Related to: 'Dear Departed'

The original Pop Idol

Will Young Memoir Set for October 2012

Little, Brown Book Group is delighted to announce the acquisition of Will Young's autobiography, set for publication by Sphere Books this autumn.

Sphere

Dead End

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Blood Lines

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Death Watch

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

The Land of My Dreams

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

It is 1916 and the Hunters, their friends and their servants are settling down to the business of war. As conscription reaches into every household, Britain turns out men and shells in industrial numbers from army camps and munitions factories up and down the land. Bobby, the second Hunter son, gains his wings and joins his brother in France. Ethel, the under housemaid, embarks on a quest and Laura Hunter sets out on her biggest adventure yet. Diana, the elder Hunter daughter, finds a second chance at happiness in the last place she'd think of looking, and matriarch Beattie's past comes back to haunt her. But as the battle of the Somme grinds into action, the shadow of death falls over every part of the country, and the Hunter household cannot remain untouched.The Land of my Dreams is the third book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1916, at home and on the front, this is a richly researched and a wonderfully authentic family drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.

Sphere

Keep the Home Fires Burning

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Goodbye Piccadilly

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1914, Britain faces a new kind of war. For Edward and Beatrice Hunter, their children, servants and neighbours, life will never be the same again. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Barbara Taylor-Bradford.For David, the eldest, war means a chance to do something noble; but enlisting will break his mother's heart. His sister Diana, nineteen and beautiful, longs for marriage. She has her heart set on Charles Wroughton, son of Earl Wroughton, but Charles will never be allowed to marry a banker's daughter. Below stairs, Cook and Ada, the head housemaid, grow more terrified of German invasion with every newspaper atrocity story. Ethel, under housemaid, can't help herself when it comes to men and now soldiers add to the temptation; yet there's more to this flighty girl than meets the eye.The once-tranquil village of Northcote reels under an influx of khaki volunteers, wounded soldiers and Belgian refugees. The war is becoming more dangerous and everyone must find a way to adapt to this rapidly changing world.Goodbye Piccadilly is the first book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1914, Goodbye Piccadilly is extraordinary in scope and imagination and is a compelling introduction to the Hunter family.

Sphere

Orchestrated Death

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

An outstanding series' NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEWA Bill Slider Mystery The naked body of a beautiful violinist is found in a derelict flat in White City, and the middle-class, middle-aged and - according to his partner, Atherton - menopausal Slider wrestles with an investigation which takes him to far-flung Birmingham.Praise for the Bill Slider series:'Along with teasing whodunnit puzzles, ORCHESTRATED DEATH offers a touching, modern love story... Series hero Slider and his creator are real discoveries for detection fans demanding quality and heart as well as ingenious plots.' Shaun Usher, Daily Mail 'The British author handles district police procedures with the same easy authority she brings to the busy backstage life of a large symphony orchestra. Her ear is especially attuned, though, to character nuance...' Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review 'Intertwined with the investigation is an unusually well done love story which complements rather than distracts. The characters are diverse and believable... the story is well-paced and the last fifty pages virtually force you to read them.' Roberta Penn, Prime Suspect'Masterful debut... Although Harrod-Eagles unabashedly hints at a clue that might settle everything, no one bit of information answers every question. A sophisticated ending whets readers' interest in the further adventures of these strong players.' Publishers Weekly 'A plethora of suspects, a reserved, mild-mannered hero, and the understatement so typical of the traditional British procedural.' Kirkus Reviews

Sphere

Necrochip

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

An outstanding series' NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEWA Bill Slider Mystery Detective Superintendent Dickson is to be replaced by DS Baverstock, who has no desire to be loved by his subordinates. It is all par for the course for Detective Inspector Bill Slider as he faces a case that takes him through Hammersmith and Notting Hill.This investigation begins as a supposed crime passionelle, but each new kernel of evidence reveals an increasingly complex web of criminal intrigue. Slider is called on when a teenager finds a human finger among the fried potatoes at a London fish-and-chip shop. Body parts continue to surface as events expand to include a sinister tycoon, a prostitutes, rooming house, three mysterious men and five murders...Praise for the Bill Slider series:"Harrod-Eagles and her detective hero form a class act. The style is fast, funny and furious, the plotting crisply devious, and the denouement perversely wayward. And even then, the final line in the novel contains an extra little gasp-inducing twist. Lovely stuff." Irish Times"A witty, intricate puzzle." Publishers Weekly"Being able to write with pacy humour is rare. Constructing good thrillers with realistic characters is also rare. Being able to combine the two, and to do it successfully, is nearly unique." David Tumelty

