Related to: 'The Darkest Day'

Sphere

The Final Hour

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

AUTHOR OF THE BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB BESTSELLER BETTER OFF DEAD'Terrifically fun and explosively propulsive'Gregg Hurwitz, author of Orphan XFrom bestselling author Tom Wood comes a unique and gasp-inducing Victor thriller that turns all your expectations on their head . . . Agent Antonio Alvarez has been tracking a dangerous murderer for years, a nameless hitman responsible for numerous homicides. The Agency deflected him away from his search, but he didn't give up, piecing together clues and hearsay. Now a promotion has allowed him to pursue this man with a hand-picked team and bring him to justice. Only problem is, the murderer has vanished. Thousands of miles away, the assassin known as Victor has stopped working - recently he began to care; he made mistakes. Now he has a choice: whether to give up the life or return to being a cold-hearted weapon. But there's another killer who needs his help - and she might be harder to refuse . . . All while the good guys are closing in on him.Enter a world of betrayal, tension and twists perfect for fans of Gregg Hurwitz (Orphan X, The Nowhere Man), James Swallow (Nomad, Exile) and Terry Hayes (I Am Pilgrim, Day of the Locust).

Sphere

A Time to Die

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

AUTHOR OF THE BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB BESTSELLER BETTER OFF DEADFrom hot thriller author Tom Wood comes the latest breathtaking Victor novel - The Day of the Jackal meets Jason Bourne, with a thoroughly modern twist.'Terrifically fun and explosively propulsive'Gregg Hurwitz, author of Orphan XEven a killer can be a heroIf the assassin known only as Victor once had a moral compass, it is long since buried, along with his many victims. Yet some men are so evil even Victor accepts they must die for reasons other than just money.One such is Milan Rados, a former commander in the Serbian army who has escaped trial at The Hague to become a formidable criminal power. Tracking down and killing this brutal man will win Victor a reprieve for his own recent crimes on British soil.But Victor isn't the only one who wants Rados dead. A woman, whose family was butchered on the tyrant's orders, will do anything to see Rados' blood spilled on the snow of Eastern Europe. Now Victor has an unlikely ally - but an army stands between them and justice.

Sphere

Better Off Dead

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

Victor, a hitman without a conscience protects a human rights lawyer in Better Off Dead, he bestselling BBC Radio 2 Simon Mayo Book Club pick.A hitman must be anonymous, amoral... and aloneVictor is the face in the crowd you don't see, a perfect assassin with nothing to live for.But when an old friend turns to him for help, he finds he can't refuse. For once his objective isn't to kill, but to protect.Hunted through the streets of London by ruthless enemies, Victor needs to be more than just a bodyguard... but his every move leads danger closer to the very person he's vowed to defend.Published in the US as No Tomorrow.

Sphere

The Game

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood
Sphere

The Enemy

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

An impossible mission, for a man who barely existsThe mysterious assassin known only as Victor is locked in an uneasy alliance with the CIA. And he has a list: three names, three victims. Worst of all, Victor is given just two days to take down his targets, forcing him to compromise his usual extreme care.With each name Victor crosses off his list, the game grows far more complex - and far more lethal. A conspiracy begins to unwind and suddenly this perfect assassin becomes the perfect target.Zooming from Moscow to London and Washington, and loaded with suspense, twists and sex appeal, The Enemy is a high-octane thrill-ride ideal for fans of Lee Child.

Sphere

Bad Luck in Berlin

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

Victor has been out of the game for six months - but he's as deadly as ever. He's in Berlin, preparing for his first assignment as a CIA contractor: taking out the scout of a notorious crime lord. No one is supposed to die - not yet - but as Victor tracks his target, he realises he's not the only one interested in the scout . . . and if Victor is going to do his job, he has to stop someone else doing theirs. Packed with roaring action and breathless suspense, this specially priced, exclusive short story is perfect for fans of Tom Wood - and for readers who have yet to discover him.

Sphere

The Hunter

Tom Wood
Authors:
Tom Wood

His name is a coverHe has no homeAnd he kills for a livingVictor is a hitman, a man with no past and no surname. His world is one of paranoia and obsessive attention to detail; his morality lies either dead or dying. No one knows what truly motivates the hunter. No one gets close enough to ask.When a Paris job goes spectacularly wrong, Victor finds himself running for his life across four continents, pursued by a kill squad and investigated by secret services from more than one country. With meticulous style, Victor plans his escape . . . and takes the fight to his would-be killers.In this first novel in the explosive Victor series, it's not about right and wrong - only about who lives and who dies.

Alex Kava

Alex Kava is the New York Times bestselling author of the critically acclaimed series featuring former Marine Ryder Creed and his K9 dogs, and the international bestselling Maggie O'Dell series. Her novel Stranded was awarded both a Florida Book Award and the Nebraska Book Award. Her standalone novel One False Move was chosen for the 2006 One Book One Nebraska and in 2007 she received the Mari Sandoz Award. Her political thriller Whitewash was also named one of January Magazine's best thrillers of the year.Published in thirty-two countries with over six million copies sold, Kava's novels have made the bestseller lists in the UK, Australia, Germany, Japan, Italy and Poland. She is a member of the Nebraska Writers Guild and International Thriller Writers. Kava and her pack of Westies divide their time between Omaha, Nebraska and Pensacola, Florida.

