Related to: 'Blood Sinister'

The original Pop Idol

Will Young Memoir Set for October 2012

Little, Brown Book Group is delighted to announce the acquisition of Will Young's autobiography, set for publication by Sphere Books this autumn.

Sphere

Dead End

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Sphere

Death Watch

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Land of My Dreams

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Keep the Home Fires Burning

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Goodbye Piccadilly

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1914, Britain faces a new kind of war. For Edward and Beatrice Hunter, their children, servants and neighbours, life will never be the same again. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Barbara Taylor-Bradford.For David, the eldest, war means a chance to do something noble; but enlisting will break his mother's heart. His sister Diana, nineteen and beautiful, longs for marriage. She has her heart set on Charles Wroughton, son of Earl Wroughton, but Charles will never be allowed to marry a banker's daughter. Below stairs, Cook and Ada, the head housemaid, grow more terrified of German invasion with every newspaper atrocity story. Ethel, under housemaid, can't help herself when it comes to men and now soldiers add to the temptation; yet there's more to this flighty girl than meets the eye.The once-tranquil village of Northcote reels under an influx of khaki volunteers, wounded soldiers and Belgian refugees. The war is becoming more dangerous and everyone must find a way to adapt to this rapidly changing world.Goodbye Piccadilly is the first book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1914, Goodbye Piccadilly is extraordinary in scope and imagination and is a compelling introduction to the Hunter family.

Sphere

Orchestrated Death

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

An outstanding series' NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEWA Bill Slider Mystery The naked body of a beautiful violinist is found in a derelict flat in White City, and the middle-class, middle-aged and - according to his partner, Atherton - menopausal Slider wrestles with an investigation which takes him to far-flung Birmingham.Praise for the Bill Slider series:'Along with teasing whodunnit puzzles, ORCHESTRATED DEATH offers a touching, modern love story... Series hero Slider and his creator are real discoveries for detection fans demanding quality and heart as well as ingenious plots.' Shaun Usher, Daily Mail 'The British author handles district police procedures with the same easy authority she brings to the busy backstage life of a large symphony orchestra. Her ear is especially attuned, though, to character nuance...' Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review 'Intertwined with the investigation is an unusually well done love story which complements rather than distracts. The characters are diverse and believable... the story is well-paced and the last fifty pages virtually force you to read them.' Roberta Penn, Prime Suspect'Masterful debut... Although Harrod-Eagles unabashedly hints at a clue that might settle everything, no one bit of information answers every question. A sophisticated ending whets readers' interest in the further adventures of these strong players.' Publishers Weekly 'A plethora of suspects, a reserved, mild-mannered hero, and the understatement so typical of the traditional British procedural.' Kirkus Reviews

Sphere

Necrochip

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

An outstanding series' NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEWA Bill Slider Mystery Detective Superintendent Dickson is to be replaced by DS Baverstock, who has no desire to be loved by his subordinates. It is all par for the course for Detective Inspector Bill Slider as he faces a case that takes him through Hammersmith and Notting Hill.This investigation begins as a supposed crime passionelle, but each new kernel of evidence reveals an increasingly complex web of criminal intrigue. Slider is called on when a teenager finds a human finger among the fried potatoes at a London fish-and-chip shop. Body parts continue to surface as events expand to include a sinister tycoon, a prostitutes, rooming house, three mysterious men and five murders...Praise for the Bill Slider series:"Harrod-Eagles and her detective hero form a class act. The style is fast, funny and furious, the plotting crisply devious, and the denouement perversely wayward. And even then, the final line in the novel contains an extra little gasp-inducing twist. Lovely stuff." Irish Times"A witty, intricate puzzle." Publishers Weekly"Being able to write with pacy humour is rare. Constructing good thrillers with realistic characters is also rare. Being able to combine the two, and to do it successfully, is nearly unique." David Tumelty

Sphere

Blood Lines

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

Killing Time

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The White Road

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Restless Sea

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

England in 1912 still bears itself with Edwardian confidence, but strikes, protests and public violence reveal the fault lines as society evolves under the spur of new ideas and technology. Among the many branches of the Morland family, Jessie and Violet, childhood friends, learn to cope with the surprises of marriage and motherhood and their different strata of society. Jack, disappointed in love, loses himself in designing aircraft and training airmen for the newly formed flying corps. And Anne exhausted by the Suffragette struggle, seeks comfort in her friendship with an unconventional young woman. The Titanic tragedy shakes the confidence of a people used to conquering nature with engineering; and all the while, the troubled nations of Europe edge closer to a war no-one wants, but which seems inevitable.

Sphere

The Question

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In the last years of the nineteenth century the Morlands' fortunes are changing for the better, as Henrietta and Jerome find a true home at Morland Place, and Teddy ploughs his profits into restoring it to its former glory. But the reverses and cruelties of the Boer War and the death of Queen Victoria shake the foundations of a confident nation. The accession of King Edward seems to mark the end of the old, familiar England. Old certainties are being questioned, everything is changing, and the young generation of Morlands faces a new world, full of wonders but full of dangers.

Sphere

The Winter Journey

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

In 1851 the fortunes of the Morland family are more buoyant than they have been for years. Morland Place is recovering under Benjamin's steady hands - happy at last with Sibella. Charlotte, now Duchess of Southport, is shortly to give birth to hersecond child and on the point of opening her modern hospital for the poor. Cavendish's engagement to the ethereally beautiful but slightly silly Miss Phipps causes a stir in the drawing rooms of Mayfair and his wedding causes his family some misgivings. Then the storms in Europe spill in to Britain when the army is forced to defend Turkey against the Tsar. Within weeks Cavendish is in the Crimea and disappears in the Charge of the Light Brigade. Another moving and beautifully portrayed episode in the riveting Morland saga.

Sphere

The Hidden Shore

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

1843: the early years of Queen Victoria's reign witness much high-level debate at the Palace of Westminster, but nothing can interfere with Society's enjoyment of the Season.When Charlotte Meldon's father dies, she believes herself to be destitute, but a lawyer's letter reveals that she is not only part of the great Morland family, but wealthy and a countess in her own right. She is expected to make a great marriage, and with her vivacious cousin Fanny by her side, she is launched into her first Season. But it is Fanny, the hardened flint, who loses her heart first, while Charlotte catches the eye of Oliver Fleetwood, the most eligible man in London.Then the Season ends in disillusion, and Charlotte rebels against a life of idle amusement. With calm courage she flouts convention and embarks on a new journey which will change her life in very unexpected ways.

Sphere

The Chevalier

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Long Shadow

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Princeling

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Maiden

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

1720: political intrigue besets the kingdom as the Stuarts try to claim the throne occupied by the Hanoverians and the Morlands have to use all their wiles to keep their fortunes intact.Jeremy Morland, sole heir to his father's will, has no option but to marry to cold-hearted Lady Mary to secure Hanoverian protection and safeguard his inheritance. Then the rebellion of '45 and the bloody massacre at Culloden thrust his daughter Jemima into the spotlight as the saviour of the family.Independent, single-minded, and a rare beauty, Jemima is a capable caretaker of the Morland heritage. Although Morland Place and its lands suffer from the excesses of her dissolute husband, Jemima's quiet courage earns her an abiding love and loyalty.

Sphere

The Black Pearl

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Sphere

The Oak Apple

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Authors:
Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

1630: after long years of peace the reign of Charles I brings brutal civil war to England.The clash between King and Parliament is echoed at Morland Place when Richard brings home a Puritan bride while his brother, Kit, joins Prince Rupert and the Royalist cavalry, leaving their father Edmund desperately trying to steer a middle course between the fighting factions.As the war grinds on, bitterness and disillusion replace the early fervour, and the schisms between husband and wife, father and son, grow deeper. Edmund struggles grimly through it all in an attempt to keep the Morland fortune intact, but he is thwarted by the estrangement between his sons and then alienated from his beloved wife, Mary.