Related to: 'Greyfriars House'

Sphere

The Shipbuilder's Daughter

Emma Fraser
Authors:
Emma Fraser
Sphere

We Shall Remember

Emma Fraser
Authors:
Emma Fraser
Sphere

When the Dawn Breaks

Emma Fraser
Authors:
Emma Fraser

TWO WOMEN. ONE SECRET. A HEART-BREAKING CHOICE. For fans of Ellie Dean, Milly Adams, Sheila Newberry and Rita Bradshaw, When the Dawn Breaks is a sweeping wartime saga that will take your breath away.Skye, 1903. Jessie, the young daughter of a local midwife, is determined to become a nurse one day, but family loss and heartache jeopardise her dreams. Isabel, the doctor's daughter, is planning to follow in her father's footsteps - even though medicine is not considered a fitting career for a woman. And then there's Archie, Jessie's older brother, whom Isabel just can't stay away from.After an unsettling encounter in the woods, Archie disappears, and all their lives are irrevocably changed . . .Years later, Isabel is a qualified doctor and Jessie is a nurse and when their paths cross again, neither is certain what the other woman knows about that fateful day. But when war breaks out and they find themselves working shoulder to shoulder, they have no option but to confront all they have kept hidden.Taking in Skye and Edinburgh, France and Serbia, When the Dawn Breaks is a sweeping wartime story of two determined women and the dark secret that will bind them forever . . .Shortlisted for the Epic Novel award in the Romantic Novelists Association Awards 2014.

Barbara Ewing

Barbara Ewing is a New Zealand-born actress and author who lives in London. She has a university degree in English and Maori and won the Bancroft Gold Medal at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art. Please visit the author's website www.barbaraewing.com

Barbara Kyle

BARBARA KYLE enjoyed a successful acting career in Canadian theatre and television before turning her hand to writing fiction. She and her husband live in Ontario, where she teaches popular writing seminars and workshops. She welcomes visitors at her website www.barbarakyle.com.

Charlotte Betts

Charlotte Betts began her working life as a fashion designer in London. A career followed in interior design, property management and lettings.Always a bookworm, Charlotte discovered her passion for writing after her three children and two step-children had grown up. The Apothecary's Daughter is her debut novel and won the YouWriteOn Book of the Year in 2010, the Romantic Novelists' Association Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers in 2011 and the RoNA's Historical Category award for 2013. The sequel, The Painter's Apprentice was published in 2012 and shortlisted for the Festival of Romance's Best Historical Read Award in 2012. The Spice Merchant's Wife was published in 2013 and won the Festival of Romance's Best Historical Read Award in 2013.

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is the author of the hugely popular Morland Dynasty novels, which have captivated and enthralled readers for decades. She is also the author of the contemporary Bill Slider Mystery series, as well as her new series, War at Home, which is an epic family drama set against the backdrop of World War I. Cynthia's passions are music, wine, horses, architecture and the English countryside.

Danielle Steel

Danielle Steel is one of the world's most popular and highly acclaimed authors, with over ninety international bestselling novels in print and more than 600 million copies of her novels sold. She is also the author of His Bright Light, the story of her son Nick Traina's life and death; A Gift of Hope, a memoir of her work with the homeless; and Pure Joy, about the dogs she and her family have loved.To discover more about Danielle Steel and her books visit her website at www.daniellesteel.comYou can also connect with Danielle on Facebook at www.facebook.com/DanielleSteelOfficial or on Twitter: @daniellesteel

E. V. Thompson

E V Thompson was born in London and spent nine years in the Navy before joining Bristol police. He moved to Hong Kong, then Rhodesia and had over 200 stories published before returning to England to become a full-time award-winning writer. He passed away in 2012.

Elizabeth Chadwick

Much of Elizabeth Chadwick's research is carried out as a member of Regia Anglorum, an early mediaeval re-enactment society with emphasis on accurately re-creating the past. She also tutors in the skill of writing historial and romantic fiction. She won a Betty Trask Award for The Wild Hunt and has been shortlisted for the RNA Awards four times.

Elizabeth Hoyt

Elizabeth Hoyt lives in central Illinois with her husband, two children and three dogs. Visit her at www.elizabethhoyt.com

Gabrielle Kimm

Gabrielle Kimm is the author of His Last Duchess and The Courtesan's Lover, also published by Sphere. She lives in rural West Sussex, and teaches English part-time at a small performing arts school.

Gaelen Foley

Gaelen Foley's first novel was published in 1998 and she went on to win the Romantic Times Reviewers Choice Award for Best First Historical Romance. Many awards later this NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author is now published in ten languages. Visit her at www.gaelenfoley.com

Garry Douglas Kilworth

Garry Kilworth was raised in South Yemen, the son of an RAF sergeant, and later served in the RAF himself. He was most recently with the British Army in Hong Kong, where he wrote for the South China Morning Post. He has won numerous awards for both his children's and adult fiction.Garry Douglas Kilworth was raised in South Yemen, the son of an RAF sergeant. He served fifteen years in the RAF himself, and was with the British Army in Hong Kong, where he wrote for the South China Morning Post. He now spends his time between Suffolk and Spain, writing full time, and has won many awards.

Grace Burrowes

Grace Burrowes grew up in central Pennsylvania and is the sixth out of seven children. She discovered romance novels when in junior high (back when there was such a thing), and has been reading them voraciously ever since. Grace has a bachelor's degree in political science, a bachelor of music in music history, (both from Pennsylvania State University); a master's degree in conflict transformation from Eastern Mennonite University; and a juris doctor from the National Law Center at the George Washington University.Grace writes Georgian, Regency, Scottish Victorian, and contemporary romances in both novella and novel lengths. She's a member of Romance Writers of America, and enjoys giving workshops and speaking at writers' conferences. She also loves to hear from her readers, and can be reached through her website, graceburrowes.com.

HRH Princess Michael of Kent

Her Royal Highness Princess Michael of Kent is the author of three previous books: The Serpent and the Moon: Two Rivals for the Love of a Renaissance King, Crowned in a Far Country: Portraits of Eight Royal Brides and Cupid and the King: Five Royal Paramours.For more than twenty five years, the Princess has pursued a successful career lecturing on historical topics. She lives with her husband, Prince Michael of Kent, in Kensington Palace in London.

Jeffrey Siger

Jeffrey Siger, born and raised in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, practiced law at a major Wall Street law firm and, while there, served as Special Counsel to the citizens group responsible for reporting on New York City's prison conditions. He left Wall Street to establish his own New York City law firm and continued as one of its name partners. Now he lives and writes full-time in Mykonos, his adopted home of 25 years. Visit him at www.jeffreysiger.com

Jenny Diski

Jenny Diski is the author of eight novels and two memoirs: Skating to Antarctica and Stranger on a Train. She lives in Cambridge.

Jenny Maxwell

Jenny Maxwell was born in Scotland, educated in England and until recently was resident in Germany. She now lives on a narrow boat which is currently moored near Stourbridge.

John Jakes

Born in Chicago in 1932, John Jakes began writing professionally when he was at university, having sold his first story for $25. He did freelance advertising copy while writing short stories and in 1973 started his 8-volume saga, The Kent Family Chronicles. All eight volumes were bestsellers.