Alison Bruce

Alison Bruce is the author of eight crime novels and two non-fiction titles. Her first novel, Cambridge Blue (2008), introduced both detective, DC Gary Goodhew, and her trademark Cambridge setting. She went on to complete the DC Goodhew series with a further six novels before writing the psychological thriller I Did It for Us.Alison was born in Croydon and grew up in Wiltshire before moving to Cambridgeshire in 1998. She worked as an electroplater, taxi driver and band promoter and spent ten years working in the IT industry before leaving to concentrate on completing her first novel.Alison is a proud supporter of local libraries and is the patron of Lakenheath Library in Suffolk. She teaches creative writing at Anglia Ruskin University, Cambridge.

Angela Marsons

Angela Marsons was born and raised in the Black Country and still lives there, along with her long-term partner, as well as a bouncy Labrador and a potty-mouthed African Grey parrot. Although she has been writing since her early teens, Silent Scream was her first novel.

Anne Randall

Anne Randall was born in Glasgow and after university taught English in various secondary schools in inner Glasgow. In 2011 she won first prize for crime fiction writing at the Wells Literature Festival. Anne now lives in Glastonbury with her husband, two cats and one dog. Anne's first book in the Wheeler and Ross series, Riven, was written under the name A. J. McCreanor.

B.E. Jones

B.E. Jones is a former journalist and police press officer, now a novelist and book obsessive. She was born in a small village in the South Wales valleys, north of Cardiff and started her journalism career with Trinity Mirror newspapers before becoming a broadcast journalist with BBC Wales Today.She has worked on all aspects of crime reporting (as well as community news and features) producing stories and content for newspapers and live TV. Most recently she worked as a press officer for South Wales Police, dealing with the media and participating in criminal investigations, security operations and emergency planning. Perhaps unsurprisingly she channels these experiences of 'true crime,' and her insight into the murkier side of human nature, into her dark, psychological thrillers set in and around South Wales.

Cath Staincliffe

Cath Staincliffe is an award winning novelist, radio playwright and creator of ITV's hit series Blue Murder. Cath's books have been shortlisted for the CWA Best First Novel award. She was joint winner of the CWA Short Story Dagger in 2012. Letters To My Daughter's Killer was selected for the Specsavers Crime Thriller Book Club on ITV3 in 2014. Cath also writes the Scott & Bailey books based on the popular ITV series. She lives with her family in Manchester.

Catriona McPherson

Catriona McPherson formerly an English lecturer at Leeds University, now divides her time between California and Scotland. She writes full time.

Charlaine Harris

Charlaine Harris is a #1 New York Times bestselling author who has been writing for over thirty years. Born and raised in the Mississippi River Delta area, she is the author of the Aurora Teagarden mysteries, which are the basis for the Hallmark Movies & Mysteries Aurora Teagarden original movies; the Sookie Stackhouse urban fantasy series, which was the basis for the HBO show True Blood; the Shakespeare mysteries; the Harper Connelly mysteries; and the Cemetery Girl mysteries. Harris now lives in Texas with her husband.

Chevy Stevens

Chevy Stevens grew up on a ranch on Vancouver Island and still lives on the island with her husband and daughter. When she's not working on her next book, she's camping and canoeing with her family in the local mountains. Her debut novel, Still Missing, won the International Thriller Writers Award for Best First Novel.

Chris Brookmyre

Chris Brookmyre was a journalist before becoming a full-time novelist with the publication of his award-winning debut Quite Ugly One Morning, which established him as one of Britain's leading crime authors. His Jack Parlabane novels have sold more than one million copies in the UK alone, and Black Widow won both the McIlvanney Prize and the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award.

Christobel Kent

Christobel Kent was born in London and educated at Cambridge. She has lived variously in Essex, London and Italy. Her childhood included several years spent on a Thames sailing barge in Maldon, Essex with her father, stepmother, three siblings and four step-siblings. She now lives in both Cambridge and Florence with her husband and five children.

E. S. Thomson

E. S. Thomson's work has been longlisted for the CWA Endeavour Historical Dagger, and shortlisted for the Saltire Prize, the Scottish Arts Council First Book Award and the William MacIlvanney Crime Book of the Year Award. She has a PhD in the social history of medicine, and tries to fit as much medical history into her books as possible. She works as a university lecturer by day, and writes by night. Elaine lives in Edinburgh with her two sons.

E. V. Harte

E. V. Harte operates under several aliases. As Daisy de Sales she is a professional Tarot Reader, much preoccupied with the occult and all magical arts. As Daisy Waugh she has written several historical novels, a couple of non-fiction books, and a lot of newspaper articles and columns. She lives a quiet life not far from the River Thames in Barnes, South West London, with her children, her tarot booth, her spells and a husband (who is not a policeman).To connect with E. V. Harte online visit her at @dldwaugh, and if you're interested in Tarot reading check out her website daisywaugh.com.