Sphere

Killing Time

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The White Road

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

August 1914: the whole country is thrilled by the declaration of war. The British Experditionary Force goes off toe France to defend gallant little Belgium, and thousands more young men rush to volunteer, hoping to see action before the war ends at Christmas. At home everyone competes to be doing the most for the war effort. The Morlands have their share of volunteers, and no-one can say they aren't at the very heart of things. But when Christmas comes the war is far from over, and nine in ten of the men who marched, singing, down the white road to Mons have fallen ...

Sphere

The Restless Sea

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Question

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In the last years of the nineteenth century the Morlands' fortunes are changing for the better, as Henrietta and Jerome find a true home at Morland Place, and Teddy ploughs his profits into restoring it to its former glory. But the reverses and cruelties of the Boer War and the death of Queen Victoria shake the foundations of a confident nation. The accession of King Edward seems to mark the end of the old, familiar England. Old certainties are being questioned, everything is changing, and the young generation of Morlands faces a new world, full of wonders but full of dangers.

Sphere

The Winter Journey

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Hidden Shore

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Chevalier

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

1689: the Resoration enabled the Morland family to restore their own fortune, but now the Jacobite rebellion brings another threat to their security.Annuciata Morland, fiercely loyal to the Stuart cause, follows her beloved king, James II, into exile. She leaves her gentle grandson, Matt, to oversee Morland Place in her absence. Without her wise presence, Matt finds himself in an arranged marriage to India Neville and at the mercy of a woman as heartless as she is beautiful. After a lonely and sheltered life he lurches between the exquisite pain of love and the torment of deep despair.When James III - the Chevalier - returns to claim the Stuart throne, the Morlands are reunited in one country. Death and defeat threaten them, but their loves and loyalty prove stronger than kingly ambitions.

Sphere

The Long Shadow

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

1670: King Charles II's reign has brought peace and prosperity to the Morland family, but James II's ascent to the throne will shatter their restored fortunes.In Yorkshire, Morland Place has flourished during the Restoration, and in London the beautiful and sprited Annunciata, is now Countess of Chelmsford, a wealthy and well-connected woman, intimate with the Royal Family.But storm clouds gather over them all when the reign of James II brings rebellion and discord. Trouble is never far from Annunciata in these turbulent times. Jealousy, betrayal and violent death threaten her children, and for Annunciata herself comes the anguish of love lived in the long shadow of secrecy, a love that can only lead to tragedy.

Sphere

The Princeling

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Maiden

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

1720: political intrigue besets the kingdom as the Stuarts try to claim the throne occupied by the Hanoverians and the Morlands have to use all their wiles to keep their fortunes intact.Jeremy Morland, sole heir to his father's will, has no option but to marry to cold-hearted Lady Mary to secure Hanoverian protection and safeguard his inheritance. Then the rebellion of '45 and the bloody massacre at Culloden thrust his daughter Jemima into the spotlight as the saviour of the family.Independent, single-minded, and a rare beauty, Jemima is a capable caretaker of the Morland heritage. Although Morland Place and its lands suffer from the excesses of her dissolute husband, Jemima's quiet courage earns her an abiding love and loyalty.

Sphere

The Black Pearl

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

1659: Cromwell's protectorate is drawing to a close, and the restoration of the monarchy can only improve the fortunes of the Morland family. The years of civil war and their aftermath have left Morland Place in dire straits, but with the return of the King, Ralph Morland believes he can rebuild the family estates. For his beautiful and ambitious cousin, Annunciata, the Restoration means a journey to London - one that leads to the amours and intriges of Charles's court and to the unlocking of her mysterious past.A new and kinder age is dawning - a time for healing wounds - but more uncertainty, conflict and sorrow await both Ralph and Annunciata before they can find peace and forgiveness.

Sphere

The Oak Apple

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles