sisterhoods and Fierce Friendships. She currently teaches fiction and literary translation at San Francisco State University. She lives in Oakland, California with her wife and two children.

Chistopher A Walsh

Christopher A Walsh is an award-winning political journalist with the NT NEWS. A native of Canada, his work has appeared in a variety of publications there, covering everything from the east coast carnival to politics across the country. His first book, UNDER THE ELECTRIC SKY, was an Atlantic Book Award finalist for Best Literary Non-fiction. From the carnival of Canada to the circus of NT politics, he is currently based in Darwin.

David Craig

David Craig has been a consultant for twenty years, working for and competing against some of the world's best and worst management consultants. His books Plundering the Public Sector and Rip-off!: The scandalous inside story of the management consulting money machine have both been bestsellers.He also writes novels, notably the Brade and Jenkins series, as well the Harpur and Iles series under the name of Bill James for Macmillan.

Jonathan Davies

Jonathan Davies is the author of three previous novels (all published by Hodder). He is a criminal barrister and Crown Court Recorder with chambers in the Middle Temple. He lives in South London.

Margaret Hodge

Dame Margaret Hodge DBE PC MP is a British Labour politician, who has served as Member of Parliament for Barking since 1994. She was a minister in both the Blair and Brown governments, serving as first Minister for Children and Minister for Culture and the Creative Industries.

Matthew Elliot

Matthew Elliott is co-founder and Chief Executive of the Taxpayers Alliance, the UK's most high profile campaign group. He has written the Bumper Book of Government Waste and with David Craig has co-authored The Great European Rip-Off.

Philip Johnston

Philip Johnston has been with the Daily Telegraph for 20 years. He was the paper's home affairs editor and chief political correspondent, before becoming part of the senior editorial executive team in 2007 as assistant editor, and is now a leader writer. He lives in London.

Quentin Letts

Quentin Letts is parliamentary sketch writer and theatre critic for the Daily Mail. A regular broadcaster on radio and television, he was formerly New York correspondent for The Times and gossip columnist for the Daily Telegraph. He recently presented Radio 4's series 'What's The Point Of?' He lists his recreations, in Who's Who as 'gossip' and 'character defenestration'.

Stephen Armstrong

A journalist and broadcaster, Stephen Armstrong writes for the Sunday Times, the Guardian, GQ, Esquire and the New Statesman amongst others. He contributes documentaries and columns to Radio 4 and is currently working with al-jazeera on a film based around his recent book War Plc - the rise of the new corporate mercenary, which sold out its first print run in 10 days. His first book, The White Island, was published in 2005.

Tristram Riley-Smith

Tristram Riley-Smith worked as a journalist before taking a PhD in social anthropology at Cambridge University. He spent three years working in the British Embassy in Washington DC. He has since lectured on the anthropology of art at the Smithsonian Institution and contributed to A Dictionary of Classical Reference in English Poetry, Travellers' Dictionary of Quotations and Macmillan's Encyclopaedia of Art. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts. He is married with three sons.